We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Pasig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2009

Its not that great, upon check in they gave me a hard time about my ID , although i clearly had papers to prove we had the room reserved.

They told us to "wait over there" but it was only 2 chairs, we had to stand or sit on the floor.

So after that we venture to the pool its out of order

Our room had a view of a wall, thats it, and no internet !

So its pointless to stay there honestly

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ådäm J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

769 - 775 of 821 reviews

An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed February 26, 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 6, 2009

where do we start?? contacted them and requested a street view 2 weeks ahead and i got the 'massive wall of anson' view, thanks very much but no thanks.

tiny bathroom, shower door not working, looks like it's going to fall apart when you try close and open it, someone went and fix it, unsuccessful!! hot water system not working properly (you pick too hot or too cold, good luck but nothing in between).

don't have easy to use kettle, you get a thermos hahahah, smelly hall way, smelly room, coakroach in the room, good massive comfortable bed and pillows but then again smelly, no gym, no pool, linens (even new ones smells cigarette smoke), abundant dust in the tv cabinet (advised them, wish me luck but guess what!! unsuccessful).

breakfast is basic, better than fraser. great views and free wi-fi internet access. staffs are friendly.

you need to get your own taxi at the back, it'll take you forever if you wait for the useless bell staffs.

nice bath soap.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank EBGSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

We stayed at Discovery Suites, Ortigas initially from 26 Dec 08 - 2 Jan 09. Check in was fast and swift. Was shown into our room - 1508, which was OK. Breakfast was included in the rate, and the choice of food was good. The staff are very friendly and polite. We are shown to our table, no long waits despite the unusual number of people being a christmas period. Selection of food was good and changes every day. We came back from Boracay on 12 Jan, stayed until 17th. Again, fast and friendly check in, our left luggage turned up with no worries at all. When shown into our room (1615), I was not happy at all - smell (stale food, so could be a housekeeping issue), size: too tiny for 2 people, and views (or the lack of it!) we were looking out to the wall of the building next door. So I asked to be transferred, which was sorted in 30 minutes. This room (1610) is much better but a bit of a disappointment with the rate we were paying. The bathroom is too small, the shower doors are not closing. The water is just hot OR cold, so showering was a nightmare. Be careful when you reach for the toilet paper you might break your back. and worst of all the linens are not fresh and crisp as I would expect.

Life went on smoothly until on the 3rd day, when I discovered I was missing a personal item. Not valuable really, so did not bother to put in the room safety box, but still annoying. I reported this and was dealt with by a very polite lady at reception. As expected I did not recover the item.

The new lobby is being completed (should be by now). And oh forgot to mention, the toilets on the ground floor, coming from the existing lobby to the would-be-new lobby, these also smell.

The friendly staff are, I would say the best feature of this hotel, but the facilities need a lot of improvement.

Oh there was fire on the 4th floor. This was contained quickly and effectively. Some guests were moved to the hotel next door due to the fumes, but otherwise the incident was handled pretty well. 4th floor is where the spa and gym, and obviously are closed as I write.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SeaGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Been staying at this hotel for the last six years and I'm sorry to say that it has declined in quality. Service is good, but the rooms need to be updated or renovated.

RATES - They have jacked up their room rates lately. For the peak season of December, the 1-bedroom suite was approx. $200 net local rate and the 3-bedroom suite was $315 net for local rate. These rates are expensive for a 3-star hotel in Manila. Comparable hotels in Makati (a much better location) charge around $150. This is probably why their occupancy is suffering. In December '08 which is when Filipinos from abroad come home for Christmas, Discovery had an occupancy of 60%. Nearby hotels like the Crowned Plaza and Holiday Inn Galeria had 90% occupancy and the newer Malayan Plaza just two buildings away, which I also checked out, is taking some of the business.

RESERVATIONS - They instituted a change in the reservation system where you have to fill out a reservation form and fax to the hotel even if you reserve months in advance. Other hotels in Manila don't have this requirement and are easier to book and cancel with just a phone call and a credit card guarantee.

BREAKFAST - Has gone from average to bad. They added the cook-to-order omelet stand in the last 2 yrs, which is an improvement but not enough to make up for the decline of other breakfast choices, some of which are downright odd. It's as though you're eating leftovers from catering events. If the Podium mall across the street had breakfast options, I would rather eat there. Or at the Pancake House around the corner.

BATHROOMS - You will notice, if you stay here regularly, that the bathrooms are becoming worn out, the showers & grout work needs repair and the worn furniture needs to be replaced. There's an overall decline in the quality of the rooms. I've stayed in 1-bedroom suites and 3-bedroom suites, some renovated, and they all need some re-work. I'm turned off by any grout that has turned brown or missing. I don't dare stare at the corners of the shower stall. The sinks are tiny and crowded with breakable knick-knacks that half of the counter space is not usable.

One positive thing... as of December '08, the hotel was working to relocate the lobby to the side facing the Podium mall instead of the tiny lobby they used to have in the back. That should make the lobby feel more like a hotel. But the rooms upstairs remain the same -- needing improvement.

Discovery used to be one of the nicer and cheaper options. Not anymore. They need to both lower their rates to be at par with other hotels and also work harder to compete with nearby newer hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank WePeregrinate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2008

As a long staying guest for work - 9months - this is the BEST and only place to stay. From the moment you arrive you aren't in a hotel but part of a friendly community. The staff have the best attitude to making you feel welcome and are attentive to every need. It isn't just false attention but a real desire to connect with every guest. The hotel may not be a big brand name and some of the hotel decore may not be the latest but it is the most comfortable and enjoyable hotel experience I have had. Only down side was the outdoor pool wasn't much but the Spa and gym is superb!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Vermillion20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2008

I have a Diamond Card with Hilton, so I usually stay at their better properties. But friends made a reservation for me at this Discovery Suites and I was delighted with the total experience. I prefer extended stay properties, because I do like the comforts of home and like to be able to meet people in a living room, not a sleeping room, and not renting a conference room. This suite had it all, including a great comp wine & fruit basket, and good furnishings and fixtures. I mean, there was so much space in the closets, for example, that I could move in and live there for months! The food service in the restaurant on the top floor of the hotel was very good, good bar, piano, great view, etc. And the breakfast buffet was as good as any I have experienced. The lobby is a bit small, so people use their suites or the restaurant/lounge for meeting others. It was family friendly, with some kids playing even in the lounge early in the evening. The staff were very professional and helpful. What any business wants is not a simple "Thank you," but to hear their customers say, "I'll be back." And I will.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Gorham_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pasig
0.3 mi away
Marco Polo Ortigas Manila
0.3 mi away
The Linden Suites
The Linden Suites
#11 of 22 in Pasig
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Manila Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Edsa Shangri-La
Edsa Shangri-La
#1 of 7 in Mandaluyong
1,874 reviews
0.1 mi away
Joy Nostalg Manila Managed by AccorHotels
0.9 mi away
Ace Hotel & Suites
Ace Hotel & Suites
#5 of 22 in Pasig
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines

Address: 25 Adb Ave | Ortigas Center, Pasig, Luzon 1605, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Pasig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pasig
Price Range: $87 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 45 minutes from the Ninoy Aquino International Airport, and 30 minutes from Makati City, Discovery Suites is centrally located in the dynamic Ortigas Business District. It is also within walking distance from the Asian Development Bank, BPO companies and upscale shopping malls. The all-suite property features spacious One, Two and Three-Bedroom accommodations, each furnished with modern hotel conveniences such as high-speed internet connection for unlimited devices, access to 3500 online publications via the PressReader application, cable TV, iPod docking stations, air-conditioning and fully-furnished kitchenettes. Other amenities include an exclusive gym, a business center, children's playroom, meeting and function rooms, 24-hour security, laundry, car rental and housekeeping services. Restaurant 5 offers food fare for casual dining, the award-winning 22Prime features U.S. Prime streaks, and the Serendipity Lounge offers cocktails and relaxing lounge entertainment with a panoramic view of the city. Room Service is also available 24 hours. Complimentary Wi-Fi access is provided in all restaurant outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Pasig
Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines Metro Manila/Pasig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing