We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The King and I” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newport Performing Arts Theater

Newport Performing Arts Theater
Ranked #9 of 27 things to do in Pasay
Attraction details
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The King and I”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very organized,no dramas..Clean and very close location to hotels,airport and church. Quite an experience and very accommodating staff, smiling and polite.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dxb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    19
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice, new, and wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

A great place to enjoy concert, and other performing acts.
One thing, bring extra jacket..very cold.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank abingsyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great place to catch a show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

There are no bad seats in this theater and the sound is really good too. The only thing that is a bit annoying is that they search your bags for..... bottles of water and for food. They even wanted to confiscate my daughter's candy, which we had just bought in the mall earlier to take home.
If you order and pay tickets online, be prepared to still spend quite some time on the picking up process. They are very slow.....

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Conihor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

"The Sound of Music" production was excellent, because of the superb Filipino performers and the wonderful theater venue. The seats are comfortable and the acoustics marvelous.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nav795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Cirque Mother Africa”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Was so looking forward to this show and bought tickets for the first/opening night show. As this is not the first time my family and I to this venue, we made sure we are in good time. A lot of people were already queuing at around 7:45pm since the show is supposed to start at 8pm. 8pm came and we all are still waiting for the ushers (who never said anything why) to let us in. At around 8:15 did they opened the doors and slowly let everybody in.

We again waited for the show to start for about 10 minutes when one announced that due to technical problems the show will be delayed for 15 minutes. It came and went and show did not start and nobody knew what was going on. Everybody started asking ushers who had nothing to tell us, then some started clapping and still nothing..

More than an hour passed when the curtain was finally lifted and as expected the audience were no longer that receptive. It took about 20 minutes before there was a response and rapport between the performers and audience.

It is a pity since the show is beautiful and the performers quiet sincere in their performance. And since it was getting late than we expected, my daughter fell asleep halfway..

Maybe a good idea to have the venue better prepared and if there are snags or reasons for it to be delayed or anything, somebody or organizers to be visible to inform whatever is happening?

BUT all in all, this is a great place to watch performances and is still looking forward to future shows. AND hopefully, better coordination with technical, performers and the audience...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LolaMamou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newport Performing Arts Theater also viewed

 

Been to Newport Performing Arts Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing