We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveler rating
150
156
112
56
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
156
112
56
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews olives restaurant infinity pool poro point pizza la union beach area beach club deluxe room buffet breakfast is basketball court rain shower the south china sea worth the price overlooking the sea complimentary bottled water company outing san fernando
Filter
Updating list...
460 - 465 of 521 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2012

As we approached the hotel lobby, we can't help but notice the dry, brown-colored grass surrounding the entrance(ist clue?) The bellboys were courteous & prompt. However, the reservation clerks were different. The four of them were attending yo that one customer who was checking out and kind of questioning her bill...while there I was, perspiring profusely and growing impatient what w/ the blistering, almost intolerable heat. No AC? not even elec. fans?iAs a 5 star hotel, I expected the lobby to be cool and refreshing. What a let-down!! A far cry from the Shangri-las and other 5 star hotels that we've been to. I recalled vividly in my mind their cool, elegant lobbies..I diid;nt even mind waiting cause they have soft, tufted, comfy sofas and chairs. Besides, their hotel attendants readily and graciously offered cool refreshments (fruit juices/iced-tea, etc.) Sarrrrrap! and relaxing!!! first class ang dating/ist class din ang service. Sana gayahin ninyo para dayuhin kayo at dumami ang customers ninyo. The place itself and the view is undeniably beautiful naman; in fairness, The sunset,,,breath-taking!!!!!The facility (esp. the lobby) needs upgrading and improvement/more trees/flowering plants at he entrance/there should be a deeper section of the pool/housekeeping should always be reminded to keep the facility at it's utmost cleanliness in every nook and corner specially the hotel/villa rooms .

Room Tip: Stayed at one of the villa rooms. Room was spacious. However, bathroom was not ready for use; as there were no towels/bath mat. When towels finally came, it was just bath towels, no jhand nor face towels. was told these are upon request only! hah? Is this a 5 star hotel? The worst is to find the toilet bowl rim stainned with blood. YUck!! We quickly complained to the front desk and was told that someone from housekeeping will come and clean it up. We went swimming to the pool expecting that when we return, the toilet is already clean. Heavens, NO!!!It have'nt been cleaned. For the second time, I called front desk and complained that up to that time,(about 8:30 p.m.) no one came to clean the bathroom
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Romeo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbrphilippines, Manager at Thunderbird Resorts & Casinos - Poro Point, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Dear Romeo N,

Thank you for providing us feedback on your experience with us. Your feedback is valuable to us as it enables us to improve our product and services.

We also want to thank you for the kind words with regards to the service of our bellboys. However, we regret that the reservation clerks were not able to provide you the services that Thunderbird strive for and customarily maintain. Rest assured that our General Manager has been informed to address this matter immediately. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this has caused you.

For the cleanliness of the facility and the brown colored grass, the concerned departments have been informed and action is being taken to address this matter.

We also appreciate your suggestions on the lobby and the pool. Your suggestions will be taken into consideration in our facilities improvement plan.

Once again, we thank you for staying in our hotel and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back soon. In the meantime, should you need further assistance, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely yours,
Therese G. Samala
Hotel Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Rooms pretty comfortable with flat screens. Casino nearby and a couple of restaurants serve international fare. Nice sunsets experienced here!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Surf n Turf T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbrphilippines, Manager at Thunderbird Resorts & Casinos - Poro Point, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear Surf n Turf T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. It was good to know that you had an overall enjoyable stay and particularly liked our rooms and the sunset.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back in our hotel soon.

Sincerely yours,
Therese G. Samala
Hotel Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I was with two friends of mine when we checked in this fine hotel in la union two years ago. we were suppose to look for a cheap hotel at that time since we just needed a place to sleep for the night before we go to ilocos. Out of curiosity we went inside to check out the rates and it was not that bad. As you enter the main entrance from the highway you will be surprised of its size and beautiful surroundings as if you have crossed to another country! Its a mediterranean style hotel which will take you to another place. the bedroom and bathrooms are just beyond my expectation. I guess I was just not expecting it to be this grand of a hotel since its in La union right? our stay came with free breakfast and the food was also great. If your tired of the city and you are looking for a place to relax then this is your hotel. by the way, I was not able to use the facilities like the pool and the basketball court because of the lack of time but I will definitely be back this year with my family.

Paul Conde

Room Tip: get a room that faces the sea, it will surprise you in the morning
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbrphilippines, Manager at Thunderbird Resorts & Casinos - Poro Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Dear Mr. Conde,

Thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel as stopover for your trip to Ilocos. It was a pleasure to know that you liked our property and particularly appreciate the room and food.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back with your family and experience the quality service we strive for and customarily maintain at Thunderbird Resorts. On your next visit, please contact me directly and I would be glad to assist you with your reservations.

Sincerely yours,
Therese G. Samala
Hotel Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The resort sits on top of a peninsula, Poro Point, overlooking the South China Sea. The resort has a golf course, a small beach front and a nice pool. There are not a lot of hotel rooms making the resort quiet and devoid of rowdy crowds typical of other beach resorts. The Grecian inspired architecture is clean and fresh, and transports you to the Mediterranean region. Definitely recommended for a relaxing weekend getaway!

Room Tip: all the rooms have an ocean view
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alvin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbrphilippines, Manager at Thunderbird Resorts & Casinos - Poro Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Dear AlvinAgustin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us. It is good to know that you had an overall enjoyable stay with us.

We hope to welcome you and your family back again soon. On your next visit, please do not hesitate to let me know and I would be glad to assist you with your reservations.

Sincerely your,
Therese G. Samala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We, a family of four, were there for an overnight stay during the Holy Week. We wanted to stay longer but we booked late so we were able to get only one night but it was enough to enjoy the resort. The room was big and clean with a sea-view. Very nice resort structure and well maintained grounds. Nice pool, great food, great breakfast buffet. Everyone was polite and helpful.

Booking was very convenient through the internet. Required deposit was only 10% payable with a credit card. Check in was not exactly 2PM so we had to wait but they have a waiting room and they serve lemongrass iced tea (which was great!). Check out was fast.

There was a DVD player in the room but we didn't have a need for it so we didn't bother to check about available movies. Toiletries were from VMV. The only thing I found weird was there was this space in the bathroom, like maybe it was for the bath tub that did not materialize.

They have at least two lifeguards by the pool and there was a red cross assistance booth.

It's kind of far from Manila but if you are on your way to other places like Baguio or Vigan, this is a great stopover.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbrphilippines, Manager at Thunderbird Resorts & Casinos - Poro Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Dear RCMM,

It was great to know that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel and particularly liked our breakfast buffet and service of our staff. It is always encouraging to know that our guests are happy with our facilities and services.

We hope that we would have the pleasure of being of service to you and your family again. On your next booking, please do not hesitate to let me know and I would be glad to assist you with your reservations.

Sincerely yours,
Therese G. Samala
Hotel Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews