We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel or Brothel?”
Review of Shogun Suite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shogun Suite Hotel
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Pasay
Shanghai
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hotel or Brothel?”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The wost place I´ve been in my whole life! We had to stayed for one night in Manila with our friends and then travel around Philippines. Our friend booked for us and what a mistake! When we arrived at the lobby, they didn´t have any room available so they tooks us to some rooms behind closed to the Highway.
The rooms were more than dirty and you could hear all the prostitutes with their filipino customers next to our room. People in and out during all night, so we couldn´t sleep a bit, only thinking what a whole this hotel was. We complain but they didn´t do anything about it.
If you go to Manila there are even cheapest and better places than this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UnderWater888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    69
    101
    32
    28
See reviews for
49
82
59
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Even when the say they have non-smokers room, IT'S FALSE! What they understand for non-smoking room is that you'll not smoke, not that the previous guests weren't smoker, totally unacceptable. I requested a complain form and they only gave a piece of white paper to put in the "Suggestion box", they didn't care at all about my complain. Also it's not a good sign that when we were close to the hotel the taxi driver told us to lock the doors.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if you are looking for a place with no smell of cigarettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slopezbustos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pasay hotels

Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

cute small rooftop pool. but the rooms are small and old. , narrow hallways. , no windows in rooms. , i just like the rooftop pool and the location its near the bus station. , over all i wud give it an average score. ,

plus the cable is on and off. ,

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daveepj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

the rooms were great value for money ,,bar fridge in the room . ,, so close to metro point mall for late night shopping ,, we loved it ,,, also late night swimming on the 8th floor ,, overlooking manila , so much fun we had here and in the morning it includes all you can eat buffett breakfast ,,, loving it ,,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank damian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is indeed a very recommendable one. It is near the mrt station and the airport itself. Room rates comes with breakfast is very satisfying. The staff also were all helpful and easy to consult for all your concerns. The rooms, corridors, receiving area are all very clean. I will surely come here everytime I am in Manila.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with windows... a little hard to get a network signal for your mobile..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RizziAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have been here for all of 1 night and this is so far the worst experience of a hotel I have had in the Philippines. There is no free shuttle to and from the airport. No big deal, but it cost 600 PHP, or the equivalent of $14 USD. I don't know of any 5 star hotels that charge that much for airport shuttles. When we finally came to the hotel, we were surprised to find the hotel located in an alley-looking area. Very sketchy. In the lobby all of the staff are standing around looking for money from the patrons.
And for the room: Oh God the room. The beds in this place rival the beds you find in the shantytowns just outside the hotel. They only come with 1 small blanket and a pullover sheet. I had a better sleep in the hut I stayed in the day before. The TV had crap reception. There was no shower curtains in the shower, which made water splash everywhere. We had to ask the staff multiple times to bring us shower curtains, only to finally get them 3 days later. The walls are so thin you can not only hear conversations from the rooms next door, but also conversations from street level.
The only redeeming quality this hotel has is the semi-decent wifi service and the pool on the 8th floor. Also, I found no bugs.
Overall, this hotel is crap. Do yourself a favor and spend a little more money on a slightly better hotel, or find another similarly-priced hotel that isn't as bad as this one.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCR915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

It was our first stay on this place. Experience was not bad except for the thin walls where u can hear all the noise from the outside.. Stamping feet , kids playing in the lobby and some inconsiderate guests who talked so loud. We even tried to talk louder inside our room just to get rid of those noisy people at the lobby.
What I like most with this place is its location.. Train station is just a few steps away from the hotel, Jeepneys queue bound for MOA are just right across the hotel's entrance. the hotel is surrounded with different kinds of fastfood chains that will surely fit for a budget traveller just always keep an eye on your pockets or purses since this is really a one of the most crowded place in Manila. But you can get foods at the hotel, with the cheap room rate it already has free breakfast for 2. The hotel is clean but not the surroundings. Hotel's staffs are friendly and accommodating but not the by-standers. The hotel is just enough for a quick stop from the airport especially when ur on early flights. Since we can't stand anymore the noise from other guests so we moved to its neighboring hotel on the next day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billeah10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasay hotels
0.4 mi away
Pinoy Pamilya Hotel
Pinoy Pamilya Hotel
#17 of 31 in Pasay
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel Pasay
1.0 mi away
Atrium Hotel Manila
Atrium Hotel Manila
#23 of 31 in Pasay
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kabayan Hotel Pasay
0.5 mi away
88 Courtyard Hotel
88 Courtyard Hotel
#12 of 31 in Pasay
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Court Cuneta Motorist Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shogun Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shogun Suite Hotel

Property: Shogun Suite Hotel
Address: 2867 Zamora Street Rotonda, Pasay, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Pasay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Pasay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shogun Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Shogun Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shogun Hotel Pasay
Shogun Suite Hotel Pasay, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing