We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to airport”
Review of Shogun Suite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shogun Suite Hotel
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Pasay
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Close to airport”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

I just needed a place for a night before catching an early flight. Free airport pick up. Nothing special but ok for the night. Elevator and air conditioner. Private bathroom. Staff were all pleasant. Manila is the kind of city that the less time spent there the better.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank updog247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    69
    101
    32
    28
See reviews for
49
82
59
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The 'Shogun Suite Hotel' in Pasay City,Metro Manila is situated in Zamora Street which is a side street situtated around 50 metres away from the busy EDSA highway with its two light rail stations(Taft Avenue & EDSA stations) from where frequent train services operate to most parts of Manila. Both these stations are connected to the Metro Point shopping mall which has an entrance situated adjacent to the 'Shogun Suite Hotel' in Zamora Street and this is a medium sized shopping centre containing many eating establishments and there are around three or four floors comprising of all kinds of shops ranging from chemists to mobile telephone repairers and clothing outlets,and one of the entrances to this mall is located virtually next to the hotel's main entrance in Zamora Street.
In the streets outside the mall everywhere is extremely busy with a multitude of shops,banks and other businesses to be found, with great numbers of pedestrians walking here there and everywhere!

My wife and myself decided beforehand to stay at the 'Shogun Suite Hotel' for three nights during mid January due to its proximity to the airport & bus stations and to allow us the opportunity to explore Manila prior to travelling north to Baguio City to visit my wife's family a few days later on an eight hour bus journey starting from the 'Victory Liner' bus station on the EDSA highway which is around half a mile away from the hotel.

We booked our room on a bed & breakfast basis through the hotel's own website(paying 5700 PESOS/£80 GBP for 3 nights) which was simplicity itself, and we considered that their rates were most reasonable considering all the facilities which were provided together with the hotel's most convenient and central location, and we availed ourselves of the hotel's airport pick up service which was free(although a reasonable charge was made for taking returning guests back to the airport) and which turned out to be an efficient service.

We were very pleased to discover that we had made the right choice and had chosen the 'Shogun Suite Hotel' for our Manila base as our en-suite fourth floor room(No.408)was clean and most comfortable with all the facilities to be found that are generally expected of hotel rooms nowadays being provided and which were of a high standard too - even slippers were provided in our room. There was no need to get out of bed to switch the lights on and off, as there was a lighting control panel by the bedside controlling all the bedroom lighting, and a remote control television was provided as well as a fridge containing chilled soft drinks and beers priced at 50 pesos a time which was all to the good. Wi-Fi facilities were provided as well.
Two lifts provided access to the 4th floor.

A breakfast buffet was served between 6am and 10am and this was of a very good standard with plenty of choices available and which set you up well for the day's sightseeing to follow.
We chose to eat in eat the hotel in the evenings at the pool cafe/restaurant which was situated on the 8th floor of the hotel underneath the hotel's swimming pool(the water of which was quite warm when I dipped my hand in one evening)on the roof which gave splendid views all over Manila.
Our meals there were varied and tasty,and once again proved to be excellent value for money.

Every member of the staff was courteous and extremely helpful to us during our stay,and as we enjoyed our short stay so much we did in fact stay for an extra night which the hotel arranged for us quickly and efficiently..

The 'Shogun Suite Hotel' although not a four star hotel is nonetheless a jolly good budget hotel offering comfortable rooms together with good food,courteous service and high security. Should you be a budget traveller much like myself, I am certain that you will be very pleased with the high standards to be found at this exceptional and reasonably priced city centre hotel which is most certainly one of the best hotels that I've ever come across within its price bracket.

++++ Highly recommended ++++

Room Tip: There are differing prices for rooms - obviously the more you pay,the better room you get. We had R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roger-from-Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

ok but be aware that the hotel looks greater than it is on hotels.com, agoda or booking.com.
Simple place, nothing special, ok pool - after all this is a city hotel.
Recommendable if you want a nice price hotel near NAIA airport - maybe to have a day shopping in Manila or spend the night before you go further to your next destination

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MorJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Just an average hotel for backpackers. Price for a standard room on a promo rate is ok but buffet breakfast with salad and self-service coffee is a plus points. Will recommend to friends on a tight budget. Very accessible to a mall with convenience store, pharmacy and shops to eat. Near is the MRT and LRT stations as well for easy access to Makati Mall, which is just two stops away from Taft MRT station.

Room Tip: Rooms are a little confusing with small passage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul_brian25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozzano, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel is located next to MRT station, and it is very easy to go to Malls.
The rooms were clean and big enough for us.
When we arrived, we waited for someone to accomodate us, but all the staff were busy doing their own thing!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

First stay, chose because of closeness to airport. Price was good, had promo for 10% off during Xmas, Included breakfast which was pretty good,choice of Filipino style or vegetable omelette which was good. Finally got a decent room after looking at 3 different rooms on different floors. !st room on the 7th floor smelled a combination of old, musty and smoke, plus loud music from outside. 2nd room on the 6th floor was noisy from the street noise. Chose another room on the 6th floor that was quiet, room seemed a little more modern and fresher feel and smell. Was disappointed with their airport shuttle service. They had mentioned they only do pickups and don't take people to the airport, as was my case. I personally don't see what the difference is, in order to pick someone up, they need to go to the airport anyway and then come back. Same if they dropped me off at the airport and then had to come back, i think more of a marketing thing for them. They also said the night before they would arrange a taxi for me the following morning. So, of course when morning came and i finished my breakfast, i asked for the taxi.. But they had not got me one as i had requested. One of the bellboys went outside and looked for one as i was checking out, but to no avail. He even had the balls to tell me to go down the street and get one for my myself! Very bad idea to tell your guests that, so i had tow and carry my luggage down the street to the corner to get a taxi on my own!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawaiianboy005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasig
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

we were not able to have a good nite sleep because the ac unit was creating an irritatating sound. hotel needs to check facilities regularly...we complained to the front desk all they said was we are sorry. the best they could have done was give an extra complimentary breakfast to compensate for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pasay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasay hotels
0.4 mi away
Pinoy Pamilya Hotel
Pinoy Pamilya Hotel
#17 of 31 in Pasay
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel Pasay
1.0 mi away
Atrium Hotel Manila
Atrium Hotel Manila
#23 of 31 in Pasay
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kabayan Hotel Pasay
0.5 mi away
88 Courtyard Hotel
88 Courtyard Hotel
#12 of 31 in Pasay
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Court Cuneta Motorist Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shogun Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shogun Suite Hotel

Property: Shogun Suite Hotel
Address: 2867 Zamora Street Rotonda, Pasay, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Pasay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Pasay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shogun Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Shogun Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shogun Hotel Pasay
Shogun Suite Hotel Pasay, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing