We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chinese Restaurant”
Review of Summer Palace

Summer Palace
Ranked #14 of 457 Restaurants in Mandaluyong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Restaurant”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Summer Palace is a chinese restaurant within the Shangri La Edsa Hotel. I am not a big fan of chinese food so we stuck to the basics, sweet and sour pork, fried rice, squid, lemon chicken, pepper beef, etc. It was the best chinese I have ever had. I was with a party of 5 and everyone loved it. They offer sizes of small, medium and large, we were going to get medium dishes, the wait staff suggested small would be enough for the 5 of us. They said the small would be enough for 3 to 4, it was enough for all 5. The quality and the service was faultless and to top it off it was reasonably priced for a 5 star chinese restaurant. It worked out to be around US$35 per person including drinks. Definitely dine here if you are staying at the Edsa.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janeetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    25
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Office team had its post Christmas and post New Year's lunch at Edsa Shangri-La Hotel's Summer Palace.

It was my first time to go and eat in this restaurant. The restaurant itself really looked nice and very Chinese (it is a Chinese Restaurant!).

The private room we had was just right for 16 persons - it was not too small and not too big with a big round table in the center.

Food was really delicious and service was great!

Excellent! =)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Truly worth it!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

What a perfect time for dropping by. For lunch last January 15, only to find out that Summer Palace have a dimsum buffet offer! It includes a wide variety of steamed and fried dimsum, noodles, soup, and dessert (mango pudding is a must try!)

What can I say but it doesn't only fill our tummy but it made us ohhh sooo happy!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank royalyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I love coming here. The food is certainly pricey and you could easily go to the ShangriLa mall or other places for half the price. However, the meals here are exquisite, the ambiance and service beautiful, and it's just a little bit of calm in hectic Manila. After all the traffic of a day at work, etc, there is nothing better than to feel pampered with beautiful food. I think one person dining alone could order a single dish for about $20 including tax and tip. But, who wants to only have one dish? Their Hainan chicken rice, crab, fish, dim sum, all are amazing. I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmericaninJkta29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Real Authentic Chinese/south east asian food”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

little vegetarian options, but food and dissert are excellent. Not for you if you are used to customised 'chinese' flavour in your home country. This is a place if you want to know more about Eastern food and its flavour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Visitor_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summer Palace also viewed

Mandaluyong, Metro Manila
 
Mandaluyong, Metro Manila
Mandaluyong, Metro Manila
 
Mandaluyong, Metro Manila
Mandaluyong, Metro Manila
 

Been to Summer Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing