We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose this hotel as your last resort.”
Review of Remington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Remington Hotel
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Pasay
Manila
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Choose this hotel as your last resort.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was not expecting much for this hotel since I got it at a very low rate, approximately PHP2200 a night. BUT this hotel has so much more room for improvement.

Reasons to stay away.

1. The room key kept malfunctioning! On DAY 2 of our stay, we couldn't use the key in the elevator so we then proceeded to the front desk to get it reprogrammed. So the room key worked in the elevator, it opened the door to our room BUT when we stuck it in the slot for the room (to get the electricity to work), it did not work. We then called front desk and asked for assistance but no one came after 15 minutes of waiting so we went down to the front desk to get help. We thought that the room key incident would be resolved after that. The staff also reminded us not to put it beside the cellphone but we know about this already since we travel a lot. On DAY 3, I made sure that the key was kept far away from my phone but while in the elevator, it happened again! I couldn't press the floor of our room. So I went back to the front desk and had it reprogrammed AGAIN! This time, I asked someone to accompany me to our room in case the key didn't work in the room. It worked but for my husband, he couldn't get the key to work as well. So I had to go down and get him. On Day 4, my husband couldn't get inside the room with the key. Good thing I was inside so I opened it for him. On ALL days of our stay (except the first day), the room key malfunctioned at least once. This was very very INCONVENIENT especially when you had a long day and just want to rest.

2. You can't adjust the temperature of the air con! It's set at 21 degrees Celsius so it can get very cold! When we asked housekeeping if they could adjust it, they said to just turn off the air con. Meaning, I have to keep turning the air con on and off during the night. And whenever we did turn off the air con, the room would become very stuffy and humid. We all got allergies from staying there. Not once did I get a good night's sleep.

3.There are very few lights in the room and only 1 very dim light in the bathroom. Not very well lit.

4. There's not even one chair in the room.

5. Why are there ants in the room???

I knew I was paying for a no frills hotel so I wasn't expecting much at all but I was expecting to be able to enter my room whenever I want. It is clean though, the staff are friendly, and the rooms are quite spacious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dess806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    292
    461
    227
    184
See reviews for
324
319
190
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Was allowed to check-in a little bit early than the standard time. I appreciated this very much.High-security; card key provided to use elevator which can deter unwanted visitors. Basic clean room facilities. Loved the Vendo machines on what I assume are placed on each floor.Flooring becomes slippery in the early morning. Good for overnight to 3 nights stay. Has free airport shuttle. Fast Wi-Fi. Price of Buffet Breakfast at the Hawker's Stall is reasonable and has wonderful choices. My overnight stay in this hotel was wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction area that makes a lot of booming sounds now and then.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cesusama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel the night before our flight back to the US. We chose this hotel because it is really close to the airport and is cheaper compared to the other hotels in the Resort World, Manila and airport transfer is free. Our Hotel room is big and clean, but less amenities. It has 2 double beds and a small bathroom. Bed is comfortable to sleep in, which is the most important thing when one is tired.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JhuliaBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
183 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Remington hotel is located beside the famous Resorts World Manila and across from NAIA terminal 3. The building houses a 7-11 and a McDonald's. It has a big expansive lobby and the front desk is manned by quite a number of personnel attending to guest.

As the lobby is huge, the rooms are quite the opposite. The room is smaller compared to your usual hotel size. it has 2 queen sized bed and a flat screen TV mounted on the wall. A ledge was installed by the window to serve as your desk/table. a hole in the wall was made to serve as your closet.

The room is airconditioned, a remote control is provided but doesn't work. A complaint with housekeeping was answered with thermostat and fan speed are preset and can not be adjusted. Makes you wonder why they leave the remote with you if you can not adjust the aircon to your preference.

The Bed is big and firm but comfortable. Providing a good comfortable sleep.

The toilet and bath maybe small but it has strong water supply both HOT and Cold. A Bidet is also installed. Soap, shampoo, Toothbrush and toothpaste is also provided. No free coffee or tea or water heater is provided

Each floor has a lobby where 2 vending machines, 1 for drinks and the other for snacks are located. Tables and chairs are also present in each lobby floor. Lobby floors and hallways are not airconditioned.

At the ground floor lobby is a newly open dining restaurant that has a buffet spread with very extensive choicest. Filipino, Chinese, and Japanese dishes dominate the menu but there are also western dishes to choose from. From appetizers to dessert, choicest are available. Grand opening price is peg at 609.00 pesos (lunch) or approximately US$15.

Parking fee is 100 pesos for 24 hrs provided you get a validation from front desk otherwise, parking fee is expensive. another option is to get a free parking voucher from the casino nearby, provided you play.

If you are in transit and need a place to stay for a night or 2. Remington Hotel will be a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davehwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, availed of their online booking promo for resorts world members. Got the room at a low price but without breakfast. Early check in not allowed to guests even just 5mins before 2pm. They provide wifi pass/ticket everyday but the internet connection is poor inside the room. The room is kinda small but with 2 double beds inside. Toilet and bath is also small. There's a construction going on outside the hotel so expect some noise from early in the morning til night time and dont expect to see a pleasant view, but still
request an outer room with
window. Location wise, its good since there's a Mc Donalds on the same building and also 7-11.and you just have to cross the street to get to Newport mall. We enjoyed the cinema there and variety of restaurant. Will be staying there again if they will have another promo by the yearend. Coz I think it will just be until august. By the way, expect many people staying here coz this hotel is the crowd's fave for those who come to gamble in the casino at resorts world and also for those who come and goes to the airport just across the road.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truffles101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Booked through a cruise company and got an excellent deal. However, upon checking in, discovered that the room does not ventilate well and there is a constant condensation on the floor tiles. The door and lift card system does not seem to work and make constant trips to the front office to reprogram the card. Overall, it is a budget hotel which is located next to Manila International Airport and Resorts World Casino.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel has about 700 rooms. they have an apartment style room, and a hotel room all under 5,000 pesos. Keep in mind that they are always fully booked! The rooms are very very ordinary, small bathroom but once again you're only here to sleep. The lobby looks so nice, so i was expecting a nice room too. but it was the total opposite. The hotel is located in new port. its a huge compound. just outside the Remington Hotel you have McDonald and 7-Eleven. and if you walk straight, there is a pedestrian crossing you can find resort world, where there is a huge casino and hi-end shops. Resort wold is connected to the Marriot Hotel and Maxis hotel which are 5 and 6 star hotels. There is no free breakfast in this hotel, and no ammonites

Resort world world has a big casino, and lots of shops as I mentioned. The shops they have at resort are Apple, The face shop, Mango, Charles and Keith, Adidas, Anne Klein, la senza, Sunglass Hut. Just to name a few. the shops open at 12:00pm and close at 12:00 mid night.
They also have 4 movie theaters, and a game zoo (game zone) for kids when the parents are in the casino. :P

The room was clean, with all the basic bottled water, slippers, toothbrush, toothpaste, hand soap and a safe. One problem I had was i can't change the temperature of the Aircon. the temperature is 21, and you can't change it. so i ended up turning off the air-con during the middle of the night cause i was freezing cold! I had no problem with Wifi, there wifi was fast and i did not notice any cut off of my internet what so ever.

If you are worried about where to eat there are lots of restaurants in the Resort world, and they are not that expensive, lots of Chinese food.

We stayed faced the road, and honestly it was just noisy in the morning just minimal though, we stayed at the 10th floor (their last floor) so its that noisy as the floors bellow.

Honestly you are not paying for the room but you are paying for the ammonites around. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChantelPickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pasay
0.3 mi away
Belmont Hotel Manila
0.2 mi away
Manila Marriott Hotel
1.6 mi away
Go Hotels Manila Airport Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Mabuhay Manor
The Mabuhay Manor
#7 of 31 in Pasay
924 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maxims Hotel - Resorts World Manila
1.8 mi away
Kabayan Hotel Pasay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remington Hotel

Property: Remington Hotel
Address: Newport Blvd, Pasay, Luzon 1309, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Pasay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Pasay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Remington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 712
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Remington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Remington Hotel Pasay, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing