We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice decent stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Malayan Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Malayan Plaza
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Pasig
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice decent stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I was looking for a nice hotel to stay in for 3 days while i was visiting Manila. Living in West Coast, i have a very high standard when it comes to booking with hotels. I will search weeks and weeks getting the hotel and service that i want. This time tho, my time is very limited and i was in a hurry booking since my flight going to Manila is on the next day.
I was looking via Expedia, and the rep i spoke with recommended The Malayan Plaza located in Ortigas. I booked a twin bed non smoking room with a nice view. The room is decent in size. Just right for me and my sister. We stayed at the penthouse. I love my bathroom(that's my hotel peeve). Breakfast buffet is good tho they need to add more choices to the menu. Like waffles, pancakes, and toast. The number one thing i love about this hotel is the service. All the staff including the guards are all polite and very helpful. Everyone is smiling which is good. The front desk people are all very nice and good looking.
Overall, i enjoyed my stay. It's not a five star rank hotel but it's def worth your $$$.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shine_Lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    207
    130
    42
    15
See reviews for
106
89
41
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed there to attend a wedding of our relative. The location is close to SM Megamall and Robinsons mall for good shopping. There are lots of new restaurants nearby where you can eat outside. The one bedroom was good size larger than an average hotel room. It has big space that we are able to spend time together with relatives and friends. Staff members are helpful and attentive to our needs. They respond immediately when I requested for extra towels. When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted with a smile from the staff.

overall, it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

the front desk were very helpful and friendly. But like other hotel guests had said, they uses a key to get into the hotel, sort of ancient way of opening the door. The hotels room itself was large and has a full kitchen, huge dining room and 2 balcony areas which was great coz you have a view of the city. the place was clean and bathroom was updated. The only complain is that they only gave us a roll of tissue paper and the papaer is very very thin (low class kind) so I have to ask them to supply us twice during our stay of 2 nights and they only gave us a roll every time I had asked??? is toilet tissue papaer that expensive in the philippines ?????
The breakfast though was great, not much of selection but food was tasty, filipino breakfast is the best they also have soup which was awesome. Overall the staff was freindly and helpful

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nimfa24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
170 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I arrived in Manila on a Friday evening during rush hour and it took over 2 hours to get to get to the hotel in a taxi.

The hotel is a few minutes walk from both Megamall and Robinson's Galleria - both huge malls.

The lobby is quite nice but the check-in was painfully slow and I was given a real key (rather than keycard) for the room. There are only 3 lifts serving over 30 floors and there can sometimes be a wait for a lift.

Some people live in the Malayan Plaza and others rent out their rooms for the hotel. The room was very big, with a separate living space and bedroom. However the furniture and curtains were very old-fashioned and in serious need of updating, especially the drimy curtains.

The bathroom was OK with very little amenities.

There is wifi in the room and in the restaurant but it is only valid for one appliance at a time which is really frustrating when there are two people in the room! They charge an additiional 200 Pesos per day for another logon code.

Breakfast come with the room and is a small buffet on the 33rd floor serving standard foods and cooking fresh eggs. It's nothing special but Ok if you are hungry.

The pool was also on this floor and seemd ok but hardly any sun loungers there to sit out.

The service was a bit strange with twice someone coming by to to a room check. The second time was at 9am and woke me up to do a check and deliver a newspaper. Admittedly I forgot to put on the Do Not Disturb sign.

Overall, it's not a bad place to stay for locarion.

Room Tip: Dleuxe split rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrrfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Spent two weeks here in June, with little to do except relax. No problem with check-in at 11pm, staff efficient and friendly. Room was as requested, high up with a balcony, but with twin beds! Extra cooking items provided as requested, even at this late time. On 22nd floor, so only the odd emergency sirens were heard.
Breakfast generally good, with pleasant and helpful staff. Good views if the curtains are open on dull days.
The swimming pool and exercise room were good, and a children's playroom was adjacent to the pool. A good view from the helicopter pad on the top of the building, but beware, no safety rails!!
Two minuses, only one set of tea, coffee, milk and sugar provided, penny pinching to the extreme. Also the deposit is not cleared immediately, so you have to wait for the refund. Both minor points, but they spoil the stay.

Room Tip: Get a high up room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fossil01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed for a week to attend a conference at a nearby institution. Location wise, it is no doubt a winner. But level of service needs significant upgrade.

The check-in was slow and involved a lot of confusion, paperwork, during which the staff continued to chat and joke with each other, totally ignoring the guests who are tired and want to go to the room asap. Maybe it was the standard in the Philippines.

The smell of food (instant noodles, to be precise) hit my nose when I entered the room. I had to spray perfume to be able to sleep. They forgot to put hand towel. When I asked for a toothbrush, it was delivered 1 hr later, only after I called the housekeeping again.

The stench was gone on day 2, so I guess the room wasn't properly cleaned up on the first day. The housekeeping also missed cleaning my room once during the week, which I later complained but didn't get any apology or explanation.

The only commendable service is the restaurant staff, who are very helpful and friendly. The restaurant is very small and had no view whatsoever despite being located on 33F.

Other than its convenient location, I wouldn't recommend this hotel, especially if you look for warm and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPrabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

They are very obliging, helpful and very welcoming and always smiling. The hotel itself is very central in location to everything. Podium, SM Mega mall St Francis and railway. Very safe location and very quiet at nightime.
I would recommend Malayan to all my friends and we are going back again this Christmas.

Room Tip: 20th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beck2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasig hotels
0.3 mi away
The Exchange Regency Residence Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Linden Suites
The Linden Suites
#7 of 21 in Pasig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
1.0 mi away
Privato Hotel Manila
Privato Hotel Manila
#5 of 21 in Pasig
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Richmonde Hotel Ortigas
0.2 mi away
Marco Polo Ortigas Manila
0.1 mi away
Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malayan Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malayan Plaza

Property: The Malayan Plaza
Address: ADB Avenue Corner Opal Road, Ortigas Center, Pasig, Luzon 1600, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Pasig
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pasig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malayan Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Malayan Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Malayan Plaza Hotel Manila
Malayan Plaza Manila
Malayan Plaza Hotel Manila
The Malayan Plaza Metro Manila/Pasig, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing