We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of The Malayan Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Malayan Plaza
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Pasig
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Arrived 9am, room was not ready. Got an upgraded room from the front desk guy Mel. Very accomodating, was able to check in early. Location is in the heart of Ortigas across the Podium and short walk to Megamall, Shangrila and Galleria. Breakfast is excellent. Stayed for 4 days last January.

Room Tip: Higher floor has better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeywonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMP-FOM, Front Office Manager at The Malayan Plaza, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the amazing review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Malayan Plaza Hotel. We are delighted that the hotel was perfect for your travel needs.

Our staff was excited to hear that they were hospitable and made a positive impact on your stay with us.We can’t wait for you to come back and stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Renan Tuazon
Front Office Team Leader- OIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    214
    132
    46
    18
See reviews for
115
93
42
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We arrived 40 minutes before check in time. I requested for an early check in since my kids were exhausted from the long trip. They told me to wait for several minutes. Fortunately, they accommodated us even if we came in earlier.
Upon arrival, the extra bed wasn't yet set up. It's ok coz we were early.

The bed and the sheets were okay. The bath towels look old but clean. The split type aircon was advantageous because we were able to control the temperature inside our room. The view was good especially at night. We were on the 23rd floor. The television is not an LCD TV. I have checked in with other hotels and all of them have LCD TV. The breakfast was okay, a variety of bread, pasta, two viands, cereals, fruits, sliced mini cakes. Not so much but it was ok. The elevator was fast and stable.

Downside: We asked for cooking wares and utensils over the telephone at around 3:00pm. An hour passed and they haven't delivered what we requested. I went out of the room and saw an employee of Malayan Plaza. I repeated my request and reiterated our room number. The employee told me that he will relay my request. Unfortunately , it was already 6pm and still no sign of cooking wares and utensils. I again called over the phone and made the same request. Ahhh this time they lend us those things. I requested three times. They made us wait for 3 hours.

The employees were not so helpful. They saw us (me and my yaya) carrying lots of bags but they did not offer any help. A good hotel takes care of its clients and must treat everyone as equal whether you are a foreign dignitary, businessman, plain housewife or a yaya.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMP-FOM, Front Office Manager at The Malayan Plaza, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for any discomfort you were put through during your stay.

Your input is greatly appreciated and we will definitely investigate these issues that you have mentioned to the appropriate departments in order to continue the betterment of our service to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and hope to have you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Renan Tuazon
Front Office Team Leader-OIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We decided to check-in in a hotel for Chinese New Year. I saw Malayan Plaza online and they have an affordable rate given that it was a long weekend. I checked some reviews here in TripAdvisor and took notes of all their comments especially when it comes to their customer service. I could say that I had a pleasant stay there and the service was quite fine...nothing exceptional but it was alright.

PROS:

1. The lobby/reception area was spacious and clean.
2. The staff were all polite. Check-in was a breeze.
3. The room (Superior) was big, spacious, and clean. Almost all the appliances there were new since according to the concierge, it was newly renovated.
4. It has microwave, refrigerator, sink, electric kettle. You can also request for rice cooker and other cooking utensils.
5. They have provided a dining area with two chairs. On top of the table, they provided plates, glasses, coffee, creamer, and sugar. Free two complimentary bottled water also included.
6. The bathroom was clean.
7. The bed was very comfortable.
8. The room has flat screen television, cable tv, and DVD player.
9. Air-con was split type. It worked pretty well.
10. The breakfast buffet was fine. Nothing special with the taste of their dishes but it was acceptable for its rate.

CONS:

1. The housekeeping takes long (which I read also in other reviews) but it was okay.
2. The room still uses keys instead of key card even if there is already a card available for the electricity of the room. It's difficult to lock the door with keys than key cards.
3. The pool was cold. No towels available. You need to request additional towels in your room or from the front desk but no phone available in the pool area.
4. The room lack decor. No paintings...no anything.
5. The rooms are not carpeted. You can hear the moving of furniture from the room on top. It was quite annoying.

I'll probably go back here if they have more discounted rates otherwise, I'd probably look for something else.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuffy0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMP-FOM, Front Office Manager at The Malayan Plaza, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review of your stay. We do value our guest’s comments and we will address your concerns promptly and efficiently.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay overall and we look forward to have you stay with us soon.

Warm Regards,

Renan Tuazon
Front Office Team Leader- OIC
The Malayan Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I usually stay here whenever i visit manila. it's got great location and great staff. Special thanks to Renan, the manager who is very helpful. It was very busy when we stayed there last november 2013 but he and the rest of the staff attended to our requests promptly. Again, thank you and looking forward to my next visit:)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littledrummergirl_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMP-FOM, Front Office Manager at The Malayan Plaza, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to inform us your recent visit at The Malayan Plaza. It is great to read that you had enjoyed again your stay and that the team had exceeded your expectations in friendliness and efficiency.

We hope to see you again in the near future. We would love to have you stay with us again!


Warm Regards,

Renan Tuazon
Front Office Team Leader/OIC
The Malayan Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I've stayed here a few times before, and I stay here because the location is outstanding. It's a business district but a short walk to Megamall, Robinsons Galleria and the metro. Really for business in Ortigas/Pasig this is the best location.
Now for the not so good, the service has really tanked. The room wasn't ready on arrival, they tried to offer a stop-gap of a smoking room, then the lady at the desk tried to tell me "our twin beds are smaller than standard twin beds" what she really meant is your room has single beds in it! A bit annoying, as really she was just talking nonsense.
The breakfast before was served in a little restaurant outside, this time was in the business lounge. But it's not really breakfast, an odd mix of canapés, pasta dishes, salads, it's like they put the afternoon tea out for breakfast. There is bread and cereals, and eggs if you ask, so not the worst, but don't expect your "full English" or even "full Pinoy"!
The rooms are a good size, the internet works (for one device only), which is a pain, but again easily overcome if you are a bit tech savvy.
I would probably stay there again, but maybe after I have tried one or two of the newer condo-hotels that are nearby.

Room Tip: Make sure you really get what you booked and asked for! The décor varies as this is a managed hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMP-FOM, Front Office Manager at The Malayan Plaza, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time in posting a review. We are concerned about your comments and apologize for the unfavorable experience you had at the Hotel.

We hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you better, please don’t hesitate to contact me at renantuazon@quantumsuites.com so I can ensure that your next visit will be a memorable one.


Best Regards,

Renan Tuazon
Front Office- OIC
The Malayan Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Arrived on 30 Dec 2013. Had book 2 bedroom apartment + 1 studio. The check in was smooth without any incident. My issue came when I wanted to have the WiFi password access. It seem the hotel limit to a single login for a single room. I was issued 2 login ID for Room 2204 and 2207. I stayed at room 2207 and have a tablet + mobile phone but could only use one at one time. (In my last visit, I did not have this issue). Requesting for another Wifi login Id, but was told that I would need to pay Peso 200 by (Mel at front desk). Asking to speak to the manager in charge but was given an email by him.
However, upon booting up my tablet and was about to write a complaint email, my wife told me that the front desk had called and will be sending another WIFI login ID.

The hotel would issue to me 6 breakfast voucher for both the rooms but only 2 Wifi Login ID. Not logical.

We were unhappy with the new policy. As I told my family, next time we might consider BSA Twin Towers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoongYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMP-FOM, Front Office Manager at The Malayan Plaza, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations at the Hotel and apologize for any inconvenience you were put through.

We hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you better, please don’t hesitate to contact me at renantuazon@quantumsuites.com so I can ensure that your next visit will be a memorable one.


Warm regards,

Renan Tuazon
Front Office OIC
The Malayan Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Positive:
Room is big and clean and includes microwave, refrigerator, small kitchen and provides free coffee. Bed is comfortable. Bed sheets and pillows are clean and soft. Comfort room is clean but small and not nice.
Location is near malls and restos.
There is internet but usage is one at a time.

Negative:
Beds are small. No carpet. No electronic card to open and close rooms. No flat screens.
Lights are all yellow. I find it a bit dim.
Breakfast was terrible. Sardines only for meat/ fish and the others are veggies.
I asked for extra towel and toilet paper and I have to call housekeeping twice.

Overall:
It is a simple hotel with simple amenities. Great on the budget but don’t expect anything grand.

Room Tip: check out the rooms first for a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaSabularse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMP-FOM, Front Office Manager at The Malayan Plaza, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time in posting your feedback about your stay, we truly appreciate the feedback we receive from our guest. Your comments had been discussed for evaluation and for further planning by the management.

We hope to welcome you back to the Malayan Plaza in the near future.

Yours truly,

Renan Tuazon
Front Office Team Leader-OIC
The Malayan Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasig hotels
1.0 mi away
Privato Hotel Manila
Privato Hotel Manila
#6 of 22 in Pasig
407 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Exchange Regency Residence Hotel
0.4 mi away
Richmonde Hotel Ortigas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Linden Suites
The Linden Suites
#10 of 22 in Pasig
724 reviews
0.0 mi away
Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Manila Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malayan Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malayan Plaza

Property: The Malayan Plaza
Address: ADB Avenue Corner Opal Road, Ortigas Center, Pasig, Luzon 1600, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Pasig
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pasig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malayan Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Malayan Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Malayan Plaza Hotel Manila
Malayan Plaza Manila
Malayan Plaza Hotel Manila
The Malayan Plaza Metro Manila/Pasig, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing