We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines
Nearby Hotels
$192
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Planet Ortigas(Pasig)(Great Value!)
$37
$24
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$106
$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Studio 18 Residences(Pasig)(Great Value!)
$38
$34
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$27
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$93
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (882)
Filter reviews
882 results
Traveler rating
433
319
81
28
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
433
319
81
28
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbirthday bannerpodium mallwelcome homebedroom suitesm megamallcakebreakfast buffetbusiness tripbubble bathlate checkguest servicessecond homefamily staycationmicrowave ovendining tablepleasant staycourteous staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
754 - 759 of 882 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2012

They (Hotel Management) call it "home". Everyone welcomes you with "welcome home" and I liked that.
The staff was very courteous and always willing & welcoming. An odd girl at the reception was snooty---maybe she did not understand English.
The room was comfortable, with complimentary water bottles and fruit (only on the first day). Complimentary newspaper was delivered.
Bathroom was good and so were the Kitchenette and the sitting room.
The breakfast was pathetic----one it had a lot of food items and that too mostly pork related. They did not have enough breakfast items--just two or three. The breads were, apart from one, really bad. Omlette was pork filled. The only thing I could eat were fried eggs and toast.
Fresh Fruits were present but not adequate.
I agree with Inverloch that “Please, please improve your breakfast and you would be perfect!”
The Spa was good and service was good but all curtains , sheets, carpets etc were old----They said they were in the process of replacing them.
There was a perpetual stink that is typical of old hotels....I have smelt it at other places----the same was covering the whole hotel. This smell is not reduced by sprays or perfumes and spreads at all places. It is because of the old furniture and cutains etc.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room with a view. The ones having no view are hell and claustrophobic even for people who do not suffer from claustrophobia.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear n_b,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your observations of the hotel.

We are currently working with our culinary team to determine how we can enhance the breakfast experience at Restaurant 5. In fact, for the past few weeks, we have noticed that quite a number have expressed satisfaction with the changes we have made to our morning selections.

The have recently released to the public one more floor of newly-renovated rooms. We now have a total of 80 brand new / updated suites which are at par, if not – even better in terms of size and amenities, than the regular hotel suites in the area. We call them the Serendipity Suites. We trust that when you are able to return to Manila, please book our Serendipity suite so you can experience a different kind of hospitality.

Again, please know that we truly appreciate all your inputs and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Manila

Yours truly,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom room. It was a large room with a kitchenette, fridge, dining room and living room. There was plenty of closet and cabinet space. We were given complimentary water bottles and had fresh fruit. The breakfast had good selections everyday and the service was only too happy to comply with any request for tea, fresh mango, whatever. Our kids loved the pool. We stayed 3 nights and traveled around the country and returned for another 2 nights. We were so happy to return here after staying at other places. We asked for a late checkout on our last day as well as asked them to store our luggage until it was time to go. They were so accommodating! The location is also fantastic-across the street from Podium Mall, within walking distance to St. Francis and Megamall, McD's, Shakey's Pizza, 7-11, all kinds of places to eat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with newer flat panel TV's.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msab21_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear msab21_10:

Greetings from Discovery Suites.

Thank you for your post! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us.
Your positive comments will only fuel our associates to continue rendering the best service for our guests. He hope to have you with us again. You will always have a home in Discovery Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Serendipity Suites were just lovely. We loved the big rooms, beautiful bathrooms, great modern kitchen. Everything was new and immaculately clean. Other amenities like the gym and pool were great. However, my one complaint is the breakfast. Everyone who stays in a hotel looks forward to this meal and sadly, the breakfast was disappointing. I remember my previous stay when breakfast was on the 22nd floor - it was fantastic! This time aside from the buffet having a small selection, I found the breads dry and stale, the fruits tasteless, the tapa, longganisa too oily, the rice overcooked and dry. There was no variety - same banana bread everyday, same watermelon, pineapple, papaya... How about getting new suppliers for bread and fruit? I stayed in the hotel for 10 days, so my observations are not based on a one or two day experience. Food and Beverage should look into this matter seriously. Hey, a good breakfast is simple to organise. Please, please improve your breakfast and your hotel will be just perfect!!!!

Room Tip: For a little extra choose the newly refurbished Serendipity Suites.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inverloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear aaz2082,

Greetings from Discovery Suites.

We truly appreciate the time you spent to let us know about your stay with us.

You will be happy to know that our kitchen team is currently working on adding more variety to our breakfast selections.

Regarding our guest lifts, we expect the situation to improve significantly once maintenance work on one of the elevators is complete.

Thank you for staying with us and we trust that you will give us the privilege of providing for your accommodations when you return to Manila.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed here from 24th June to 30th June. It was in close proximity with seminar venue I'm attending.

Positive points:
1. Very clean room. Only complaint was that the TV channels in my room was not functioning properly.
2. Close walking distance to The Podium and SM Megamall. McDonalds, Starbucks and a 7-11 outlet was within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel.
3. Very courteous hotel staff.

Negative points:
1. Rather small breakfast venue at the 5th floor. Heavy crowd between 7am to 8am. Service crew was rather slow in clearing the tables.
2. Lifts are a bit slow during peak hours, but this is a minor issue for me.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaz2082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Dear aaz2082,

Greetings from Discovery Suites!

We truly appreciate the time you spent to let us know about your stay with us.

You will be happy to know that our kitchen team is currently working on adding more variety to our breakfast selections.

Regarding our guest lifts, we expect the situation to improve significantly once maintenance work on one of the elevators is complete.

Thank you for staying with us and we trust that you will give us the privilege of providing for your accommodations when you return to Manila.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This hotel is beautiful tower located on the center of the city. Almost everything is at walking distance: restaurants, banks, coffee... My office was right around the corner which made it even easier. They have a gym a swimmimg pool and good food with several restaurants and areas you can meet with people on. The rooms were very well maintained. Many details. Only bad thing was that free wifi was not included inside the bedrooms. But we managed with the free wifi of the hall way and the other areas.

Room Tip: Since this is such amazing tower... The great thing about it is to get the bedrooms located on the higher floors.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vielka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Kiko D,

Thanks so much for letting us know about your experience at Discovery Suites. I hope you and your family enjoyed your brief stay in Manila. Let us know if you are coming back and stay at our newly-renovated Serendipity Suites.

Cheers!

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews