We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Durban
Nearby Hotels
$107
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dusit Thani Manila(Makati)
$136
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$81
$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$210
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Garden Hotel Makati(Makati)(Great Value!)
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peninsula Manila(Makati)
$138
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveler rating
217
153
62
18
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
153
62
18
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfarfalleeconomy roomboutique hotelno liftno windowthe red light districtsmall hotelrooms are cleanthe ground floorbudget hotelsmakati avenuedeluxe roombars and restaurantscentury city mallhot waterdefinitely stay here againnight life
Filter
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 466 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I've been staying here for almost 10 years now. I stayed there when the entrance is a stairs on the side of the building. I would like to congratulate them for improving the entire complex including all of their amenities, even the wifi signals on all floors.All with a home feeling.

Public transportation is so easy whether a cab or a jeepney in front of 7-11. Location + price + amenities = PERFECT!!!

I stayed here with my GF, my family and solo.

Room Tip: Cellphone signal is low in lower floors. Try the fourth floor. It's a climb, but it's all worth it.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ck9663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is an economical Hotel with an amazingly friendly staff
We did have to change rooms due to the one allocated being immediately above the huge outdoor air conditioning plant which was incredibly noisy 24 hours a day,
but the room we moved to was very comfortable and quiet and also cheaper. For $40 Australian a day it was exceptional.
Only complaint was that although the hotel insisted on a no smoking policy in the hotel itself, but the only place to eat breakfast, snacks, etc is on the patio and the hotel refused to segregate smokers from non smokers. Several times we had to forgo eating at the hotel because of smokers seated at intervals for the full length of the patio. There was plenty of seating for smokers to be at one end reserving another end for those who wanted to enjoy the wonderfully prepared food without it being contaminated by foul cigarette smoke, but the staff refused to ask anyone to move, orto place ashtrays only at one end.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the air conditioners in the side lane
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jola90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days. Hotel check in was very efficient, pleasant and helpful,rooms were ready upon check in.
Rooms were very modern with fridge, tv, bed was most comfortable I have slept in for a long time, bathroom was a nice size with a very modern walk in shower with plenty of hot water. Location is perfect for the local nightlife, not too far to the malls either. All in all we had a great stay & I would recommend to all.
One negative is the ongoing refurbishment which is noisy from 9am onwards, if you're out late at night this might be a bother to you!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bootleultras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldurban, General Manager at Hotel Durban, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thanks to Bootleultras for the review. We're very happy he enjoyed our hotel, especially the speedy check-in and our superb location. We hosted the reviewer during the middle of our planned renovations for the 4th floor. We are happy to report, however, that as of this writing, all the renovations to the rooms and hallways are completed. We've added three more of our most popular types of rooms - our Superior Suites, which are cozier than ever. By the end of the month, our courtyard will have a completely new ventilation system and glass roof. We're also completely redoing our café's already wonderful menu in order to accommodate a broader range of tastes.

We'd like to thank the reviewer again for the wonderful comments and look forward to welcoming him back the next time he's in town. In the meantime, safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Located right in the middle of P. Burgos which is the party street in Makati with a bunch of gogo bars and beautiful women. I stayed in a premium room which was just right for the price. They were doing construction on the 4th floor which my buddy was staying on so he didn't appreciate the sound of hammers and drills after partying all night. I stayed on the 2nd floor so I did not hear any noise and slept very well. It is definltely a place for the bachelor maybe for couples. Good chill spot nearby called Cafe Cubana which has cheap beer and cuban cigars. Definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMoney08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldurban, General Manager at Hotel Durban, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thanks to HMoney08 for the review. We are glad that he found our rooms clean and comfortable and that he had a restful sleep after a round of enjoying the neighborhood. While we are cognizant of the character of our surroundings, as well as its reputation for spirited night-light, we make every effort to ensure that our hotel is an oasis from all that.

Hotel Durban is a family- and business-friendly hotel. We have been a favorite hotel of families and single women travelers looking for a safe, clean, brightly lit place that delivers the best value in its class.

Hotel Durban is located at the very edge of the Burgos entertainment disctrict, catty-corner from a major bank that is well-guarded at all hours. Our hotel itself, in addition to round-the-clock armed security, has no fewer than 24 CCTV cameras that constantly monitor the premises. Hotel Durban was designed specifically to be welcoming: our all-glass lobby is brightly lit; our airy terrace is punctuated by bright greenery, shiny aluminum café tables, and stark white chairs. We work closely with local law-enforcement to discourage human trafficking in all its unfortunate forms. We do not admit guests without proper identification, and we certainly do not admit known-prostitutes as guests. We work hard to protect the security of our guests while they are with us.

We were in the middle of a full renovation of our 4th floor when the reviewer stayed with us. We are happy to report that the principal work is now finished: all rooms have new floors, beds, air-conditioning, curtains, and sound-proofing. Even the hallways have been fully redone. As of this writing, we are replacing the glass roof over the couryard and installing a venting and natural air circulation system, which will keep the courtyard cool even during the hottest time of the day.

In the coming weeks, look to our café to sport a fully revised menu. We’ll still keep the terrific breakfasts for which we’re coming to be known in the neighborhood, but we’ll adding a few amazing things, too.

We are glad Hmoney08 enjoyed our hotel, it’s superb location, and our wonderful staff, and we thank him again for the review. Come see for yourself why Hotel Durban is ranked Number One for hotels that give the best value, according to TripAdvisor’s users. In the meantime, safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hi,

We chose this hotel on the back of the reviews on trip advisor and again were not disappointed. We came on easter friday and used it as our base in Makati while we were back and forth travelling around the visayas.

The room we ordered through email was a superior double and cost us 2000 pesos per night which reception ask you to pay on arrival not check out. We have stayed in 4 different rooms now and all similar in design and quality. All very clean with good quality and quiet air con, hot and cold shower and fridge. We stayed on either the 3rd or 4th floor with windows facing the street outside which is a bit noisy but that is to be expected due to the location. There are internal rooms with no windows that are very quiet but we prefer the windowed rooms as we are slightly chlostrophobic.

I have stayed in many hotels in this area through work and then holidays and can honestly say I have never had as nice a hotel in makati for the price we paid. The lobby, cafe and internals of the hotel are also very nice. Dont expect a boutique hotel with all the plush fittings and swanky extras but what you get for your money is well worth it.

There have been many positive comments on the staff which we would also like to heap praise upon. They are professional without being stuffy and are always cheerful and very helpful.

We will return to the phills in the future and I will look no further than the Durban if we are to stay in Makati. What you get for your dosh is great value and a nice clean hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor rooms are probably quieter than the ones below.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zipstobhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldurban, General Manager at Hotel Durban, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

We'd like to thank zipstobhill for the great review. We're very happy that the reviewer was able to sample several of our rooms - and happier still that he found them all as cozy and clean as each other. We're especially glad about the comments about our wonderful staff: as we've said time and again in TripAdvisor, at the end of the day, it's our staff that makes our hotel as good as it is. We look forward to welcoming zipstobhill back on his next trip. In the meantime, safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews