We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Austere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Remington Hotel Manila
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Pasay
Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you are looking for an austere cell block of questionable cleanliness, this is the place to go. Enter through the metal detectors and let the guards rifle through your luggage before you are assigned your cell block. There is nothing charming about this place. Don't be fooled by the photos, it is bleak. Fortunately, we were only stuck there one night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cynex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,060 - 1,066 of 1,331 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

First, employees or crews are not helpful at all,Im none smoking and they gave a smoking area,
before that they gave a room that for disabled people,after 5minutes a crew knock on the door telling me that they will move me in the different room, and room was so dusty the washroom was so dirty too.Not only they all the employees around that day are not helpful specially the lady in the counter (RECEPTIONIST) I was so upset the way they threat me,as a filipino i don't deserve how they treathed me that time.

Room Tip: I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I chose the Remington Hotel because of its location next to NAIA Terminal Three and the free shuttle service to NAIA.

The hotel is big and set up for one night stays for those arriving and departing from the airport. The rooms are large, clean, with good showers. My room had two Queen size beds. There is a large flat screen TV on the wall and that is about it. Nothing that needs checking and delay the checkout process.

Buffet breakfast is available at 400+ Pesos. I did not use it and I think the advertised price was 490 Pesos.

The hotel will look after a bag for free. Very useful to leave some luggage as the checked in baggage limit for my flight to Palawan was 50% of that on the International flight to the Philippines.

When I booked the hotel offered free wifi internet access. This stopped on 31st December and they started charging. These days all hotels should offer free wifi, especially if aiming to capture the business traveller. I just used the free wifi available at Bo's and the restaurants round the Star Cruises building.

The room doors are unlocked with programmed plastic cards which are also required to operate the lift to any floor except ground. These are temperamental and it was third time lucky before I got working cards. Whilst in theory the card should restrict my access to the 7th floor, a stairwell next to the lifts meant I could have reached other floors if I wanted which negated it's security function.

The hourly airport shuttle is not 24/7, unlike to the rest of Resorts World. I could not understand the logic. The shuttle started calling at The Remington at 8am. I never noted the time of the last shuttle.

There is a McDonalds on the corner of the Remington building. Bo's (open 24/7), Shakey's and other restaurants and two banks (BDO ATM) are available round the base of the Star Cruises building across the car park. Resorts World Newport City contains the Casino and high end fashion shops along with a selection of restaurants and Bank ATMs.

Booking this hotel was an expensive mistake, though I did warm to it a bit towards the end of my stay. Part of my rationale for booking was to minimise use of the Manila Taxis. Only the Yellow Airport taxi would not use the meter and overcharged about three times what I should have paid. All white taxis used the meter without being asked and because of that got a generous tip. For future visits to Manila I will return to the City Garden Suites in Malate, nicer and cheaper even with the expensive taxi.

Room Tip: Don't bother, except for one night if using the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steam2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The room is very basic, there was no dresser, nor a single chair to sit on, just the beds, a long table beside the glass window, a television and telephone.The room temperature was set to 21C. A remote control for the aircon was available, but it's just basically to turn it off or on. Basic toiletries like toothbrush, toothpaste, soap, slippers and towels, plus a 3-in-1 shower gel/shampoo/conditioner in a dispenser at the shower were provided. The bathroom was perfectly clean, but i found some water leaking on the floor on the opposite side of the shower area, which must have come from the other room's bathroom. Internet/ wifi was free. The location of this hotel is perfect if you'll be staying for a night. Overall, since it is beside Resorts World, you are actually just paying for the location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinkerbell_rph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed in this hotel and all I can say is it sucks bigtime!!! Not worth the money at all. So don't even bother to consider staying in this hotel if you don't want to regret it. Too much hassle...Moving rooms and takes forever to settle the account. Not really worth for the price they are asking. Facilities sucks!!!! A/C is good to have in the room but for Gods sake, do you have plans of having frozen guest in the morning??! It's way too cold and there's no way you can adjust it.!!!

All in all?? My stay there sucks!!! Too much stress for us. Not a good place to stay. If I'm coming back in this place again, never will I consider staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann_40085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in January 2013 at a cost of around £240 GBP / $380 US. I like some other people before entering this hotel was concerned due to the bad reviews of what to expect from this hotel. I expected a nightmare to be honest but what I received was nowhere near as bad as what I experienced. The entrance to the hotel is well decorated and here I do agree that this is probably the best part of the hotel. The hotel is right opposite the entrance to the Resorts World Mall and Casino and the hotel itself has a McDonalds less than 30 metres from the entrance and a 7/11. Tip - try the Chicken in McDonalds, it's very good! I preferred this to KFC in fact.

I stayed on a smoking floor with a room facing the airport. This is one of the best points in fact. The hotel is right opposite the entrance to terminal 3. The taxi fare is about 60 pesos so this is less than £1 GPB / $1.60 US excluding tip. Ok back to the room, I expected the room to smell of stale smoke but in actual fact it wasn't actually that bad. Yes the corridors are warm and are not air conditioned and some people have complained about this, but how much of your time are you actually going to be spending in the corridors??? The room had 2 double beds. It doesn't have a table as such but it has like a ledge against the window that is more than enough space to place some of your personal belongings. The hotel doesn't encourage people to eat in their rooms and prefers you to eat on the tables in the common areas located by the elevators.

There is no shower gel / shampoo provided but they do provide you with toothbrushes, toothpaste and bottled water. The TV is wall mounted and it's pot luck if the safe works. If it doesn't work then place your valuables in your suitcase and keep them safe there. I left my laptop / camera / tablet all on the ledge and it was still there at the end of my trip. What I'm trying to say here is the hotel is perfectly safe.

The bathroom itself, toilet worked fine, the sink area was OK but the shower are was small. It is like a 1M X 1M but it's big enough for one person. If you're planning to have a shared shower with someone or you're a relatively bigger person, then you probably won't find it comfortable using this. There is only one light in the bathroom and it does mean that when the shower curtain is closed, it does make it slightly dark in the shower cubicle. I would deem it acceptable where others might not.

The beds were more harder than what some hotels would provide but these are meant to be better for your back. The pillows are quite high but with there being 2 double beds, you might find one that is more suitable. The room temperature is controlled by the hotel set at 21 degrees. You have a control but you are unable to change the temperature. You can only turn it on and off. If you do find that it gets too cold during the night, then turn the air con off. This did the trick for us.

If you find that after reading my review, you feel that your're better off staying elsewhere, then you have Maxims and Marriot all on the same complex. If I were to go back to Resorts World Manila again for the same period of time I will probably try elsewhere, but for a one night stop over then yes I would.

The internet is not free anymore. It costs anything up to 300 pesos for 24 hours worth of internet over a 48 hour period. There are cheaper options but the internet worked fine.

I did come across a dead cockroach in the corridor on the last night. This is just pure unlucky as in a hot country especially in Asia, cockroaches are everywhere and you will find them in the top 5 star hotels just as often as you will in the Remington.

If you do go to Manila for a stopover and not really planning to venture out to the main areas, stay here and pay a visit to the casino.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window facing the airport. You get to see the planes weeeeeee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mlee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Location wise, it would have been perfect. Services? Comfort? Reliability? Forget it. There's hardly anything nice for this hotel except where it is. Cheap rates, cheap rooms. I was not impressed by the "newness" of the hotel. It felt cold. Breakfast was awful. You had coffee in coffee cups literally.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunsetLover0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasay hotels
0.3 mi away
Belmont Hotel Manila
0.2 mi away
Manila Marriott Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Mabuhay Manor
The Mabuhay Manor
#7 of 33 in Pasay
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Heritage Hotel Manila
2.1 mi away
88 Courtyard Hotel
88 Courtyard Hotel
#12 of 33 in Pasay
212 reviews
2.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remington Hotel Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remington Hotel Manila

Address: Newport Blvd, Pasay, Luzon 1309, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Pasay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Pasay
Price Range: $72 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Remington Hotel Manila 3*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is conveniently located only 10 min from the NAIA Terminal 3 and the classy Resorts World Manila mall is only across the road. Also Manila's famous financial district of Makati is only 6.5km and the lifestyle area of Bonifacio Global City is 8km away. Remington Hotel provides shuttle service hourly to all the 3 terminals while a separate special shuttle to The Runway with direct access to NAIA Terminal 3 is on request. The hotel itself has 3 F&B outlets which caters to both local Filipino & International tastes - the R Bar next to lobby, the outdoor Jardin and the simple iFood Cafe. You can also avail of a host of dining outlets across the road in the Resorts World mall. Our rooms are simply furnished and equipped with a mini fridge, a sink and TV with local & international channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Remington Hotel Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Remington Hotel Manila Pasay, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing