We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, comfortable stay and very affordable (from hotels.com)”
Review of The Malayan Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Malayan Plaza
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Pasig
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Nice end to a hot, hot and uncomfortable stay in the province! I didnt know the area but was really hoping this was a good hotel! Then when we we're driving up to it, i didnt realize it was at a business center and so very close (walking distance) to several malls! The front desk people we're all very friendly. THe room was huge and spacious with a kitchen that i didnt get to use. The only thing i didnt like was the bathroom.. considering how large the room was, the bathroom couldve used some of that space! The pool was gigantic and just perfect. It was clean everyday! This was a great end to my vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtblanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 530 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012

I choose this property mainly because its located between old Philippine Stock Exchange, San Miquel Head Office and ADB complex on which I will spent most of the time there. It has strategic location, only 5 minutes walk to SM mall in Manila which will provide all basic things you need. There's also many good cafe/restaurant/food stall around this hotel with 24hrs 7-11 right next door. Breakfast is poor, and I simply eat somewhere else or use the microwave and cook something.

It has reasonable rates consider I usually stay for at least one week when visiting Manila, with surrounding environment is relatively safe consider the Manila crime rate. However if your business more in Macati area, this place is simply too far and not practical.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kputra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Strategically located inside Pasig City, and is near to Megamall, Asia Development Bank and Manila LRT. Price wise is bit expensive considering the condition of the room is quite dated, especially some of the air-con is not working very well.

The room has an attached kitchen which is very near to the bed. Suffice for simple cooking but definitely not suitable for frying as it will make the whole room smelly and the bed oily.

The room lock is still using the old-type key (not key card), which could be easily duplicated by previous guest, thus it's not advisable to leave valuable things in the room, unless it stored in the room safety deposit box. Furthermore it's partial apartment, partial hotel type residence, so you have mixture of different type residents.

Breakfast is very simple, not much variety and sometimes could be quite pack due to its limited space.

The hotel do provide free wifi in your room, but only 1 device can be connected at 1 time.

Room Tip: Plenty of amenities around, e.g. 7-11 and Starbucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ooice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is a good hotel located in a very location within walking distance of several malls as well a variety of restaurants. Rooms are spacious and clean and have a kitchen, hotel also has free complimentary full course breakfast, pool, weight room, cable and internet. This is a can't miss hotel only 20 minutes from airport if traffic isn't bad and 20 minutes to Roxas Blvd and US Embassy.

Room Tip: rooms facing front of hotel on higher floors provide excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

If you look for a nice, modern moderate priced Hotel in Ortigas Manila the Malayan is perfect. Central Location just a view steps away from The Podium Mall, HSBC Bank, Megamall, Shangri La Mall and close to lots of restaurants and bars. The rooms are modern and spacious. Service is fast and prompt. Everything in the rooms was in good condition and functinal. I did not have breakfast there.. I will definitely stay in the Malayan again if i need to stay in Ortigas.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tilo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Hi,

I've twice experienced booking in this hotel for the main reason of its Low Profile Luxury experience.
It's located in Ortigas Center and its a convenient location.
if you are the type of person who likes privacy then this is the place to be.
No crowded lobbies.
I barely saw people except when I stepped outside the hotel, and very professional.
when i checked in at the reception i felt that i was talking to a an executive. very smart, very professional.
The hotel service was great, but they do not accept visitors i think past 11pm.
and they always have discounts on rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xxgrendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I have stayed at the Malayan Plaza a few times now and felt it was time I submitted a review. The location of the hotel is ideal for my purposes and I find the rooms spacious, comfortable and clean. It is easy to relax there when not involved in outdoor activities. I found the air conditioning very effective. It is a high quality establishment with friendly staff. Breakfast is limited when compared to other hotels but adequate. The swimming pool is a plus as is the proximity to 2 large malls. My only minor complaint is that I wish the music wasn't so loud in the restaurant at breakfast time but maybe this says more about my age than anything else

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasig hotels
1.0 mi away
Privato Hotel Manila
Privato Hotel Manila
#7 of 22 in Pasig
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Exchange Regency Residence Hotel
0.4 mi away
Richmonde Hotel Ortigas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Linden Suites
The Linden Suites
#10 of 22 in Pasig
739 reviews
0.0 mi away
Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Manila Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malayan Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malayan Plaza

Address: ADB Avenue Corner Opal Road, Ortigas Center, Pasig, Luzon 1600, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Pasig
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Pasig
Price Range: $51 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malayan Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Malayan Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Malayan Plaza Hotel Manila
Malayan Plaza Manila
Malayan Plaza Hotel Manila
The Malayan Plaza Metro Manila/Pasig, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing