We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right next to the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DG Budget Hotel Salem
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Pasay
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Quite a bargain for 800 pesos a night. The rooms were clean as well as the beds (although the sheets had a very strong smell of fabric softener). The common showers and toilets were also aplenty and pretty clean, much to my surprise. There were 3 showers and toilets on my floor, with about 15 rooms. For 800P, I was also pleasantly surprised that they provided towels and toiletries free of charge. The hotel staff and bell boys hanging out downstairs were pretty informative and helpful too, willing to tell you where to go and how to get around Pasay.

However the walls are thin, and you can easily hear it if people are having a conversation in the common corridor. But everything should quieten down by night time.

I'd say it's a really good place to crash and transit if you need to go to Terminal 4 (Domestic Terminal) although I don't think it's that near the main terminal in NAIA.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acshaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 219 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

This place has the perfect location for travelers to rest in between flights. Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were well kept and clean. Nothing fancy but very convenient. Few minutes away from the terminals, and restaurants. I was well rested and fully charged the following day for my next flight. A great place to stay and you can't beat the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ldlrb_80883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This place is extremely close to terminal 4. So close where it would be pointless to take a cab because they would literally drive you like 50 feet and drop you off. Chances are you won't be flying into terminal 4 though and the 4 terminals at Manila airport are not connected to each other. I flew into terminal 1 and they have a airport shuttle bus that leaves every 30 minutes and drives between all terminals. The cost of this shuttle bus is only 20 pesos so it is the cheapest option. Once at terminal 4 simply walk over the overpass and towards the shakeys pizza which you will see on the shuttle bus over to terminal 4. Turn right as soon as you pass the quick mart and you will see it on the right side. There is just a little sign that you could probably walk by if you weren't looking for it.

The room I am in is about 6.6ft by 11ft if I had to guess so quite small but serves its purpose well. Air conditioning worked well and I actually had to turn it down because I was getting cold in the middle of the night. Like others have said walls are extremely thin so bring earplugs if random noise bothers you. Bathrooms are shared but that has been no problem and they were spotless clean when I was in them. The two workers I have encountered were very nice. There is a 100 peso deposit on your key which you get back when you turn it in. Wifi is free and works well enough. Not super fast by any means but gets the job done.

Overall this is a great place to stay if you want to stay close to the airport...I can't see anyone finding a better option for the price...I tried.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SkydiverDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Let's be perfectly frank. You're looking for a place to crash on the cheap, very near to Manila Airport. Well, this is it. The rooms are clean, the a/c works well (both rooms I have stayed in had good a/c), and there is a guard posted. And it's cheap.
The negatives: The room can be noisy (earplugs) and the room gets bright as the sun rises due to the lack of proper shades (time to get on your plane anyway).
The service is fine, and the nearby 24 hour food options are handy.

Room Tip: Ambien. Or maybe "away from the road and nightclubs," but I'm not sure such a room ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kevboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This Guest House is about a 5 minute walk from the Domestic Airport, across the street. Take the overpass walk way bridge.

It is directly across from a 24 hour Shakeys Pizza and many other places to eat nearby. This tells you that there is traffic in and out of the area all night and may get noisy if your room is on that side.

The front desk person was friendly. There seems to be NO security or very limited that we could see. The rooms are located up stairs that are also not secured or even part of the reception entrance area.

The rooms are simple, with one or two beds. Wi-Fi is there if it reaches. For us, one of the biggest draw backs to this place is the SHARED BATHROOM or CR. I am just not into it and brings issues of cleanliness into play. The room walls are paper thin and you can expect noise at night with people talking, coming or going or other things.

Rooms cost P1500 per night for 2, add P399 for a third person in your room. If you do NOT mind the shared bathroom, this is a better choice than the nearby Rogers Place which costs nearly twice as much. My other concern with this place is security and I advise you not to leave things in the room and to carry your valuables with you. For most people, including us, this is a crash pad and not a place to explore Manila from. Its closeness the airport is its only redeeming quality, making it easy and cheap to have a place to crash overnight while waiting for your connecting flight. You can find places in Makati for this same price or near to it with a full private room and private bath with better security.

Ask for a discount when you get there as this place is also infested with people in the area that were touts trying to bring us to this Guest House. This tells me someone is being paid a commission and if so, there may be room for a discount if no touts tag you. Ask for a discount if no tout follows you inside as they persistently tried to do with us even after we asked them to let us alone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank leftovertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

You can't beat the location of this guesthouse, it's near Naia 1, 2 & 3, it's in a guarded complex complete with 24 hour fastfoods/restaurants, convenience store, money changers, internet cafes, etc. Taxis pass by this location in a steady stream so it's not difficult to hail one except during rush hour. It has 2 areas, the first is beside Geni's Cafe, and the other one is above a resto-bar. The first time we checked in this guesthouse was last Nov. 2011 and I found out about it through tripadvisor. During our first stay, I was impressed that the staff were helpful, they provided free breakfast and honored senior citizen's discount. The room was clean though a bit small (good for 2 persons) and no closet but if you're only there for a brief period of time, it's ok. The only thing probably that I was not used to is having shared bathrooms (toilet&bath) because both male and female use the same one. So it's really not for everybody. The bathrooms were cleaned after each use though, replenished with tissue, and shampoo and body wash are free. For the services and the price, it is a bargain. That was then. Because of its proximity to the airport, my family members have also checked in about 5 to 6 times already since last year. Then this month, we checked in twice as we had an out of the country trip. I guess service deteriorated somewhat and the staff said it was under new management. They still honored senior citizens discount but only up to 200 pesos and not 20% off the published rate, there's no more breakfast if you only stay overnight, we've been here last January and it was not the case, we had breakfast then. The bathroom was not cleaned as often and the air-conditioning in our room could not really cool the room (Quadruple). When we arrived, the trash can still had old trash in it, and there was a lady inside who turned out to be a staff who changed her clothes in the room. I mean what gives? The slippers were grimy and the hot and cold of the shower is faulty, even at low temp, the water would run really hot. Towels look gray already. Perhaps the new management needs to shape up. This guesthouse had a lot of potential, i just feel sorry that its service and facilities are deteriorating.

Room Tip: try the AC first, bring alcohol, bring your own towel, bring your own slippers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cherdigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed twice when needing to fly from the domestic airport to otther destinations. We stayed in a double room which was comfortable and extremely clean. Bathroom was shared but this wasn't a problem as they were always cleaning the toilet and shower room. Nice hot shower and towels were provided. The room was cheap I think £20 a night and it's a 5 minute walk to the domestic airport. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dalym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasay hotels
0.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel Pasay
1.0 mi away
Pinoy Pamilya Hotel
Pinoy Pamilya Hotel
#17 of 32 in Pasay
100 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kabayan Hotel Pasay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Remington Hotel Manila
2.1 mi away
Atrium Hotel Manila
Atrium Hotel Manila
#23 of 32 in Pasay
331 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmont Hotel Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DG Budget Hotel Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DG Budget Hotel Salem

Address: Salem Complex, Domestic Road | Pasay Airport Area, Pasay, Luzon 1301, Philippines (Formerly Salem Domestic Guesthouse, Pasay)
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Pasay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pasay
#2 Casino Hotel in Pasay
#6 Spa Hotel in Pasay
Price Range: $22 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — DG Budget Hotel Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DG Budget Hotel Salem is the most convenient place to stay after long hours of flight. Our guest may check in anytime of day, flexible check in and check out time, just remember the time you check in is just the same time you will be out the next day. Relax and Recharge in our hotel that is just few minutes away to all major Manila airports. DG Budget Hotel Salem ,represents 70 all air-conditioned rooms and basic amenities. A well maintained environment with 24 hours complex and hotel security. Restaurants, coffee shops, barbershops & spa, bank and convenience store are just within the complex. DG Budget Hotel Salem is the best option for the middle of the road travelers and budget conscious guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your DG Budget Hotel Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salem Domestic Guesthouse, Pasay Hotel Pasay
DG Budget Hotel Salem Pasay, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing