We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, emphasis on safety and security”
Review of Edsa Shangri-La

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Edsa Shangri-La
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mandaluyong
Certificate of Excellence
Tumon, Mariana Islands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location, emphasis on safety and security”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in May when the hotel was at maximum occupancy. Though they were fully booked, the staff was exceptional and always apologetic for the slightly delayed response time with front desk/housekeeping requests.

Housekeeping cleaned my room up to 3 times per day, leaving fresh fruit in my room at least once a day.

The hotel is about a minute walk away from the SM Mega Mall, 10 min taxi ride away from the budget-friendly shopping area Green Hill, and only about 20 min taxi ride to the SM Mall of Asia. When hailing a cab at the hotel, the bellman take down notes of your cab, ie license plate, company name, etc., for security purposes. In Manila, many cabbies take advantage of foreignors and end up screwing with the meter and the rates, but when Shangrila hails the cab for you, cab fares tend to be at their lowest! It feels as though the hotel takes care of you even when you aren't on property.

Each entrance to the hotel is manned by hotel security with help from large black Labrador Retrievers, who sniff out all boxes and luggage that enter the hotel.

The hotel's Italian restaurant Paparazzi had delicious food, but only a couple of the waiters gave off the warm, hospitable aura.

Overall, I'm already planning my next stay at the Shangrila, and am excited for their new location at Fort Bonifacio in 2015.

Room Tip: Hotel is undergoing renovations; request a room at the 16th floor or higher to avoid hearing 14th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shasta E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Edsa Shangri-La, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Shasta E,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Edsa Shangri-La, Manila.

I was delighted to read the details about your stay and your experiences with the front desk, housekeeping, transportation assistance, and our security measures.

Please know that we value your feedback. On behalf of the rest of my team, I look forward to welcoming you in the future to once again delight you.

Sincerely,


Patrick Schaub
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    502
    154
    82
    50
See reviews for
511
209
80
794
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed in this resort for 2 weeks on business and it was absolutely magnificent. Your are treated like a queen/king. The place is like a palace, the staff are so professional & friendly, they dress very classy. The rooms are superb, roomy, very clean. The room service staff will even turn your sheets down ready for bedtime. The food is to die for delicious with many well known world wide chefs and so many dishes to chose from. The dessert bar is a dream. I would recommend this place to anyone travelling to Manila. I did see a few famous faces there also. I cannot speak highly enough of this wonder palace.

Room Tip: go to their site and take a look at the rooms available that would be suitable for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

stayed here so many times and as always everything is perfect :) Incomparable service. Free Wi-fi. Amazing room. Delicious Food. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location. Would want to live here forever.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcbaronhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here on business but managed a half day relaxing by the fantastic pool - enjoying the incredible service that Shangri-La has become reknowned for.

The Hoitle and surroiunding arfeas are undergoing an upgrade but the building works are not in any way detracting from the fantastic and great valuie service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTheTropicsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is the first time I am rather disappointed in staying at a Shangrila Hotel.
Good: Staff were friendly and courteous. Location is good, right next to 2 big malls.

Bad: Was rather annoyed to be given a room that was noisy and near to the renovation despite request at check-in for a quiet room. The minute we got out of the elevator into the room corridor, there was this overwhelming musty smell. I had to smell musty odour throughout my 3 day stay. First day, there was an air purifier placed at the corridor, then it was gone for the next 2 days. I just don't like to be reminded that I am staying in an old hotel daily. Hotel should invest in air management, making the whole place smell pleasant, not just the lobby.

Room is spacious but old, and surprisingly the bathroom is even older and small. Bathroom faucet not working, can't shower until they fixed it. TV is still old and the amenities provided are not consistent. Only 1 bottle of mineral water, 1 bottle of shower gel, 1 shampoo given although I booked the room for 2 pax. Maybe the hotel is full, but again, I don't like to be reminded that I am not a valued guest at your busy hotel. Don't think the hotel is worth staying in until at least, the renovation is done.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mulberry79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Edsa Shangri-La, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Mulberry79,


Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Edsa Shangri-La, Manila. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. Please know that your comments are all dully noted and reviewed so that we can improve our services. We want you to know that you are very important to us and that we value your feedback. We take our guests' comments seriously.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the hotel to experience a tranquil sanctuary at our Garden Wing rooms and suites or at the newly renovated rooms, which will be ready by the fourth quarter of 2013.

We hope you allow us another opportunity to demonstrate the Shangri-La hospitality you have come to expect in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick Schaub
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was my 5th stay in the Philippines and first time at this hotel. When you first walk in the lobby, this place is beautiful and the staff is extremely friendly.. The rooms are very clean and the maid service is exceptional. I generally walk into a hotel with thinking "what's going to be wrong with this place". Other than the expensive mini-bar (still cheaper than comparable hotels), I could find nothing wrong. Pool is amazing and the service there is second to none.. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corylong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Edsa Shangri-La, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Corylong,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Edsa Shangri-La, Manila.

I was delighted to read the details about your stay and your experience at the Poolside.

Please know that we value your feedback. On behalf of the rest of my team, I look forward to welcoming you in the future to once again delight you.

Sincerely,

Patrick Schaub
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

A long overdue thank you to Edsa Shangri-la. We stayed here a few weeks ago - security was great, and service, simply impeccable. From the moment we stepped through the doors, the greeters were extremely warm and welcoming, took me straight up to my room to do the check-in right there on an ipad. Room was clean, comfortable and breakfast was such a spread. I think I made 3 rounds the buffet each morning. The connecting malls also made it extremely convenient for some quick shopping and meals. Most importantly, my colleague had a major medical emergency and this being the first time I experience such a thing, I freaked out but the night manager reacted so calmly at 3am, they had an inhouse medical team visit my colleague immediately in her room and within minutes they had their own ambulance take my colleague to the hospital. Their subsequent follow-up was also a very nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thislittlemmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandaluyong
0.6 mi away
Marco Polo Ortigas Manila
5.5 mi away
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
2.9 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines
2.8 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#4 of 82 in Makati
2,116 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Legend Villas
The Legend Villas
#2 of 7 in Mandaluyong
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edsa Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edsa Shangri-La

Property: Edsa Shangri-La
Address: 1 Garden Way | Ortigas Center, Mandaluyong City, Metro Manila, Mandaluyong, Luzon 1650, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Mandaluyong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mandaluyong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Edsa Shangri-La 5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Philippines' foremost deluxe city-resort convention hotel. It offers 631 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, dining choices, and CHI, The Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Edsa Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edsa Shangri-La Hotel Mandaluyong
Edsa Shangri La Mandaluyong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing