We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely warm and friendly hotel”
Review of Dusit Thani Manila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Dusit Thani Manila
Ranked #18 of 85 Hotels in Makati
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stayed in a room that had access to the executive club lounge. Talk about a sanctuary and a lovely place to chill out or have a relaxed meeting. First class.

The view looking East from the club lounge was stunning and its easy to forget that you are actually in a very busy CBD. It close to all amenities and its the easiest 5 star Makati hotel to get to the airport. The service and the staff that provided it show that the senior management of the hotel are totally professional and understand how to breath life into the promise of an outstanding customer experience. No lip service here , this was the real deal!

I highly recommend the hotel for any executives visiting Manila.

Room Tip: see if you can get a room with the view looking East, as you can see distant volcanos and mountains
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Dusit Worldwide Co. Ltd
Thank MartinConboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit M, General Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Martin C

Thank you for you r wonderful review following your recent stay with us and delighted that you enjoyed the Club Lounge and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dusit Thani Manila in the near future and wish you well.

Yours sincerely

Alex Willats
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,065)
There are newer reviews for Dusit Thani Manila
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,064 - 1,070 of 2,065 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

Went for a meeting at the end of March 2014.
Hotel staff were friendly and genuine, doesn't look fake.
They had sniffer canines for security before entering the hotel.
Buffet breakfast was good with a nice spread.
Rooms had very fast WIFI and LAN connections.
Rooms were clean, no cigarette smell. However, noted the sink was rather low for a 169cm adult like myself.

Room Tip: Choose non smoking room
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit M, General Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear RKHB

Thank you for you r wonderful review following your recent stay with us.

I have noted your comment on the height of sinks in guestrooms and we will review this as we undertake our renovation of guestrooms during the course of this year.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dusit Thani Manila in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Alex Willats
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Rooms are ok size, staff friendly and quite helpful and efficient, good choice at breakfast. Quality of fittings old (all lamps have different switches!, no hot water in sink), can hear every word spoken in the corridor with the door shut, melons were spoilt at breakfast and muesli looked dry and unappetizing, don't expect a fresh juice for a welcome drink (even in the tropics!), mattresses and pillows can give you bodyche/ headache...

Room Tip: Take ear plugs and your own travel pillow for a good sleep!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Dusit Worldwide Co. Ltd
Thank Rajee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit M, General Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Rajee R

Thank you for your review and the comments regarding the condition in some areas of the hotel. I am pleased to announce that we will start our major renovations across the hotel which will incorporate the guestrooms, outlets and other public areas.

We fully understand the need to uplift the property and restore the hotel to its former glory over the coming months ahead. You will be able to follow our progress on Facebook by liking our page, Dusit Thani Manila.

We look forward to your returning to the hotel in due course.

Yours sincerely

Alex Willats
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed five nights at this hotel and found the professionalism and helpfulness of the staff to be exceptional! Our room was a bit noisy for my husband as it faced a major street but he is very sensitive to noise, I am not.

Eric was very helpful in planing a couple of day trips, arranging cars and advice. We very much appreciated all he did. The entire staff were always welcoming and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the major intersection, if you have sleep sensitivity.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Dusit Worldwide Co. Ltd
Thank DennisandLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit M, General Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear DennisandLaurie

Thank you for the lovely review and I am sorry that your husband suffered with noise from the street and we shall be sure to take note of this to allocate a room away from that side of the hotel.

We look forward to your returning in due course.

Yours sincerely

Alex Willats
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Greatest hotel in Manila to stay at, when u first arrive u are greeted by the staff, the staff is very kind, professional and polite. The rooms are beautiful, beds and pillows will put u to sleep instantly, great food and everything else in the hotel. If u ever visit Manila u have to stay at Dusit Thani AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME V/R MR PHILLIPS

Room Tip: Every type of room is perfect
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit M, General Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Terrence P

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and we hope that you will again visit us soon.

The comments in regards to the staff is indeed a pleasure to read and I shall ensure we share this with our staffs for such high recognition.

Yours sincerely

Alex Willats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Dusit Thani makes you feel really comfortable, almost like home. Some of the rooms would benefit from some refurbishment though.

I stayed here multiple times over a few months due to work, so already the fact that I happily came back is proof of Dusit's quality.

The service is outstanding, they really try to make everything possible and convenient for you, from luggage storage and delivery to taxi service, lost and found, everything.

The rooms are nice, but vary a bit from room to room and I once had one with very limited lighting, and when requesting additional lights I got quite old shabby ones. The King Size beds and the pillows are fabulous.

The breakfast is superb and while they close the buffet pretty much on time, they let you sit until they really need to prepare your table for lunch.

The hotel is in walking distance to Glorietta, Greenbelt and other malls, so shopping or food is never far. Which is good as the hotel restaurant, shop and in-room facilities are somewhere between expensive and a rip-off ($10 for a 1l bottle of Evian). Also they charge you 10% on SIM card credit purchased at the shop, a practice never seen anywhere else in the Philippines.

One thing that is remarkable is the fluctuation in prices. I stayed in one and the same category for 6,000 PHP, but another time they asked for double that. And were not willing to offer any discounts although I had stayed over 10 nights over recent weeks. So I moved out as the Dusit is great but not worth over 10,000 PHP for the King room.

Maybe the best is the crowd: A nice mix of tourists, business travelers, wealthy locals, and Filipinos from abroad on a home visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsh_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit M, General Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear GSH_1975

Thank you for your review and comments following your most recent stay with us. It is great to read that you have been staying with us on several occasions and that the staffs and service have been first class each time.

I have noted the comments on the different rooms and I am please to announce that we will be starting a programme of renovation of all our guestrooms over the coming year ahead.

I have also noted your comment on the different rates for the same room category which would be due to the seasonality and demand which changes on a daily basis. What I would suggest is that as a frequent traveler to Dusit to join our Gold Card Loyalty Programme which can be done by visiting Dusit.com and completing the application form online. This will not only give you access to our members rates but also additional privileges and stay bonuses the more you choose to book and stay with Dusit International Hotels and Resorts.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Manila in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Alex Willats
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My overall stay at the hotel was satisfactory. I commend the staff for being very efficient, warm, and very attentive to my needs.

The room was clean but outdated. The cable tv provider was substandard (no HD channels). The beds were excellent but furnitures were worn out. The bathroom was acceptable but the towels looked worn out as well. The toiletries, especially the body lotion was lovely.

I was very disappointed in the venue of our meeting which was the Poolside Pavilion. Considering that I attended an international event, I did not expect that our venue was just a makeshift tent. Though the set up looked nice, we were easily distracted by sound of bus horns, MRT passing by, and I think we even heard an airplane flying over. Being Filipino, I felt especially embarrassed when two of the international speakers made sarcastic remarks about the disturbing noises on EDSA in the middle of their lectures.

The hotel is on a prime location and I'm pretty sure that you get to host numerous international events. I am optimistic that you will address this issue in future events.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Dusit Worldwide Co. Ltd
Thank Noelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit M, General Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Noelle R

Thank you for your review following your stay and attendance at the event over the last few days. Indeed the Pavilion does incur some external noise distractions for which we do not have control sadly and indeed we do not usually make this venue available for events such as this as it is more suited to exhibitions and social events which do not demand such a high level of noise control.

We shall have our newly renovated Ballroom available from the end of April this year and I am in no doubt that this world class venue will be more akin to the hosting of events such as these in the future along with the 12 other meeting venues we have at the hotel. Indeed we have already discussed this with the meeting organisor to see what we can arrange for a future event at Dusit Thani Manila.

Thank you once again and I hope we will see you back at the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Alex Willats
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#6 of 85 in Makati
2,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Makati
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 85 in Makati
1,674 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astoria Greenbelt
Astoria Greenbelt
#19 of 85 in Makati
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Manila

Address: | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1223, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Makati
#10 Business Hotel in Makati
#14 Spa Hotel in Makati
#14 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range: $101 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit Thani Manila 4.5*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Thani Manila is located in the heart of the Philippines' premiere financial district, Makati City. The hotel is 25 minutes from the Ninoy Aquino International Airport, 15 minutes away from the country's major convention centers, right-at-the-doorstep shopping malls and entertainment centers. With 537 guest rooms and suites, 11 meeting and banqueting rooms for up to 1,000 persons, bars and restaurants - The Pantry, Benjarong Royal Thai Cuisine, Umu Japanese Restaurant, Pool Bar, Grab and Go, DFiT Fitness Center and award-winning Devarana Spa. The newly opened Celebrations Lounge, the hotel's dedicated events center is located at the Lobby Level while the 900 square meter Dusit Club Lounge, Library and Gold & Silver Private Dining Rooms are located on the 17th Floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Dusit Thani Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Manila Hotel Makati
Dusit Thani Hotel Manila
Dusit Makati
Manila Dusit Thani Hotel
Dusit Hotel Makati
Dusit Thani Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing