We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Hotel Jen Manila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Jen Manila
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Pasay
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was hesitant when I read some of the bad reviews on this hotel. But I am glad we decided to stay at Traders. We booked three rooms at the 18th floor for a week starting June 4, 2013. Spectacular view, especially ftom the 19th floor Lounge. The staff is very courteous and the service was excellent. They try their best to please their customers. Thanks to Diane, the front desk manager, and Justine at the lounge, their service was outstanfing. Highly recommend the hotel for the nusiness travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohdriad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    374
    107
    36
    22
See reviews for
169
210
132
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vadodara, India
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Traders is a good 4 star hotel situated in a good location around bars and shops, but area is not as good as Makati.
Rooms are fairly big and good amenities. Rooms need urgent renovation.
We have not utilized any services hence no comment except good buffet breakfast.
Efficient front desk and service is flawless.
Good place for a 2-3 nights stay. Mall of Asia is near to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasOommen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
765 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Maybe Traders does not have all the fanfare at the entrance, like greeting you with a high hat bellhop to open the doors, but it certainly has everything you need in terms of facilities and good service. The very well trained front desk staff (Justine, et al.) receive you with open hearts and immediately apologize for the renovations taking place in the hotel, including the swimming pool, but hasten to tell you that they have arrangements with the nearby Sofitel hotel for you to use theirs. The lobby is not imposing, but who cares after I was directed to my room on the VIP 18th floor and told that I am entitled to use the all day lounge on the 19th floor where a well trained and elegant staff welcomes guests, and you can snack on sweet delicacies and fresh beautifully arranged exotic fruits of the Philippines.

My room was spacious, maintained by meticulous housekeepers who make sure the room is kept spotlessly clean and that sheets and down bed covers are changed daily as well as your bath robes. The bathroom has a large, deep tub (unlike the super luxurious Sofitel which features miserable shower heads in their rooms at almost double the price). The air conditioning is a little noisy, but that is actually an advantage since it muffles any noisy activity coming from the hallway. Their restaurant is honestly and moderately priced and their buffet (for under 20 dollars) offers a variety of local and international foods whether it be breakfast or dinner. For breakfast, there are made to order omelets, smoked fish, American style waffles and pancakes, plus fresh fruit and Asiatic congees. Dinner is more elaborate with such choices as local fresh fish and giant shrimp which you pick from a raw selection that is then cooked to your desired taste and spiciness. Traders is good and well worth your money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabykouchacji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iloilo City, Phils
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed overnight on the 8th floor suite. The view is perfect, the CCP and the Manila Bay. The room is big enough, huge tv in the living room and another a little smaller (32") tv in the bedroom. Walk in closet, powder room, and the bathroom with rainshower and bath tub. Mini bar fully stocked, strong wifi connection. This is a good place for business travelers. I noticed 3 wide desks where you can plan out your day. Office table complete with basic needs is perfectly situated near the floor-to-ceiling window. Good sleep only woke up sneezing. Maybe the carpet was not cleaned well, smells quite old. Breakfast buffet so-so.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rj_travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Traders hotel Manila has a very good location immediately fronting the majestic Cultural Center of the Philippines and Aliw theater and Star city complex. It is part of the Shangrila group of hotels.

Yet it panics when they become full. Services and sensitivity to the guest needs is almost lost when busy....
my experience april 14 to 17 as follows:
* they may have more smoking rooms than non smoking because they all gave us smoking rooms to our group of definitely non smokers
* breakfast area could not accommodate all diners
A bad experience we had when we lost 2 items and also charged for 2 bottled water we did not use, when we complained, the front desk lady just said sorry for the inconvenience not to look at it or at least inquire and investigate.about it.
The front desk even has a tripadvisor logo on the front desk

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed here for a week in a Club Room on the 17th Floor. First comments are positive - almost all the staff were wonderful, not in your face Ronald MacDonald types, but always had a smile and a greeting. They also worked hard on breakfast service in the Club, but I found when I tried the Latitudes Restaurant for breakfast one morning (for a change) that it was chaotic and after being seated (asked for a quiet spot and was put right by the stairs and next to one of the food stations), I was asked if I wanted coffee. I said yes and waited, and waited and waited. Eventually asked another waitress who acknowledged me, but then went straight back to greeting guests at the entrance and did nothing about getting me a drink. I saw glasses and food types run out regularly in the short time I waited there. I did give up and retreated upstairs to the lounge. This was, however, the only negative service interaction I had.

Negatives - terrible idea of what scrambled eggs should be - ordered with some cheese and onion and was given a slop. There is no other word to describe it. It didn't even appear to be runny from the cheese, it was just uncooked. It came to the table (in the Club lounge) on a plate without any hash browns or bacon (as outlined on the table menu). I couldn't eat it. After this, I only ordered the pancakes which were perfect every day - couldn't be faulted.
- Bathroom in my Club Room was tiny - so small that the door slams into the bath when you try and open it;
- Road noise, all the way up on the 17th floor, was horrendous - no wonder when you consider the hotel is virtually on top of a major intersection with probably 6 lanes going in one direction, 6 in the other and the cross streets having 3 and 3 each way. Honking and sirens day and night - I always carry ear plugs, but if you don't and you're a light sleeper - you're in deep trouble trying to sleep at this hotel;
- One night I received a slip under the door saying the next morning there was an annual maintenance to occur for 4 hours from 6.30am to 10.30am. No water, no power (except emergency lighting), no air conditioning, no tv. As a result, breakfast was difficult and starting the day without a shower was unpleasant. Surely this 'maintenance' could have been scheduled for some time other than when everyone is starting their days? This appears to be a very business oriented hotel in other ways, but this maintenance activity doesn't reflect that;
- Swimming Pool area a total turn off. Walked out and looked at it and walked right back inside - it has nothing to offer and looks like it needs to be completely re-vamped to make it appealing;
- Gymnasium - very basic, windows in front of the treadmills look out over the roof turbines (for a/c I think) - very unattractive. 2 treadmills, 2 bikes, 1 cross-trainer and some weights - that's it;
- Hotel is in 'no man's land' - there is no nearby restaurant precinct for anyone other than the locals. Harbour Square (over the road, all 500 lanes of it and down the street a bit) is very targeted at the locals, all the restaurants are based around local tastes; beggars in the streets surrounding the hotel - not pleasant to walk out of doors except to get in a cab.

All in all, I wouldn't stay here again. The staff were wonderful in general but the negatives were too numerous.

Room Tip: Bring your own earplugs. Harbour view are nice if you block your ears.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zeddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

we spent one night here in May last year before we flew back to the UK after our visit to the Philippines, I have to say I don't think we will be going back, we were in a room on the 5th floor which would be no problem if the lift didn't take 15 minutes to finally reach the Ground floor, the rooms were clean and way bigger than we actually needed however we were roadside and getting any sleep was impossible, we phoned reception and asked if we could move to another room as we had to be up at 4.30 am but were told it would cost an extra one thousand peso to do so. All in all if you stay here ask for a room away from the road or bring earplugs!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Heritage Hotel Manila
2.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia
1.3 mi away
The Henry Hotel Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Mabuhay Manor
The Mabuhay Manor
#7 of 31 in Pasay
953 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel 101 Manila
Hotel 101 Manila
#13 of 31 in Pasay
110 reviews
1.9 mi away
Conrad Manila
Conrad Manila
#3 of 31 in Pasay
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Manila

Property: Hotel Jen Manila
Address: 3001 Roxas Boulevard, Pasay, Luzon 1305, Philippines (Formerly Traders Hotel, Manila)
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Pasay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pasay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Manila 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 20 minutes from Ninoy Aquino International Airport, Traders Hotel, Manila offers 312 spacious rooms and suites with panoramic views of Manila Bay and the Roxas Boulevard. The hotel is adjacent to the capital’s premier conference and exhibition centers, a few minutes from Manila’s finest leisure, entertainment and shopping districts and a short drive to the business district of Makati. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Jen Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Manila Hotel Pasay
Traders Hotel Pasay
Hotel Jen Manila Pasay, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing