We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Edsa Shangri-La

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Edsa Shangri-La
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mandaluyong
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
1 review
“excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Edsa Shangri-la Hotel is excellent hotel in metro manila philippines.i love this place.the room design is beautiful.my kids enjoy the kiddie pool.the breakfast meal is great.friendly staff.very nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank annie143_5254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    486
    148
    77
    44
See reviews for
480
206
75
766
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,768 reviews
327 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 668 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

I wrote a review 6 months ago and Patrick the general manager usually replies here, which is nice, but would be better if actual improvements are made. Here, I'll make some new observations and won't repeat the ones i made in my earlier review

So, i reluctantly returned here since there was a conference right in the hotel that i had to attend. The ride from the airport took longer than usual (90 instead of 30mins) so some pampering was in order. They do the check-in in the room but they gave me the old room that has not been renovated yet. Would this kind of check-in mean better quality? So i tested it and asked for a copy of wall street journal each morning. She said ok. Because the room was so old, i didn't get the pampering i paid for

The old room still has the deathtrap of a bathtub which i detest very much, no shower stall. The flat screen tv is old with blur images. The phone is not condusive to have business meetings on as there's no speakerphone function

In-room dining delivery and food quality was ok. But when i called to have the table moved out after finishing my food, it took 5 calls and 60 mins before anyone came. It was a pity the contraption was too difficult to manipulate, otherwise i would have rolled it out of the room myself

Breakfast was again something i didn't look forward to as there are simply too many people in the hotel and breakfast area. It feels like a warzone. Or 3 star hotel in china with all 1.4 billion people eating

Oh, and the wall street journal i asked for in the beginning? Never came

I have the same conference next year and i'm seriously considering just not going for the conference anymore

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Edsa Shangri-La, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Mr. Bcheong,

Thank you for once again taking time to share your experience.
We are sad to have read about your unfortunate experience during your recent visit and we sincerely apologize for the lapses in the service, which you have mentioned in your comment. Please note that I will personally look into this and will work with our Rooms and Food & Beverage Departments to ensure that these issues are addressed and resolved.

Again, we thank you for your feedback and for allowing us to determine ways on how we can improve our guest's over-all experience.
We hope you would choose to book with us again for your conference next year and we look forward to welcoming you back in the hotel for you to enjoy our newly renovated rooms and facilities.

Sincerely.

Patrick Schaub
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real, Quezon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

I've stayed in EDSA Shangrila several times in the past and this brand does not disappoint. From their restaurants, to their business meeting rooms and suites, everything is commendable. We held business meetings, Christmas party, simple interview for our staff in Manila and to simply stay there and everything went smoothly with their reliable staff. There were times that I stayed in one of their condo units in St. Francis towers and I had to use internet, all I did was to cross the bridge to the hotel and use their internet in the lobby (no matter what time of day) and the staff just let me do my job and asked if I were okay (few times I arrived there where they were cleaning carpets etc in wee hours and they would find me a seat so I could work properly).

Excellent breakfast, love the toiletries and the bed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trigger_elf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

My wife and I just had a 5 night stay. We have stayed in the Makati Shangri La twice before. However, this was our first time to try the Edsa.

Its a large resort type hotel with an amazing newly upgraded pool area. The hotel has great security and staff.

I would recommend you go for Horizon Club benefits. However, get a room in the newly renovated Tower Wing, not the Garden Wing.

The Tower Wing rooms are excellent with amazing facilities, bathrooms etc.

Only 2 negative issues.....very busy hotel and surrounding area and Malls very busy. Maybe more so during our stay due to time of year.

Nevertheless, for sure this is a great hotel to stay in. Very impressive, attentive staff and security is very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Angel2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed for three nights at the Shangrila EDSA. The first two nights the hotel was kind enough to upgrade my room to a suite given there was a conference going on and regular rooms were booked. The suite was good though in the older part of the hotel. The staff were courteous and responsive. The breakfast was excellent with some Indian options thrown in. Definitely a plus point for vegetarian Indians.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidharath_Kapur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shinjuku, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

EDSA Shasngri-La takes that extra step to make sure that your stay is comfortable. Warm and friendly people makes this property the best in the Shangri-La chain worldwide. Service is world class and done with a smile.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Gilbert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iloilo, Philippines
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is our company's national conference venue for the second year in a row and I never had any regrets why this was the hotel thats been chosen. Location is very accessible to two malls, with a new one that's just recently opened. Breakfast at The Heat is great, with good variety of choices. Restaurant staff there are a bit busy and requesting for coffee or water was a little challenging. Food (meals and snacks) served during our conference was also nice. Hotel is very clean and staff are friendly. Used their pool, its well maintained and if you're bringing your family with small kids, I know they'll enjoy the amenities. There was an on going renovation during our stay, but the noise was well kept to a minimum. Hoping to be back again next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandaluyong
0.6 mi away
Marco Polo Ortigas Manila
2.9 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
5.5 mi away
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#5 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
0.4 mi away
Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines
0.8 mi away
The Legend Villas
The Legend Villas
#2 of 7 in Mandaluyong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edsa Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edsa Shangri-La

Property: Edsa Shangri-La
Address: 1 Garden Way | Ortigas Center, Mandaluyong City, Metro Manila, Mandaluyong, Luzon 1650, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Mandaluyong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mandaluyong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Edsa Shangri-La 5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Philippines' foremost deluxe city-resort convention hotel. It offers 631 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, dining choices, and CHI, The Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Edsa Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edsa Shangri-La Hotel Mandaluyong
Edsa Shangri La Mandaluyong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing