We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and needs to be renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Eastern Hotel
Ranked #78 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Old and needs to be renovated”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel's exterior and interior are old and musty. The pool is not so nice as it has a strong smell of chlorine. Though the staff are really nice and friendly. I booked a superior room. The regular stuff you usually know that is included like the toiletries, are for sale. The location is great and the price is very affordable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SadjzSumague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    30
    29
    39
See reviews for
23
29
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I came back because the first time it was fairly new Hotel and I liked it then. This time I find it was run down. Looks like they fix nothing and when they do, it no longer looks good. the carpets were wore out. You could see the Jude back showing in spots. We had 2 nails sticking up in the floor between the beds. We only stayed 2 nights and I did not have the family. I would not take them there. Never again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_45ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Makati hotels

San Fernando, Philippines
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very cheap hotel in Makati area but you get what you paid for. Clean rooms and good comfort rooms but the blankets, towels, pillows look very used and dirty. Usual hotel stuff like tooth brush and tooth paste are for sale. I will never go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lonewolfshifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel has a great location in Makati. That's the only nice thing one can say about this place really. Once you see it, you'd know that it USED to be a classy place, but right now there are pension houses that are better than it. You have moldy and worn-out carpets in the rooms, while the showers have marble flooring the towels are so old and worn-out you can almost read a newspaper thru them, the bed smells and feels like an antique and the pillows and blanket were so horrible looking and thin. They should just tear this place down and make a new one.

Room Tip: Stay away. Tune hotel is better and just around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJGO123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was accommodated by the hotel despite booking my room online a few hours prior to my stay. The room smells old but this is a no-nonsense hotel. They can keep the costs low because they provide only the essentials. They change the linen and towels only upon request unlike other hotels that change everyday. That is environment friendly as well as cost effective. The cost is very reasonable considering its proximity to the Makati Commercial District.

There is wifi in the lobby. The hot water in the shower is very relaxing and comforting.

I requested for a pot of hot water but it did not come so I did not bother ordering food (room service) for I might just get disappointed. It's a good thing there are plenty of food establishments around this hotel.

Room Tip: try asking for a room in higher floors so you will be far from the noise of nearby bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy_on_foot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I travel a lot and stays hotels in all over the world. This includes many 3rd world countries.
This hotel is by the far the worst one i ever stayed in. It does not look like they have cleaned sinde pre WW2.
Whatever you do, do not book a room in this hotel! Even though location is nice. Find something else!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eivind S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Nothing good about this hotel. needs to be demolished. Mosquitoes in lobby and rooms. Rooms are flithy. Red carpet probably 30 years old. Drapes same, sheers probably suppose to be white are greyish brown. Bathroom is disgusting. DO NOT stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joni s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 mi away
Citadel Inn Makati
Citadel Inn Makati
#69 of 82 in Makati
3.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.7 mi away
VIP Suite
VIP Suite
#34 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.6 mi away
ZEN Rooms La Paz
ZEN Rooms La Paz
#54 of 82 in Makati
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Durban
Hotel Durban
#19 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#25 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Planet Makati, Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Eastern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Eastern Hotel

Property: Great Eastern Hotel
Address: 7842 Makati Avenue, Makati, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Eastern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Eastern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Eastern Makati
Great Eastern Hotel Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing