We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plus and Minus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Midas Hotel and Casino
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Pasay
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed here over the weekend to unwind. Hotel facilities not yet complete. Hotel interiors are great. Room was very good except for a few times when the TV and lights were malfunctioning. Shuttle service to Mall of Asia was added value. Clinic nurse, electrician and receptionists were polite, courteous and helpful. Buffet breakfast was filling.

Room Tip: Always choose a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Teo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 422 of 484 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2011

We went to try the Midas as we remember it as the old Hyatt and it's Spanish coffee shop was always excellent.
The back is closed off now and you go to level 2 where you enter a room of mirrors.every wall has mirror and the windows have reflective glass like a mirror (so no view at night of Manila Bay) just look at yourself.....
We ordered 4 different dishes off the menu all were out of stock of the ingredients...the restaurant was very quiet.
When our 5 th choice food arrived it was tasteless and served by young out of their depth staff.....don't go unless you want no food and to look at yourself in al, the mirrors at least then it looks more crowded.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank denniscasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We arrived at this hotel after a 20 minute taxi trip from the airport at about 1230 and were immediately checked in.

It was once the Hyatt Regency (closed for many years) but has now been expensively refurbished as we gradually discovered.

We were checked upon arrival by a diligent black labrador ('K-9 unit hahaha) but there is nothing to stop a person of ill intent driving right up to the hotel steps.

There were multiple staff to open doors including at the entrance. There was also a room supervisor on at least our floor. A free 'Philippine Star' newspaper was delivered prior to 0630 each morning including on the Sunday that we stayed.

I then enjoyed a yummy burger and mango juice in cafe Midas (P705, not cheap, including tax and service charge).

The room was immaculate but a maintenance man was attending to a defective lavatory. We asked the bellboy to ask for us to have permission to transfer rooms.

After three minutes the bellboy reappeared and said that we had been reallocated to Room 710 (further away from the noise of Roxas Boulevard) to 716.

The room was beautifully decorated with three lamps providing excellent lighting: the bedroom lackede any overhead lighting save for the vestibule.

The main bedroom was carpeted in an attractive beige colour. The king bed was exceeduingly comfortable. There was a desk with chair covered in blue upholstery together with a far longer lounge chair similarly covered.

The hotel subsribes to Sky TV (cable) with its excellent range of channels: we watched a movie on the large plasma television set with its excellent resolution. There was also a reaosnable sized desk with I think a dataport connection (not something I use.

The bedroom lacked a guide to hotel services, except for a brief generic welcome letter that alluded to Cafe Midas (the second floor restaurant that I have separately reviewed on TA) and the lobby bar. By the way, the lobby is quite grand and has a lot of silver foiil and organge 'packages' or 'books' arranged in 'bookcases': quite imaginative.

Airconditioning worked well and was not overly noisy.

The bathroom was first class, although the shower was over the bath. Hot water never failed to arrive instantly. There are three taps under the shower: the central one is to chpoose bath or shower, something that took me a while to work out (other travellers may be smarter!) The bath was pleasant.

The range of toiletries and tea/ coffee supplied was good: the shampoo/ conditioner and bath gel came in tiny miniature champagne-like bottles which was a little different, and not unpleasantly so.

We had another of those darned 'family rooms' with a door into the next room: prior to bed, there was a bit of noise from the other room the first night but none on the second night.

There was no noise at any time from the corridors which again are imaginatively decoreated.

The room had good curtains with draw strings for both the opaque and substantive curtains. There was a largish balcony with a quality table and two heavy (possibly wrought iron chairs.

The included breakfast buffet in Cafe Midas (available 0600 - 1000) was terrific with four types of fruit juice, four types of milk including carabao (which I had never seen before in Philippines), cereals, a female cook to whip up an omelette or pancake, about 10 hot dishes, yoghurt (thank goodness, even if it was from Switzerland not Australia), an excellent range of breads and pastries, cheeses, vegetables, salmon and fruit including whole mangoes that I often find are not on display at Filipino hotel buffet brekfasts. there were also dainty cocktail glasses of cut fruit. A feast for the eyes and my stomach.

We used the hotel shuttle that operates six or seven times a day to the fountain at SM Mall of Asia's fountain near its main entrance. Times include (from hotel) 1730, 1930 and 2130 with Mall of Asia departures 15 minutes later. The trip to the shopping centre took seven minutes despite reasonably heavy traffic.

My early Sunday morning taxi to the airport cost 110 pesos plus a 40 peso tip. It might cost 180 to 200 pesos in normal, heavier traffic although we had some delays even at 0700 on a Sunday morning.

My other half was able to check out at 1400 not 1200 on the Sunday afternoon by arrangement.

The remnants of the previous ownership's swimming pool are a total wreck at the back of the property. Staff claimed that a new pool would be ready by October 2011: I could not see how as work did not appear to have commenced.

Some function rooms are more or less ready on the 10th floor.

The hotel lacks a gym (or sauna). Again, a staff member claimed that a gym would open but I could not confirm what may a claim to be taken with a grain of salt.

This hotel is not far from the airport and at A$104 or so through www.asiatravel.com was far better value than I expected. It offers a significant saving on the Manila Marriott (opposite the airport's Terminal 3) at the asiatravel price that we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher numbered room (i.e. 620 not 602) as the higher numbers are at the back away from Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Upon entering the hotel, we were greeted by polite staff, not just in the lobby but in our room floor as well. It made you feel warm in contrast to the modern interiors of the hotel. The room was very spacious with clean linens and soft pillows. The bathroom with its bathtub made my kids' stay a lot more fun. The cleaning lady did not mind me asking for extra bath gel almost everyday throughout our 4 days stay. Breakfast buffet was basic and relatively ok. I have to say they have the best freshly baked croissants i have ever tasted among the prime hotels we have stayed in in manila.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pepsmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

The breakfast buffet was horrible. The food choices do not match and make you think if you really are there for breakfast or for lunch and ponder which cuisine they are catering. The food considering that this hotel targets to achieve a 5- star status are very limited.imagine you even have to order from the waiter for a plain rice, for a juice that turns out to be not available, as well as for a simple cup of coffee or hot chocolate. The service was even worse. During the whole time that I ate my breakfast, the waiter never gave me a glass of water. The hot chocolate that I ordered before I started eating my breakfast arrived only when I was about to leave. There are lots of other 5-star hotels in the area with great food and service. The hotel lobby and the rooms though are well- renovated.Kudos to the Almario sisters>

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank hotelcritique1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Upon my initial check-in, the staff assured me there would not be any noise heard in my room. This was a HUGE lie..I was woken to the sounds of hammerdrills and hammers on concrete floors above me. All this started at about 7 a.m.
The staff simply apologized and that was all. The hotel itself was very nice, and I understand they are making improvements, however they should not tell you it will not be heard in your room, if it is.
I will not return to this hotel until all work is finished, which will be in July of 2011.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarcM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Midas is the former Hyatt Regency. When we checked in on New Year's eve last December 2010, Midas was still on a soft launch. You wouldn't believe this with the impeccable service from front desk and the other hotel staff. You wouldn't believe this with the impressive lobby with evening lounge entertainment. You wouldn't believe this with the impeccable rooms and furnishings. Breakfast presented a wide array. Each room had a balcony with garden chairs for lounging at as you sip your cocktail. Most unbelievable of all was the rack rate, considering this is a 5* hotel. With views of the famous Manila Bay sunset and a stone's throw away from the sprawling Mall of Asia, Midas is a gem one should get now, before the regular prices after its soft launch set in :)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cherikizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pasay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Heritage Hotel Manila
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia
0.4 mi away
Hotel 101 Manila
Hotel 101 Manila
#13 of 33 in Pasay
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Golden Phoenix Hotel
Golden Phoenix Hotel
#9 of 33 in Pasay
360 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Jen Manila
Hotel Jen Manila
#5 of 33 in Pasay
901 reviews
2.0 mi away
Belmont Hotel Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midas Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midas Hotel and Casino

Address: 2702 Roxas Boulevard, Pasay, Luzon, Philippines (Formerly Hyatt Regency Manila)
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Pasay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Pasay
#5 Spa Hotel in Pasay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pasay
Price Range: $94 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Midas Hotel and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midas Hotel and Casino is the newest design-led lifestyle hotel situated along Roxas Boulevard at the coast of Manila Bay. The hotel is flocked by the Japanese Embassy and San Juan de Dios Hospital. It faces the Bay, a few meters from the intersection of Roxas Boulevard and EDSA. In the tradition of excellence set by the building's former occupants, The Sheraton, Savoy Philippines and Hyatt Regency Manila, this 225-room hotel continues to be THE venue for creating fond memories. Certain details of the original structure have been kept and integrated into the redesign of the building's interiors, creating a fusion of the past and the present in perfect harmony. In the chic and spacious hotel lobby, floor-to-ceiling adobe stone walls and pillars have been layered with chrome and crystals providing a stunning backdrop to its luxurious Italian designer furniture; while a fiber optic chandelier, possibly the only one of its kind in the Philippines, lends dramatic illumination. Throughout the hotel, this statement of modern glam and luxury is carried out in every detail. Midas forward-looking rooms and suites are carefully appointed, chic and have the feel of modern glam. All are pleasantly furnished natural fabrics and are equipped with upscale amenities. Executive floor guests get to enjoy buffet cocktails at the Sunset Lounge from 4 pm to 8 pm while taking pleasure in the sight of the Metropolis. Midas also offers restaurants with first-rate options for opulent enjoyment, each set to weave its own taste of magic - the 2702 Lobby Lounge, Midas Cafe and Yanagi Japanese Restaurant. May it be an end-of-day glass of wine or a cocktail to jumpstart a promising evening, the 2702 Lobby Lounge is definitely the place to go to and be seen at. Aside from the wide selection of cocktails, shooters, liqueurs, wines, and hard spirits, the 2702 Lounge also offers tasty treats and nibbles that will complement whatever drink is at hand. Culinary masters converge at the Midas Cafe to offer guests the ultimate dining experience ever. If the mere sight of palatable items laid out in a long buffet line is already an indulgence, then sinking one's teeth to them can be nothing short of divine. Midas Cafe offers everything from authentic teppan and sushi dishes, to classic Filipino dishes with a modern twist. The contemporary Japanese style at its finest is Yanagi Japanese Restaurant located at the Mezzanine floor of the hotel lobby. Experience a variety of specialties, with a sushi and sashimi bar, a teppanyaki / hibachi station and a la carte dining. Set along the majestic stretch of Roxas Boulevard, Midas Hotel and Casino is a short drive away from the domestic and international airports, convention venues, business districts and commercial areas . . . Airports Terminals • Ninoy Aquino International Airport (NAIA) Terminals 1 & 2: 5 kms / approximate driving time: 30 minutes from the hotel • Ninoy Aquino International Airport (NAIA) Terminals 3: 5 kms / approximate driving time: 30 minutes from the hotel • Domestic Airport: 5 kms / approximate driving time: 30 minutes from the hotel Convention Venues • SMX Convention Venues: 2 kms / approximate driving time: 15 minutes from the hotel • One Esplanade: 2 kms / approximate driving time: 15 minutes from the hotel • World Trade Center: 3 kms / approximate driving time: 20 minutes from the hotel • Philippine International Convention Center: 3 kms / approximate driving time: 20 minutes from the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Midas Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midas Hotel Pasay
Midas Hotel And Casino Pasay, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing