We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real mistake to stay here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Legend Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Legend Villas
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mandaluyong
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A real mistake to stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were in Manila for business and asked our travel agent to find somewhere convenient for our meeting at short notice. They suggested this place and, based on a quick scan of the website it looked just about passable. However, the reality is very different from the images on the site. Our room was incredibly basic and very dated. The air con unit was ancient and noisy, far too noisy to sleep with it on. But when we turned it off, we could still hear the air con units rattling in all the neighboring rooms. Our view was of wall, pipes and electric cables a foot from our window. The bedding and bathroom was clean, but the towels were old and 1000 wash grey, the shower was a dribble, the beds were hard and the walls were grubby. There didn't appear to be good fire escape routes or smoke alarms, and the combination of ancient electrics and wooden building make it feel like an H&S hazard. We will be asking our agent not to recommend this to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cambersberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    129
    43
    19
    14
See reviews for
121
44
16
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Don't waste your time and your money here. I don't know what happened, but the pictures misrepresented the hotel. When we came in, the service was slow. They simply stared at us until they found the notion to come help us. Then, when we were being escorted to our room, which by the way is outside of the lobby, we found out that there is no elevator. We had two large suitcases and five smaller ones. When we got to our room, the door kept on slamming against the closet door right next to it. We saw how outdated it was. Everything needed to be replaced. The tv was small and the fridge dirty. Talk about lack of cleanliness! When I took a shower, I noticed that the shower drain was clogged... with hair left over from the last guest! The rubber bathroom mat was moldy. When I walked through barefoot, I had to be careful because the floor tiles were slippery and my feet turned black from whatever was on the floor! The bathroom had no hand towels or wash cloths and the towels smelt bad. The bed was stiff as a rock and the bed spread was old. The view...what view? We had to keep our blinds closed because we could see into another room. The location is terrible. Its right next to EDSA so you can hear the busy highway as clear was day. I was glad to finally leave this place except I was greeted by a cockroach on my stuff. Gross! And we were on the third floor as well! Again, save yourself and look somewhere else. This place was disgusting.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheyser13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I bought Voucher from metrodeal to avail the promo for legend villas so we can celebrate Mothers day.Our room was at 2nd floor since My mom was too old already she hard time going upstair there's no elevator.the room is big it can accomodate for 4 persons.they need to add hotel staff since the service is kinda slow specifically when were having dinner since they have many guest at that time.when we reserved a room service for massage around 830pm the front desk inform me it will moved around 11:00pm.my mom and I wait till 11:00pm after calling again the front desk they inform me that the masseuse arrived late and they have to served another guest if I'm still willing to wait.I already told the front desk to cancelled my reservation since I can no longer wait the masseuse.if they are not sure that their massuse can come early they should inform their guest ahead of time good thing they refund the payment.The buffet breakfast was great.The swimming pool was small and clean they have a life guard they can secure the safety of the guest specially if you have kids.before we check out the aircon has water leak it cause slippery floor.the front desk apologize for the cancelled spa as well as the aircon leak.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sassyrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloocan, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good points: The breakfast was great! I love omelet stations in buffets and theirs is no exception. I also loved the champorado, the croissants, the bistek tagalog and their palabok. The other choices were okay as well, but these were the ones that stuck to me the most.

The internet was quite fast and it was a good plus for my sisters who were staying with me.
The pool was decent enough and my cousins had quite a go and enjoyed taking advantage of it.
They have parking spaces that are very adjacent to the rooms. This was a big factor since we had to go back and forth the vehicles to load and unload stuff so it was quite good that it was very convenient for us.


Bad points:
There was "something" with the bathroom. I guess it was the fact that it didn;t have an exhaust, but even on the first night when there were only 4 of us, it already had a pungent smell. I used the cr in the other room as well(which was hardly used since my in-laws) but it was the same.

The pool was sooooooo far away. I guess this would be a plus for people who really want r &r in the pool area but it was quite inconvenient for us, especially since we had to go back and forth during the pictorial.

Points for improvement:

Decor! We would have loved to book the villa rooms if we felt that they would add up to the "feel" in photos but they were way too bare. Good thing that our p/v team was very creative and found nooks and crannies that would serve as good backdrops to the frames.

Final Say:

I would recommend The Legend Villas for people who are looking for great value for money, especially guests who are merely looking for budget-friendly accommodation in a very good location. Compared to other hotels, this hotel is very lenient and you can bring in cooked food, accommodate as many guests as possible(such a pro if the room will be used for wedding preps/intimate parties). However, if you are looking for a more poshed and well-appointed accommodation, I guess you have better options in the Ortigas area.

Room Tip: The receiving area of the suite wasn't that posh for the extra bucks that came with it so just g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coffeefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

this was a nice hotel in a good location , as it was near a small shopping complex, cafes and transport etc ,staff were friendly, pool and spa area were great, as its very hot there,i found in on the internet and wasnt disappointed, my friend an i spent 2 weeks there in april 2013..john

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandsoftime711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Rizal, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was preparing for a school project when I decided to take my kid and my wife to Legend Villas because of a scheduled black out in our place. You can say I was desperate but who wouldn't be when you're in that situation when you need electricity to finish your presentation, right?

Legend Villas was a good choice because the hotel is only about a kilometer from where we live.

The room we got was good but the atmosphere inside the room was better. My son loved it and the whole area was conducive to what I needed to finish.

We checked in at night so we ordered McDonald's for dinner. Unlike regular hotels where you don't get the items directly from the delivery guy, this time we got our order delivered directly by the delivery person to our room. That may not look secure but I didn't mind. This was made possible because majority of the Legend Villas rooms were located on the first floor.

The only disappointment I had was breakfast. I felt their buffet could be more presentable and choices - more! I felt bad when THE BEST and magic of our Filipino food wasn't there. There were conference delegates who stayed in the hotel and I felt they didn't enjoy their breakfast too based from the comments I heard from them.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank krisatienza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I chose to stay in Manila and check in to this hotel to avoid the holiday rush and hassle of going outside the city. Instead of enjoying our Maundy Thursday, we had the worst experience because of the rude pool attendant and inconsiderate manager!

Room Tip: This is a low rise three-storey villa without an elevator so choose the lower floor if you have heav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chapopos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandaluyong
0.2 mi away
Go Hotels Mandaluyong
Go Hotels Mandaluyong
#4 of 7 in Mandaluyong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.8 mi away
Edsa Shangri-La
Edsa Shangri-La
#1 of 7 in Mandaluyong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lancaster Hotel Manila
Lancaster Hotel Manila
#6 of 7 in Mandaluyong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Privato Hotel Manila
Privato Hotel Manila
#5 of 21 in Pasig
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marco Polo Ortigas Manila
1.0 mi away
The Linden Suites
The Linden Suites
#7 of 21 in Pasig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legend Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legend Villas

Property: The Legend Villas
Address: 60 Pioneer | corner Madison Street, Mandaluyong, Luzon 1550, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Mandaluyong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mandaluyong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Legend Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to traditional Filipino elegance and hospitality. The Legend Villas in Mandaluyong city is a 100% Filipino owned hotel with amenities and services well beyond its Old-World charm. It's luxury you cannot afford to miss but can easily afford to enjoy. Set in the midst of a bustling metropolis, here is where you can relax, unwind, be yourself, and feel at home. Elegant yet cozy touches abound inside and out: fine wood with finish so smooth to the touch, sparkling Venetian glass-framed mirrors, polished barandillas in a gently curved staircase, a cozy gallinera in a quiet corner. There is no lack of functional features and comforting amenities in its 130 rooms to ensure the convenience of its guests. And for all its efficiency, there is an underlying coziness in the design and furnishings of each room. More than just a hotel, The Legend Villas is in itself an experience so familiar, so comfortable and so heartwarming. So much like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Legend Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legend Villas Hotel Mandaluyong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing