We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edsa Shangri-La

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Edsa Shangri-La
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mandaluyong
Certificate of Excellence
Smithfield, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel in Manila. Although checkin and checkout is cumbersome (as some other guests with us found- the staff gets distracted in their own conversations); it has great lounges, a very nice gym/sauna area; and an excellent dinner and breakfast buffet at "Heat". I am not a buffet fan, but all the food is prepared in front of you, super fresh and what a variety! You can also do a wine buffet- variety of reds, whites and champagnes, with your meal.
The Horizon Lounge is very nice for meetings and evening cocktails.
The staff in the business center is extremley helpful- thanks Christina for all your assistance.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TONI B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    474
    145
    73
    41
See reviews for
465
203
73
756
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

They gave me with back to home service during my stay in the hotel. Willing to listen why I need and fulfill my request in a short timely. The breakfast was good, so far the best from my travel in philppines.Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Neo36 C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Service has gone down, staff rather chat away in the coffee house rather than serve the customer during breakfast, my green tea never came after asking twice...i just finished m breakfast without any drink.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank APFrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Edsa Shangri-La, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear APFrequentTraveller,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We sincerely apologize for the unfortunate incident in the service, which we are addressing with our Food and Beverage Department. Please know that your comments are all duly noted and reviewed so that we can improve our services. Should you need any assistance, I can be reached through esl@shangri-la.com. Thank you and we hope you will choose Edsa Shangri-La, Manila again on your next visit to Manila.

Sincerely,
Patrick Schaub
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This Shangri-La hotel is my favorite among their "branches". It's the most spacious, with really nice and clean rooms, and the best service ever. Their room service is always great, and the staff are always eager to please and will go out of their way to help you even if they are on something as well.

The food is so-so in quality, similar to what other hotels have (like the Makati Shangri-La or The Peninsula etc.), with a smaller spread compared to others. The rooms though, while being clean and nicely furnished, are a bit on the old side, and don't look as stylish or modern. The function rooms are great though, since they have many, depending on how many guests you have.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I had the frustrating pleasure of spending two months at the Shangri-La for work. If you are one of the many people going to Manila to work nights. Save yourself the aggravation and stay at the Oakwood where they specialize in day sleepers. If you are a night sleeper or a tourist, you will love the hustle and bustle and beauty that is the Shang. The staff are lovely, really the kindest anywhere. Food service is slow, ask for your second cup of coffee long before you want it. If you are a long term guest they treat you to socializing events to help meet others. Beautiful pool but again, if you are exhausted, there is no energy to get into it! The sauna was broke the whole time I was there but the steam room was lovely. The spa is the best in the world. If you use Avis, watch your bill carefully.

Room Tip: Do not ever stay in the rooms that end in 50 in the Garden wing. LOUD. the 5th floor of the garden w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Edsa Shangri-La, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Maryanne R,

Thank you very much for staying at the Edsa Shangri-La, Manila. We are delighted to know that you find our staff friendly and like the pool and the services of CHI, The Spa.

We take all guest feedback very seriously and we would like to inform you that all your comments are duly noted and reviewed to further improve our services. Your feedback is shared with the management team, and rest assured the issues you raised will be addressed in order to consistently provide the level of hospitality we normally pride ourselves in.

Please do not hesitate to contact us by email at esl@shangri-la.com or you may call 6338888.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Schaub
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adeje, Canarias, Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

good service polite staffs and good buffet, the rooms are smaller than what I expected for a suit. pricey but its a 5 stars hotel so yah. its in a very convenient area for shopping, its in a busy area so expect traffic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maantotins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The service and staff was first rate and the hotel very pleasant. Would return to the hotel again. They attended to every detail and service was prompt and friendly. The selection at breakfast was huge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Salaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandaluyong
0.6 mi away
Marco Polo Ortigas Manila
5.5 mi away
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
2.9 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#4 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
3.2 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.5 mi away
Oakwood Premier Joy - Nostalg Center Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edsa Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edsa Shangri-La

Property: Edsa Shangri-La
Address: 1 Garden Way | Ortigas Center, Mandaluyong City, Metro Manila, Mandaluyong, Luzon 1650, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Mandaluyong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mandaluyong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Edsa Shangri-La 5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Philippines' foremost deluxe city-resort convention hotel. It offers 631 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, dining choices, and CHI, The Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Edsa Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edsa Shangri-La Hotel Mandaluyong
Edsa Shangri La Mandaluyong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing