We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Terrible Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Pasig
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
208 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel Terrible Breakfast”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My family was upgraded to the admiral suite which was impeccably designed. Matrresses can be requested. Wifi was strong and there was ample space. Breakfast was sooo disappointing we should just have taken McDonald's (it's that bad). Parking space is horrible so try not bringing your SUVs. Slow elevators from basement to lobby. Staff is friendly and courteous. A few months from now there will probably be no more views from some of the rooms becuase there are building being constructed affecting the view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim28Manila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    281
    71
    26
    17
See reviews for
246
75
27
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
qc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2012

checked in with my hubby and 1year old baby, we availed the Halloween Room package which already includes 2 tickets for the kiddie halloween party, breakfast buffet for 2, spa gift voucher worth 1k, free parking, complimentary bottled h20 and fruits.

the good...
we enjoyed our stay. the hotel is kid friendly, my baby had a great time, swimming in their pool (although the pool is a bit small), and playing in the play room. almost all the staff are friendly and courteous. we stayed in a junior suite which has a view of the podium, the room was spacious enough for my baby to run around and play, and has a big bathroom. Buffet breakfast has enough selections, fresh fruits,cereals, filipino brekkie, diff. bread, etc.

the bad...
we basically booked a room, so my baby can go to his 1st halloween party. but the organizers weren't really prepared for the big turn out. the venue was so small, we had to stand up, they ran out of loot bags, and the merienda buffet was just plain crazy. the line for the food was so long that some people got impatient waiting for their turn just started grabbing the mini sandwiches (eewww...), even the chicken lollipops.
almost all the staff were courteous, except for a guy at the front desk. we were checking out so they have to call housekeeping to check the room. I'm not sure if he's aware that he's talking in a loud voice but me and the hubby clearly heard him tell housekeeping "hinde lang mini bar ang i-che-check mu, pati lahat ng gamit at baka may kinuha tulad ng towel at iba pa!" i was in shock when i heard this. like "rude much?" hello?? we're still here!

The verdict.
despite the rude front desk and the ill-prepared halloween party. we really enjoyed our stay. we'll definitely come back. hopefully next time we visit that guy no longer works there.

Room Tip: make sure you inform reservations about your room preferences, room with a view, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you very much for this candid review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and very sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during our Children’s Halloween Party. Indeed, there were a lot more people who attended our Trick or Treat event. And because we did not want to disappoint last minute parents and their children, the full enjoyment of the activity may have been compromised. Rest assured that we will be fully equipped to handle similar situations in the future.

As for the hotel associate you mentioned, that is not the service culture we strive to impart to our staff. We will certainly look into this. If you do not mind, please send us information on the time and date this. You can be assured that everything will be handled with the strictest confidence.

Thank you and regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marikina, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed just recently, Oct 13, as my Aunt and her husband visit us for the first time again in nth years. They booked the hotel for 4 main reasons: close vicinity from where I work, rooms look nice on the website, and there's a breakfast buffet. Here's the verdict:
Location - just right, very near major malls (right across podium and if you're up to walking, you can go on foot at megamall or robinsons) and establishment (restaurants, convenience stores, etc.)
Room - they got the 1 bedroom suite, but I think this is a little smaller compared to other hotels of their kind. It's not super squeaky clean but can live with it however, they did not fully check the kitchenette. There's a plate of rotten pineapple left on the fridge. The small appliances and utensils seems old/not maintained so I hope they upgrade on this as their price is not that cheap.
Breakfast - just the usual. Not exemplary from your usual everyday breakfast except you can have all of it in one sitting.
Ask if i will have this recommended - probably, if they could improve on those minor things and/or review their cost.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lielynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Celebrated my birthday in this hotel. The place is already too big for the six of us to party and literally run around, although the hotel only provides a queen sized bed in their one bedroom suites. The bed is ok; three people can sleep on it. A few downsides of this hotel was their cable TV which keeps getting bad signal. Also, water would sometimes leak from the fridge in the kitchen. And since I'm a sucker for rooms with a view, their floor to ceiling windows were a waste since all you can see is the building next door. It's a good place to party but not to relax especially if you're very nitpicky. Location is good as it is across The Podium and only walking distance to Megmall and to a lot of restaurants and convenience stores.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Kay R,

Thank you very much for post.

Yes, our suites are really spacious compared to most hotels and serviced apartments in the Pasig area. Aside from the One Bedroom suite, we have Two and Three Bedroom suites available which are ideal for intimate and quiet gatherings. We also have suites that have views, More often than not, we provide the rooms when views when we are not running full. If you have plans of staying with us soon, and if there are rooms available, we will allocate a suite facing Pasig City skyline.

For your TV and refrigerator concerns, we will refer them to our Engineering team immediately.

Thank you and warm regards,

David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed nearly a week, for a training and then some time with friends. The room was a real s uite -- big LR, with kitchenette, and a big BR with kingsized bed, and a good bathroom with separate shower and sink. The staff is friendly and helpful. The neighborhood is safe and a good base -- with two big malls in easy walking distance. Cabs in Manila are cheap, and the right choice for most visitors most of the time. But there is an MRT stop within walking distance of the Discovery Suites. Breakfast is fine, with a good range of choice, and there are newspapers to read.

Room Tip: My room had a good view; one of my colleague's window was right up against the wall of an adjoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelsontouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Nelsontouch,

Thank you very much for your post. We hope you will return to Manila and see us again at Discovery Suites. Tell your friends in Washington about Manila and encourage them to come stay with us. We also have wonderful and award-winning hotels in Tagaytay, a lake side community just an hour away from Manila, and Boracay island where our Discovery Shores resort is recognized as one of the world's best by Travel and Leisure Magazine.

Warm regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Spent a night with my better half to celebrate my birthday. Big mistake was we drove our brand new suv not knowing that the basement parking lot driveway curves were so narrow even a mini cooper would have a difficulty navigating them. It took 2 or 3 backing up and forth to make a curve... and we had to park all the way down to the 3rd basement. What a hassle.

Booked a Junior Suite Room... it's so small they should've named it a Standard Room. The amenities were average, not the luxury hype I heard about this hotel. Small bathtub. Overall it's an old hotel that needs a renovation.

Next year we're going back to our favorite Ortigas hotel which is the Edsa Shangri-la. Better choice in that area if you're celebrating a special occasion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyTraveller555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel was conveniently located to my office while on business travel. The suites are spacious and well-kept. Staff are friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was not impressive. My main complaint was that the room was very dark. I was facing a concrete wall and there was just no light coming into my room which gives me memories of a dreary few days in Manila. This hotel is fine if you are working as it has all the conveniences you will need - free wi-fi in the room, desk, etc. Also just across from a mall and a few blocks from a major shopping center, both with plenty of dining options.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claraloiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear claraloiza,

Thank you very much for your post!

We also appreciate your constructive inputs. We actually have more suites that have windows and great city views. However, these are the ones that get reserved and booked early.

If ever you do find yourself back in Manila, send us an e-mail so we can make arrangements for you to get a bright, cheery suite with a view.

Sincerely,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasig hotels
0.3 mi away
Marco Polo Ortigas Manila
0.3 mi away
The Linden Suites
The Linden Suites
#8 of 21 in Pasig
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oakwood Premier Joy - Nostalg Center Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Richmonde Hotel Ortigas
0.9 mi away
Privato Hotel Manila
Privato Hotel Manila
#5 of 21 in Pasig
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Manila Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines

Property: Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines
Address: 25 Adb Ave | Ortigas Center, Pasig, Luzon 1605, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Pasig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pasig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 45 minutes from the Ninoy Aquino International Airport, and 30 minutes from Makati City, Discovery Suites is centrally located in the dynamic Ortigas Business District. It is also within walking distance from the Asian Development Bank, BPO companies and upscale shopping malls. The all-suite property features spacious One, Two and Three-Bedroom accommodations, each furnished with modern hotel conveniences such as high-speed internet connection for unlimited devices, access to 3500 online publications via the PressReader application, cable TV, iPod docking stations, air-conditioning and fully-furnished kitchenettes. Other amenities include an exclusive gym, a business center, children's playroom, meeting and function rooms, 24-hour security, laundry, car rental and housekeeping services. Restaurant 5 offers food fare for casual dining, the award-winning 22Prime features U.S. Prime streaks, and the Serendipity Lounge offers cocktails and relaxing lounge entertainment with a panoramic view of the city. Room Service is also available 24 hours. Complimentary Wi-Fi access is provided in all restaurant outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Pasig
Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines Metro Manila/Pasig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing