We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and good food”
Review of Hotel Jen Manila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Jen Manila
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Pasay
Certificate of Excellence
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Convenient location and good food”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hotel is convenient for the airport and trips to the museums at Rizal park and the historic Intramuros area, it's a little further to the malls of Makati but Mall of Asia is fairly close by. I didn't like our initial room allocation it was very tired looking despite being "deluxe" and wasn't fully set up (no menu, orientation cards etc); credit to the staff even though it was late we did manage to swap to a much nicer refurbished room.
The breakfast buffet and the Japanese restaurant were both very good. We didn't use the pool but it is quite small. We had a problem with the TV even after it was fixed, we had to unplug it to get it to go off. Free wifi was very good.
Why just an average review? I chose this hotel because of a stay at the Traders in Kuala Lumpur, that one was slick and glossy with a very buzzy bar and lots of other facilities and I was expecting similar here. This one is much more low key but a decent base. I didn't pick a Club room as we were just on a quick stop over but it would probably be a good choice as the Club lounge is the only public area on the top floor - with the view over Manila bay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsstarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    374
    107
    36
    22
See reviews for
169
210
132
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights middle of Feb. 2014. Location of hotel is good as cabs are very cheap and close to main attractions. A 2-5 usd fare would take you a long ways. Suggest if possible to tour city on a Sunday other wise traffic is terrible slow. View from the room facing the harbor was super, higher the room the better. We were not comfortable walking outside of the hotel property at night. Breakfast was best by using buffet as staff could not figure out the menu and how to order...Japanese restaurant was awesome and we got to meet the Head chef "Hero". Overall we found the Hotel to be tired and in need of a makeover. Pool area is just Ok and very bare. Linens were not white anymore and were a light grey in color. Hotel is used by lots of tour companies and lobby can become very busy with the Chinese guests. We went to Mall of Asia for Dinner a few times as cabs were 2 usd and 197 places to eat. Hotel security is great and they take your safety very serious and only allow certain cabs. We just couldn't get excited with this hotel and would try another in the future. Staff were just doing there job with no emotion or enthusiasm, Traffic noise is very loud and we were on the 14 th floor...

Room Tip: .Higher is better, however a good view of the harbor brings all the traffic noise. i would ask if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I had an excellent stay at the hotel. Services and food are very good with lots of choices. Rooms are clean with lots of amenities. Check out the suite room. Going to recommend to friends if they want to stay in Manila.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vrodneymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stay was excellent! Staff friendly and helpful. Food good as well. Love the bathroom products! The bottle of wine at check-in and daily fresh fruits was awesome! Wish room would have had floating bathtub though. Lounge was wonderful, and evening cocktails and snacks awesome! Felt pampered and welcome.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Carla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and was very happy with it, The rooms are big and comfortable. breakfast and staff and very good. The location for me was good as I did not want to go to any shopping malls but if you do you could find a hotel with a better location. I walked to Rizal Park, about 20-25 minutes, and if you want to go to the old town or Chinatown they are a bit further on past Rizal Park, you could get a taxi there and go around at your own leisure. I did a city tour, and it was all mostly near to this hotel, first at the area around Coconut Palace, very close, and then at the old town. When it finished I got dropped off at Rizal Park on the way back and walked back to the hotel. Nothing to dislike about it and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed over Christmas and had paid for the club rooms. We can't fault anything. Staff were very courteous and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable with a view over the bay.
Breakfast was prepared to our liking and a good array of snacks and drinks available at "sunset cocktails" in the club lounge. If we are being super critical then the pool area could do with a bit of livening up and a bit of TLC.
We would stay again and would recommend The Traders.

Room Tip: Book a club room and you get the extras along with a room on the 17th to 19th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howardsway58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Overall great place to stay. Staff is top notch, you feel secure and catered to and they have a unique way of making you feel special. Amenities could use an upgrade, but would still highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the apartment complex next door offer more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Heritage Hotel Manila
2.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia
1.3 mi away
The Henry Hotel Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Mabuhay Manor
The Mabuhay Manor
#7 of 31 in Pasay
953 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel 101 Manila
Hotel 101 Manila
#13 of 31 in Pasay
110 reviews
1.9 mi away
Conrad Manila
Conrad Manila
#3 of 31 in Pasay
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Manila

Property: Hotel Jen Manila
Address: 3001 Roxas Boulevard, Pasay, Luzon 1305, Philippines (Formerly Traders Hotel, Manila)
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Pasay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pasay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Manila 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 20 minutes from Ninoy Aquino International Airport, Traders Hotel, Manila offers 312 spacious rooms and suites with panoramic views of Manila Bay and the Roxas Boulevard. The hotel is adjacent to the capital’s premier conference and exhibition centers, a few minutes from Manila’s finest leisure, entertainment and shopping districts and a short drive to the business district of Makati. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Jen Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Manila Hotel Pasay
Traders Hotel Pasay
Hotel Jen Manila Pasay, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing