We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place is beautiful but it's too overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
Luzon, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The place is beautiful but it's too overpriced”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Good:
* The place is definitely beautiful. The Santorini inspired architecture gives you the feeling that
you're not in Manila anymore.
* One can borrow a bike (for free) and ride around the place.

Average:
* The rooms are quite comfortable though I felt the pillows weren't fluffy enough (or maybe I just have a heavy head?)
* The pool is beautiful but it would be better if they have a deep end (the whole pool was 4ft deep).
* The staff were generally friendly; it would've been good if they were consistent in this regard.
* Food is average. I don't remember tasting any dish that I really liked.

Bad:
* The water pressure in the rooms were so low that the rain shower head was practically useless. It also took a while for the water to get hot (probably because of the water pressure).
* The beach is about a block away from the hotel so you'd have to walk to the beach. And the beach is pretty average. There's also no lifeguard in the beach.
* The constructions all around the resort was quite an eyesore!

Room Tip: Rooms are grouped by odd and even numbers. Get a room in the even numbered wing, the view there is b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GodHears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    140
    102
    40
    33
See reviews for
188
76
11
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Balanga City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Familiar with box office hit “No Other Woman” the resort depicted in the movie owned by Ann Curtis? That is Thunderbird Resort at Poro Point, San Fernando City, La Union. Going to La Union is a five long-hour drive from Manila or from Bataan (thru SCTEX) where I live but worth the travel. The Santorini inspired architecture of pure white wall with prominent blue dome will greet you as you enter the resort. The staff is great as they will serve you a welcome drink as you checked-in. The room may be a bit costly but you surely love it as it is complimented with small kitchenette with microwave oven, a bathroom with Jacuzzi and most importantly, a free wifi access yehey! The food is absolutely perfect, especially the complimentary breakfast. I managed to return to the buffet table two times! Hahaha. Aside from using their pool and beach, you can also try to bike around you just have to ask the guard at the front desk, its free then you can also use their golf cart to roam around but to certain area only, well the good thing is,.. again free. When you bike, you can get outside the resort premises and you may opt to go to nearby casino so you can see the whole area 360°. Then you can dine-in outside the resort, you may choose to go to ROSEBOWL Steakhouse and Chinese restaurant, believe me its very affordable (they have some sort of value meal) with big serving good to make you full and the taste! Wooow! Tried their patatim! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Then after you checked out to Thunderbird Resort, you should go to Baguio City since it is only less than an hour drive thru Naguilian Road this makes your trip worth the travel. After sun bathing you should try to cool down at Baguio City..haaaay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beautifulcomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Their staff are beyond friendly! The place was just amazingly beautiful! I would definitely go back with family or friends hopefully soon. Five star accommodation, room was spacious and cozy, we wanted to just stay indoors and lounge the whole day. I miss their cotton cloud-like bed already. :)

Travel Date: July 2011

Room Tip: Call ahead for reservations and tell them specifically what you want, do your research of the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExperienceEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

THE BASICS

Thunderbird Hotel, a Santorini-inspired project sits within the Poro Point Special Economic and Freeport Zone in San Fernando, La Union. The view of the Lingayen Gulf is the resort’s best feature with most of the rooms offering unrestricted ocean panorama.

It is a leisurely 7 hour-drive (we had two meal stopovers - breakfast and lunch, and a petrol refill) from Manila, via NLEX and SCTEX.

Rooms go for as low as PhP 5,200 (USD 125.00) per night.

Free WiFi is available but spotty.


AMENITIES

The resort has two pools - an infinity pool overlooking the gulf and a children’s pool in the same area. There are some construction walls put up so if you don’t mind swimming amidst some digging, then catch some sun which warms the water most of the day.

The Cliffs Golf course and Fiesta Casino are the biggest draw should you wish to head up north and stay in Thunderbird Resorts. The “beach” is minuscule - if you wish to go for a swim - stay in the pool.

Bring an insect repellant when you go exploring at night.


ROOM AND BATH

We stayed in one of the Deluxe Rooms (102) and found it to be clean and spacious. Odd seats in place of a lounge chair and an army of ants attack any food left on the table for a few minutes made relaxing in the room a bit of a challenge.

The bathroom is clean and modern, however, the shower head leaked from faulty plumbing instead of gently raining water down on you.

No hand towels in the bathroom as well. Standard toiletries provided by VMV Hypoallergenics.


FOOD

Absolutely disappointing and expensive for what it is. Choose between over-seasoned, undercooked or bland flavours that try to pass for Mediterranean style-cooking.

We ordered the snapper fillet which arrived a salty mess drowning in an equally salty tomato saffron sauce. The meal was replaced promptly by a now bland, yet undercooked (almost raw) fish.

We also had an average-tasting grilled boneless chicken fillet. For about PhP 460 ($12.00), you’re better off with a World Chicken meal for PhP 167 ($4.00) at your mall’s food court.

Zucchini Lasagna is a soup of cheese, with hardly any vegetable in it (I counted 5 slivers of zucchini). Locally, if you’re looking for a hearty vegetable lasagna, Apartment1B (Salcedo Village, Makati) plates a good one.


SERVICE

Prompt and eager to please, the staff made up for the inadequacies of the resort (e.g. food and faulty internet service).


THE BOTTOMLINE

Thunderbird Resort is not worth the drive although if you are extremely curious to see what the fuss is all about, take a flight from the San Fernando Airport instead.

The rooms do provide for restful sleep and I love waking up to the view of the gulf but the food has been nothing short of traumatising. By the end of day one, I was tempted to head out to look for roadside barbecue or find the local carinderia (cheap neighbourhood eateries) for a decent meal.

Should you find yourself here, come armed with a few cup noodles (there is a small electric kettle in the room) and lots of chichiria (snacks).

Thunderbird Resort is blessed with a good location but underwhelms on so many levels. If you are looking for an average resort experience, then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Pinoywasabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

phoned the Makati Office to clarify our reservations.
i was referred and transferred to 'Sales'
then a girl named SUSHI answered but was NOT very helpful.
finally i was told to call again after 5 minutes.

WOW. this is what you folks call world class? #smh

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AceDome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Fernando La Union hotels

Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I spent my birthday in Thunderbird last July. It was worth the 5-hour drive from Manila. Our room was very clean and so pretty! And the view- superb. One of the best hotels ive been to. Looking forward to stay there again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Princessfeifei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed in Thunderbird Poro Point for 3/2 nights. We just love the whole surroundings. The lobby so magnificent especially the dome-shaped ceiling. The staff was very pleasant and made every request we have possible! You can't find fault on their accommodation good enough for 4 persons but still we decided to stay in two separate superior rooms overlooking the majestic South China Sea. My little 3 year old loved the pool so much. Should i mention the complimentary fruits and chocolates? It was divine wioth those cute Kisses chocolates. I havent heard any complains from my partner and in-laws for the duration of our stay there.Two things that diasppoint us: They forgot to provide us with the 600 pesos casino bets (WE RANG THE RECEPTION TWICE ABOUT IT)included in the package, and OLIVES breakfast selection was a dull.

Room Tip: Always choose the third floor rooms on the left wing. Marvelous view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oriellini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Fernando La Union
1.1 mi away
Aureo La Union
Aureo La Union
#1 of 5 in San Fernando La Union
49 reviews
5.9 mi away
Awesome Hotel
Awesome Hotel
#1 of 5 in San Juan
171 reviews
34.2 mi away
Villa Soledad Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.8 mi away
Punta Riviera Resort
Punta Riviera Resort
#3 of 4 in Bolinao
106 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Union Blue Marlin Resort
La Union Blue Marlin Resort
#1 of 9 in San Fernando La Union
10 reviews
35.9 mi away
Puerto Del Sol Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point

Property: Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
Address: Pennsylvania Avenue | VOA Compound, San Fernando La Union, Luzon 2500, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > La Union Province > San Fernando La Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Fernando La Union
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality and Leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Poro Point Hotel San Fernando La Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing