We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money, good location”
Review of Hotel Durban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Durban
Ranked #23 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Brussel
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great value for money, good location”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Taxi-drivers don't know it, so just tell them to go to City Hotel on Makati Avenue. It's hardly 30 metres into Durban Street, which is one-way traffic not allowing your taxi to enter from Makati Av. But no need to let it go all around the block for literally those few steps.
When you arrive in the evening, don't be deterred by the "girly-bars" in the neighbourhood. It adds to the "couleur locale", but is not at all disturbing. In fact, because of the one-way traffic, the street is surprisingly quiet for traffic noise.

The hotel is nicely refurbished, clean and modern. Very nice bathroom, well-tiled, shower corner with glass door. And I loved the bed and the pillows. Might be because I'd been traveling for 24 hours, but still!
The rooms are not big, but certainly big enough, certainly if you're just spending the nights there.

Staff of the hotel is really friendly, even to Philippine standards (which is usually friendly everywhere).

There's a little bar in the lobby, that does breakfast in the morning. (Php 250)

I was charged Php 1,700 for the room. Very good value, considering the prices of the much bigger hotels just literally around the corner (less then a minute by foot).

If you have business in Makati, and you're not traveling on the company's account, this is the best value you can find. I'll be back here in the future!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank HM1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldurban, General Manager at Hotel Durban, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
We'd like to thank HM1960 for the wonderful review and are glad that he enjoyed our hospitality and comforts.

While most taxi drivers are acquainted with only the larger chain hotel, we do offer several options to help make getting to us easier. First, on our website's "FAQ" page, we give directions to the hotel in both Tagalog - the local language - and English. The directions are specific and can be understood by any driver coming from any point in Manila. Secondly, our map in the "MAP" page on our website is downloadable and printable for easy reference; the hotel's location is clearly indicated with an arrow.

Finally, we also offer a luxury SUV for airport pick-up and drop-off for a modest fee, which includes transport for up to four people, drinks, and cold, refreshing towels. Contact our front desk directly to book a transfer.

We thank HM1960 again for the kind words and look forward to another visit. In the meantime, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    137
    49
    13
    12
See reviews for
32
117
122
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Durban for a couple of nights in early September and it was great. The hotel itself is very tidy and the staff were very accommodating and there is plenty going on in the area. They do require cash payment on check in but this isn’t a problem as there are a lot of ATM’s nearby. And for those that are interested a yellow metered taxi from the airport cost 340 pesos

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzlpav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

First time to check in at Hotel Durban. Very accommodating staff. Our room is a bit small but it was okay. Wifi is good because Im using my phone. Hehe. We slept comfortably. Food is a bit pricey. A cab away from Glorietta, Greenbelt or SM. 7eleven is just a 5minute walk or less. We enjoyed our overnight stay. :)

Room Tip: If you're claustrophobic, try asking the reception for a better room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camille B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here for a total of 3 nights when i went to Manila for vacation last month. It's a simple yet it has its distinct flair, and most of all very clean and the staff are very hospitable. The only thing which i think it will not harm the hotel is their reservation part, i have given my specifics on which room and floor prior to my visit but i was given what was already available at that time. Am not complaining, i'm just sayin... :)

I highly recommend and will definitely come back on my next visit!! More power Hotel Durban!

Room Tip: No lifts, so make sure you get rooms from the lower floors. Loads of restaurants around the area and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_Martin-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I returned to Hotel Durban this month. Normally when I am in Manila I stay in the fancier hotels, but this time I was with a group of colleagues that did not want to spend the money.

I really can't believe how good a deal this place is. It's only a couple blocks from the central business district. The staff is really nice, and surprisingly efficient for the Philippines. The rooms for all of us were spotless. There was not one of us who had a single complaint about cleanliness. The facilities look fantastic. The facade is strikingly clean for Manila, lots of wood throughout, and real art and antiques on the walls.

The big change since I was here last is the restaurant. The food is really good. We ended up eating here a lot because one of us couldn't walk easily to the restaurants in the neighborhood. Everything was really good--burgers and Italian. But not the super sweet Filipino take on Italian. It was actually respectable. For an international traveler, the prices were great, and cheaper than the Chinese and Japanese restaurants in the neighborhood the night I finally insisted on something different.

Overall I had a great time here and can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: They only accept cash There is no elevator, but they have ground floor rooms The rooms may be a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I was happy with my stay here. Clean and spotless room - a bit small for a business suite :(. Their staff are very helpful & attentive to guest. I love the hotel deco. Near to fast food joint, 7-11. Just perfect. Dont mind its being near to the red light area. Thank you for making my stay a pleasant one. **- the food is abit pricey.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wan_rad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel since we have an early morning appointment in makati. This is small but very clean hotel is located just behind the city garden hotel. I picked this because of the excellent reviews from trip advisor. The room was very clean and the rest room was spotlessly clean as well. For the price i have to say that it exceeded my expectation. Although it is located in the red light district of makati we felt safe since we just minded our own business and the staff were always so mindful of the people who came in and out of the hotel. By the way, the staff were always so polite, helpful and warm. My only down comment is with the food. If only they can make it cheaper because the taste is just soso and it was expensive for the price but it was not so much of a problem because there were a lot of food chains. Good job hotel durban! a must try especially to those who are budget conscious. :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sugar_rush1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#27 of 82 in Makati
316 reviews
1.6 mi away
VIP Suite
VIP Suite
#32 of 82 in Makati
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Planet Makati, Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Guijo Suites Makati
Guijo Suites Makati
#22 of 82 in Makati
364 reviews
1.9 mi away
aurumOne Makati Suites (formerly aurumOne Makati)
0.0 mi away
St Giles Makati Hotel
St Giles Makati Hotel
#31 of 82 in Makati
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durban

Property: Hotel Durban
Address: 4875 Durban Street, Makati, Luzon, Philippines (Formerly Durban Street Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Makati
#6 Business Hotel in Makati
#8 Family Hotel in Makati
#8 Romantic Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Durban 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Durban is located in the up-and-coming Poblacion neighborhood of Makati. Surrounded by hip restaurants and casual bars, the hotel is a small oasis in the heart of the city. Our spare and modern aesthetic underscores the superior comfort, exacting cleanliness, and undeniable value for which we have been known since our founding in 1975. Our guest rooms showcase art by local and international artists while offering all the conveniences expected in a modern hotel. Complimentary high-speed wifi is standard throughout. Farfalla, the hotel’s restaurant, specializes in handcrafted and authentic Italian cuisine overseen by an Italian chef. Pasta and pizza are made fresh daily in addition to an international breakfast selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durban Street Hotel
Hotel Durban Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing