We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Night with the Coolest Halo- Halo de Iloko”
Review of Halo Halo de Iloko

Halo Halo de Iloko
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Filipino
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Night with the Coolest Halo- Halo de Iloko”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I think this is the nicest and warmest place to go grab a hand on a cool Halo- Halo with the super delicioso taste with your lovey hubby (just like what we did :D )... perfect place to go by the night when returning home to San Fernando after strolling and tiring the eyes for the beauty of Ilocos <3 . Plus!! the atmosphere and interior was very entertaining, yes! that is the word to express because I was really entertained by the artistic decors from the dining area to the comfort room!!! :D A must visit resto at La union. I will surely go back here :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust1713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    86
    46
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“scrumptuous”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The price was very affordable and the food was full of flavor. The serving time didn't take long. The ambience was very native and cozy. There were a lot of food choices, from good for 1 person, to a food choices good for 2-3 persons. The halo halo tasted different, but in a good way. A secret recipe is said to be mixed that only the owner knows. All in all the whole meal experience was fantastic.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GeeMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xavier m, Owner at Halo Halo de Iloko, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
October 15, 2012
Dear Gee L,

Thank you for dropping by at my restoBALAY and having the time to review about your dining experience at Halo Halo de Iloko BALAY. I really appreciate that you enjoyed the ambiance, our halo halo and some of the foods as well. Hope to see you again soon. Agyamanak la Unay ken Diyos ti Agngina apo.

Sincerely yours,
Xavier B. Mercado
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a must to visit in when in la union”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

halo halo de iloko is one of those restaurants that should be in anyone's itinerary when travelling to other places. If you happen to be in San Fernando La Union, don't miss Halo Halo De Iloko. The name belies the range of food that is on the menu. Indeed the halo halo was the best I've tried. But they have a lot to offer. Try BukNok, it's tinolang manok cooked in fresh buko juice. And the pinakbet was super.

If you're going there for lunch, be early. They have to add some more service staff as we had to wait for quite a while for our orders. But it was all worth the wait.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobetrotterGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most delicious halo halo I have ever tasted!”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I went there in April to cool myself from the summer heat. I love the sweetness of their halo halo. So many flavors and all are terribly delicious! No wonder why many tourists stop in this restaurant, their halo halo is simply super delicious. Most delicious halo halo I have ever tasted!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HugoLeRoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baguio City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Revisiting Halo-halo de Iloko”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The first time I checked Halo-halo de Iloko in San Fernando City, La Union was way back January of this year, and because I cannot get over with "my first experience" - meaning I was absolutely fascinated and "captivated" by the place itself, the food and the staff when I first went there - I've decided to visit the place again. And nothing has changed! Halo-halo de Iloko still "captivated" my heart , my eyes and my taste buds! Halo-halo de Iloko is amazing! Even my friends were impressed when I brought them there. One of them even blurted "This is the best place I've checked so far! The best dito!"

If you're looking for a place in San Fernando City where you can find the "best tasting" and the "most delicious" halo halo -plus excellent place and customer service- try Halo-halo de Iloko.

Kindly check my blog for more details about my stay at Halo-halo de Iloko: http://www.arisonlinenow.net/2012/06/revisiting-halo-halo-de-iloko-in-san.html

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halo Halo de Iloko also viewed

San Fernando La Union, La Union Province
San Fernando La Union, La Union Province
 
San Fernando La Union, La Union Province
San Juan, La Union Province
 

Been to Halo Halo de Iloko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing