We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Downhill”
Review of Astoria Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astoria Plaza
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Pasig
Reviewed October 15, 2006

Stayed at Astoria Oct 1 - 5. Compared to our last stay two years ago, sad to say things have definitely gone downhill since then. I think they're cutting corners to try and save money so they don't have to raise rates.

The breakfast buffet not as good as it used to be and the juice tasted like it was watered down with tap water. I got sick to my stomach after breakfast each day.

Our room had the ambience of a hospital room. Lighting in the room was quite dim (especially in the bathrooms). It's rather depressing.

If you stay here, bring your own soap. If you use the hotel soap, you might as well be using lye. It's murder on your skin.

The hallways and elevators are not air-conditioned and are quite hot as a result.

At checkout, Astoria makes you wait while they send someone to inspect the room to make sure you haven't stolen anything. They tried to charge us for a plastic spoon and fork that we hadn't used, just because the wrapper was torn.

I had some nostalgic feelings about the place since it's where I stayed when I met my wife two years ago. This time I left with a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jsn0217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

422 - 428 of 444 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2006

My 3 kids and I stayed here for 10 days and we were pleased with the place. We stayed in a 1br suite and we had plenty of room. Although there are some we didn't like. The bathroom's a bit small, the bed are only single/twin size and they are hard! The kithchen is a good size with meduim size fridge. The pool was nice. Also the salon service was nice. The laundry is very pricey but there's a laundry service right next door which was a blessing with 3 kids. The bellhop and maid service are really good and helpful. The receptionist could use some customer service training though. They (receptionist) seem to treat the foreigners much nicer than the balikbayan from what I experience and observed. The view from our room was excellent!
Overall the place could use some updating but I would stay there again when we get the chance to visit again.

Stayed: March 2006
3  Thank Chlemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2006

I stayed 8 days in this hotel and was really satisfied. For the amount of money that I payed, I was pleased with the services and size of the suite that we stayed in. The breakfast was ok, I would rate it above a continental breakfast in the US, but could have offered more. One night we were stuck waiting for a cab at a local mall, we called the hotel, they had already closed down their transportation for the night, but the attendant came and got us anyway. I will definately stay again in this hotel when I return to Manila.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeffstl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
18
Reviewed May 27, 2006

I recently went back to the Philippines with my husband, two sons and my mother. I chose this hotel because we had 6 balikbayan boxes and 5 suitcases and I needed a place that can hold everything and everyone.

I had several problems with this hotel.

First, despite telling reservations that we will need 2 vans to fit all of us and our luggages only one showed up and we were told we had to wait a while for the second one to show up. Luckily my aunt, blessed her heart, picked us in her pick-up and we were able to use her car to fit the rest of the luggages.

When we arrived, I was very disappointed. The building looked old and nothing looked like the picturs from their website. The front desk staff were clueless. The 2 BR suite I chose was not even close to what I call spectacular. The bathrooms were dark and dirty. At least the views were great.

The breakfast are not all that great. The one good thing about this hotel was the service of the staff.

Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2006

Stayed here again in February 2006. The place is still good, but is showing signs of wear and tear in the units. The furnitures and windows could use a good cleaning and the bathroom tiles need to be re-grouted. Mildew is showing up in the shower tile walls. I asked them to clean the mildew, but all they did was scrub the tiles.

Other than that, the place is still agreat deal for this area. Free local (ORTIGAS) area shuttle and free parking makes this a better deal. The breakfast buffet is still good and plentiful.

Staffers here are hardworking and diligent. Overall, the place is good, but needs updating to get back to looking new again.

Stayed: February 2006
11  Thank balti_less
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
243
Reviewed January 5, 2005

Good sized units in the Ortigas area. Stayed in a 2 bedroom unit that had a large kitchen with a decent living and dining areas. Unit was well kept and maintained nicely.

This is a nice option for balikbayans and be able to entertain guests and family. The 2 bedroom unit even had a maids area and bathroom.

Used the shuttle to Megamall and Shangrila frequently. People working there were nice, but some of the front desk staff were clueless.

Good breakfast buffet with plenty of local Filipino dishes. Would definitely stay here again.

22  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zo hoog mogelijk voor mooi uitzicht....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasig hotels
0.6 mi away
Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines
0.4 mi away
Privato Hotel Manila
Privato Hotel Manila
#8 of 22 in Pasig
429 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Linden Suites
The Linden Suites
#11 of 22 in Pasig
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ace Hotel & Suites
Ace Hotel & Suites
#5 of 22 in Pasig
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmonde Hotel Ortigas
0.7 mi away
Marco Polo Ortigas Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Plaza

Address: 15 J. Escriva Drive | Ortigas Business District, Pasig, Luzon 1600, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Pasig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pasig
Price Range: $80 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Astoria Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the progressive business and commercial district of Ortigas Center in Pasig City, Astoria Plaza offers new standards in urban living with all the space and comfort of home combined with the modern convenience of staying in a deluxe city hotel. Astoria Plaza's spacious accommodation options give you the freedom to choose between its one and two bedroom suites that boast of German technology door lock system, audio-video entry phone, cable TV and electronic safe. With complimentary internet connection provided, conducting business in your very own suite or keeping in touch with loved ones at home is a breeze and a welcome treat for Astoria guests. It is also within walking distance to leading shopping centres, malls, hospitals, universities and the metro railway transport system. Facilities include a gym, swimming pool, Regenere Spa and Massage Center, Santi's Delicatessen, Travelnet, Genesis Valet Shop and Laundry Services. Complimentary roundtrip shuttle service to and from Ortigas Business District is available with prior reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Astoria Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Plaza Pasig
Astoria Plaza Hotel Pasig
Astoria Plaza Metro Manila/Pasig, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing