We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Durban
Nearby Hotels
$214
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New World Makati Hotel(Makati)
$123
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$124
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$119
$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Garden Hotel Makati(Makati)(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveler rating
216
152
61
18
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
152
61
18
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatoreconomy roomfarfalleboutique hotelno windowthe red light districtsmall hotelrooms are cleanmakati avenuethe ground floordeluxe roombars and restaurantscentury city mallhot waterdefinitely stay here againnight lifeconvenient location
Filter
Updating list...
352 - 357 of 463 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have stayed this hotel several times and when looking good value hotel I will keep coming back. Hotel location is great, plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. Short taxi to Greenbelt etc. Rooms are good size with aircon. There is free wifi too. Hotel is perhaps bit noisy but I have always stayed ground floor which is probably the worst.. Staff is extremely helpful and take good care of me especially once when had food poisoning.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jopex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldurban, General Manager at Hotel Durban, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Many thanks to Jopex for his review and for this continued patronage of our small hotel. Our staff strives very hard to make each guest’s stay as comfortable as possible, especially when a guest falls ill. We all know how travelling to different countries can make our bodies susceptible to occasional bouts of illness – be it through food or just catching a random bug. It’s no problem for our staff to run to drug or convenience stores, get tea, clear soups (which aren’t on our café’s menu), or medical assistance when necessary. All our guests have to do is ask.

We are in the middle of our noise-abatement efforts throughout the hotel: sealing up inside windows and soundproofing exterior ones, carpeting stairs, and changing doors. In the case of the west-wing of our ground floor rooms where the reviewer stayed, we are building a solid wall and installing a tempered glass door to insulate those rooms from lobby and stair noise; work begins in the last week of March. We hope Jopex will approve our efforts the next time he visits. In the meantime, come see for yourself why Hotel Durban is the Number One value hotel in Makati, according to TripAdvisor’s rankings. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I've stayed in Hotel Durban many times. This visit I stayed in room 304 - the business suite. The room is a good size and looks new and was very clean. One downside was that the shower didn't have a cold tap, the only option in the shower was luke warm water.
I think the room has just been refurbished and they have yet to deal with the problem that the wifi doesn't quite give a strong enough signal to that room. When I complained I was told I could maybe use the internet in the lobby or outside my room - this wasn't quite ideal for the work I needed to do online. However they made up for it by letting me have a late check out free of charge. The staff are friendly and helpful but could work on smiling more. Overall the hotel is in a good location, great value and the rooms are new and clean.

Room Tip: Book in advance, weekends are generally fully booked.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashleychar1es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in Jan 2013. Had to change room after 1 night as shower didnt have temp control and water wasnt hot. 2nd room was fine and never had any probs. Staff were helpful and courteous. Would recommend it due to location and general quality.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlfKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldurban, General Manager at Hotel Durban, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

We'd like to thank AlfKar for the review. The hot-water heaters in most of our rooms can be directly adjusted by the user. However, those in our newer rooms like the one in which the reviewer stayed, are hidden - so as to give the bathroom a cleaner appearance - and pre-set at 100ºF (37ºC) but may vary depending upon the water flow-rate the user desires: the faster the flow, the lower the temperature. In our experience, we have found that, because of the Philippines's year-round warm climate, our guests generally prefer a shower that is refreshing and doesn’t run too hot. As in the reviewer's case, we can easily re-accommodate guests in rooms more suitable for their needs.

We are currently in the process of renovating our entire 4th floor rooms; later in the year, we will turn our attention to the bathrooms on our 2nd floor. We will be mounting all our water heaters so that they can be adjusted by the users.

We thank AlKar for the review and look forward to the reviewer's next visit. In the meantime, safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights and in 3 different rooms after I had problems. The first room, just to the side of the breakfast bar area was noisy, with staff arriving around 06:45 talking loudly and general noise from the reception area during the day. There is a glass door that when shut cuts some of it down, but it kept being left open. The stupid opaque glass panel to the side of my room door illuminated the room from the lights in the hallway, so I had to keep turning the light off in the hall at night to get to sleep. The toilet blocked up after one flush.
I asked to be moved and ended up in a room to the side of the stairs. My problems were not over!!!! The air con could not be adjusted, ran flat out, and turned the room into a fridge. The reception area noise continued and I was woken up at 2am by guests checking out. If that wasn't enough, prostitutes leaving at 4am came clattering down the stairs, talking to each other only feet away from where I was sleeping.
My final room was upstairs. I was charged extra for this, even after all of my previous problems. It was great, apart from the glass panel above the door, that as stated above, is stupid design and lets light into the room at night. I eventually managed to get a couple of decent nights' sleep.
The location - it's right in a thriving area of prostitutes, massage practitioners and girlie bars. Seconds after I left the hotel I was being offered massage, fake Rolex, Viagra, Cialis, young girls etc. In fact you don't have to leave the hotel, just sit on the small terrace at the front and they will come to you, so don't expect an uninterrupted beer...... The Greenbelt Malls and Ayala Triangle park are within walking distance.
This is a clean and modern hotel but let down by irritating issues. The air con units are modern and quiet. The staff were always polite, courteous and helpful. The design of the rooms with the glass panels is just poor. They should be painted over. Take a printed map of where the hotel is located (as I did), as no taxi driver knew it or the street.

Room Tip: Stay out of the rooms on the ground floor, unless you are a heavy sleeper!!!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PlaneCrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldurban, General Manager at Hotel Durban, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

We are very sorry for PlaneCrisp’s recent experience at our hotel.

In every hotel there are rooms that are naturally quieter than others because of their respective locations. If a guest is uncomfortable, we make every effort to relocate him or her to more suitable quarters if available. Since the hotel is often fully committed, however, options may be limited. Nevertheless, we make every effort to ensure that our guests are comfortable.

Two of the rooms in which the reviewer stayed do not have outward facing windows. Rather than enclose the rooms fully, we opted to install a single clerestory window in each; that is, a long, fixed, narrow window just below the ceiling. These windows are frosted and admit natural light from the hallways outside. (In certain ground-floor rooms, the window is vertically placed alongside the door.) While the guest response to this design element has been overwhelmingly positive, we acknowledge there are a few guests who would rather have the room completely dark while they sleep. As of this writing, we have begun work on a solid, interior shutter, which guests may close at will, blocking out all light. We are also removing hallway ceiling lights in front of the affected rooms and replacing them with base board-mounted fixtures that will illuminate only the hallway floors.

As part of our noise-abatement program for 2012, we completed the installation of black-out and sound-dampening window coverings on all outward-facing windows of our 2nd and 3rd floor rooms. In 2013, apart from extensively renovating our 4th floor, we shall be carpeting our main stairs and further insulating certain of our ground-floor rooms from lobby and main stair noise, especially from stray conversations. We have also revisited our staff training to address conversations - among staff and guests alike - in public areas where guests may be disturbed.

Our interior lobby doors, between the front desk and the guest rooms, are open daily between 8:00am and 7:00pm. Over time, we have found that first floor guests prefer this arrangement because it allows a continuous background noise level; keeping the interior lobby door closed during the day makes of intermittent bursts of noise as guests leave and return, which can be distracting. (That said, the majority of our guests are awake and out of the hotel during daytime hours.) When guests tell us they plan to sleep during the day, we arrange to accommodate them properly in other rooms.

Our maintenance team constantly ensures our electrical, plumbing, and in-room facilities operate within normal parameters; and when something does not work, it is fixed or replaced immediately. The reviewer’s concern about the toilet was due to a faulty flush mechanism, which our maintenance team replaced as soon as it was reported. While most of our rooms are outfitted with the latest remote-controlled, split-type air-conditioning units on the market, the air conditioner in the reviewer’s room was a unit that still required manual adjusting. We have since re-checked the unit and found it to be operating properly.

Hotel Durban is a family- and business-friendly hotel. We have been a favorite hotel of families and single women travelers looking for a safe, clean, brightly lighted place that delivers the best value in its class. Our all-glass lobby is always brightly lit, as are all our public spaces. We have installed no fewer than 24 CCTV cameras throughout the property in order to ensure the safety of our guests. Our security team is vigilant and works in close collaboration with local police to discourage human trafficking in all its unfortunate forms, and we do not admit known-prostitutes as guests.

Our team also actively discourages street-side vendors and mendicants from bothering our guests relaxing or eating on our terrace; we also ask our guests to not entertain or encourage any offers from them. We are unable to control unwanted approaches once a guest is off our property, however. We work hard to protect the security of our guests while they are with us.

Despite, PlaneCrisp’s misgivings, we are glad that the reviewer managed to enjoy a couple of restful nights at our hotel, it’s superb location, and our wonderful staff. We thank the reviewer again for the review. Come see for yourself why Hotel Durban is ranked Number One for hotels that give the best value, according to TripAdvisor’s users. In the meantime, safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I read all the previous reviews of this hotel posted here, both good and bad. I decided to stay here because the tenor of reviews were generally very positive. Here are my thoughts and relevant information:

1. I took a Yellow Taxi from NAIA to Hotel Durban at about 10 pm on a Wednesday night. The trip was easy and fast and the fare (with meter always) was 166 PHP. Just tell the driver to take you to the City Garden Hotel and then just walk about 20 meters to the hotel around the corner. Since the driver did not try to push a flat fare or other shenanigans, I gave 190 PHP and he did not say thank you or anything else. I guess he assumed a Westerner will over-tip and was disappointed.

2. Shiela greeted me at the front desk. The lobby is white tile and spotless; no bugs, no dirt. I was surprised to learn the room was pay in advance with cash only, but that was not a problem. They copied my passport as no security deposit is required on the room. You prepay each day, not all at once on the first day. I guess that means you can leave anytime and not pay the remaining part of the reservation.

3. I was given a suite on the fourth floor; I believe it was number 401. It was small, but clean and there were no bugs, dirt, or rodents. It was mostly quiet although the hotel adjoining my room has constant low noises from air conditioning and maybe a bell which I assume was from service elevators. The noise was drowned out by my air conditioner in the room and I had no problems, and the power of the unit was strong enough to keep me cool. The curtains keep the room very dark and I slept well. The sheets are very fresh and white.

4. The water pressure in the shower was only about average, maybe 5 out of 10, and the water did not get much hotter than lukewarm. The bathroom was very clean, and as others noted, there is no shelf for toiletries. I simply put my things on the sink and on top of the refrigerator which was about 5 feet from the sink. It worked perfectly for a budget hotel.

5. The room has no mirror other than the one over the sink. It is not a big deal but I am sure some will find it a problem.

6. There is no elevator, but I had no problem getting to the fourth floor many times a day.

7. There is a 7-11 on P. Burgos Street and an internet cafe next door.

8. I ate at Hap Chan Chinese restaurant near the intersection of Durban Street and Makati Ave. It is just down and across the street from Shakey's. The food was excellent and two can eat there easily for only 700 PHP.

9. Every time I get to Manila I make sure to eat at ZIGGURAT restaurant located down an alley from the Hotel Durban. The food is AMAZING and very affordable. You will not be disappointed.

10. There is no clock in the room. I had my cell phone so that was not a problem. I never realized how often I look at clocks in hotels.

11. Checkout is 12 noon. I love that because most places make you leave by 11 a.m.

12. My White taxi from the hotel to Terminal 3 (domestic terminal) at NAIA was 131.00 PHP.

In summary the hotel is great. It is so clean. Service was professional and courteous. I really recommend it to anyone travelling to Makati. It is centrally located and I had no problems with the local nightlife. If you ignore them, they will leave you alone too.

Room Tip: I was in Suite 401. With the air conditioning on, you will have a good stay and not hear outside noise
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tbralliar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews