We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Dusit Thani Manila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dusit Thani Manila
Ranked #21 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Reviewed December 30, 2013

For shopping , its perfect . Its beside SM store . About the food for breakfast ? It provides a good number of choices from eggs cooked to your liking , cold cuts fruits etc . The room given us was adequate although the suite has only a queen ? bed and a living room separated by a wall . True as the other reviewer mentioned , the aircon was really cold as to provide coolness in summmer in the Phil. but for a december weather , it is freezing even though we turned down the temperature control ,so we requested extra blankets . Staff are very nice and accomodating . The kids enjoyed the pool though the water was cold to my liking . Its not an indoor pool and not heated .

Room Tip: The suite has only a queen bed , but the living area has a sofa . We booked two rooms , a suite and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearl254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit M, General Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear Pearl254

Happy New Year and thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay with us.

We will review our thermostatic air-conditioning settings as it is clear that it is perhaps too cold for some travelers and affects the comfort of their stay with us.

I do hope that the next time you are visiting Manila you will choose to stay with us.

Best regards

Alex Willats
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,272 - 1,278 of 2,187 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel within walking distance of shopping malls restaurants and bars. Big rooms with comfortable beds and friendly staff it also has a lovely pool. The breakfast is worth it but found the evening meals are a bit expensive fir very small portions.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank nbjewellerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit M, General Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear NBJewellerboy

Thank you for the great review following your recent stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to see that guests have enjoyed their stay with us.

I have noted your comments regarding our pricing in the restaurant and we shall review this to ensure we are competitive with those other hotels in the Makati area.

We hope you will come back and stay with us in the New Year.

Yours sincerely

Alex Willats
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

All the rooms are on max air conditioning to get rid of the old, musty smell that the earlier reviewer mentioned - consequently they're freezing. The windows are all sealed shut and the hotel doesn't have any heaters. We'd arrived late at night so had to stay for 1 night but checked out next morning and cancelled rest of booking. On the plus side, room service was good but we couldn't leave the no-air sealed freezer fast enough!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Betty_R_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit M, General Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Betty_R_UK

Thank you for the review following your recent stay with us and I am sorry that you found the rooms to be cold and unable to regulate the temperature. Please accept my apologies for this and that you felt you had to cut short your stay with us.

I have shared these comments with our Director of Engineering to review the thermostatic control in the room you resided in.

Our rooms have windows that are sealed shut for health and safety reasons and also to control the amount of external pollutants into the guestrooms.

We will be undertaking a significant improvement programme in 2014 and will be addressing our guestrooms adding many new features to the rooms which will provide a much improved stay experience and we hope that you may come back and try us again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Alex Willats
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this place, I hardly recommended it for their amazing breakfast : delicious homemade bread and pastries. Rooms are bigs and very clean, bed is big and very comfortable, we spend a very good time their !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit M, General Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Maria G

Thank you for the wonderful review following your recent with us.

We hope you will return in the near future for another restful and romantic stay with us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Alex Willats
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Dusit thani manila has the charm and warmth that you can only get in asia. As we were travelling with our 6 month old baby grandson we had special needs and the staff especially the reception staff at dusit were extremely attentive.

Dont forget your universal power plug for all your electrical gear as the dusit still has the old 2 point american standard electrical socket. Otherwise we were very happy with all the facilities of the hotel. 5 out of 5.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Francis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit M, General Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Francis T

Thank you for the review and also the comment regarding adaptors for guests staying in the hotel. Whilst we do have these available on request as part of our renovation we will be including these as a standard throughout the guestroom as well as HDMI connections so that you will be able to plug in your hardware and watch this through the 42" television at your leisure.

We hope to see you back in the New Year.

Yours sincerely

Alex Willats
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

i was upgraded to the executive room during my last visit. although i am happy with the gesture, i didnt like the room.
it is old, has a musky old carpet smell, and very dark. The room is in a very awkward shape and i feel very uncomfortable with the set up. there's only night lights at the bedroom section and i have to request for additional lamps in order to work.
the shower area's hot water is not working and i have to bathe at the tub area. they do not provide the usual white bath robe but the batik design kind. it look unwashed and i dont even dare to touch it.
the only saving grace is its close proximity to shopping mall. it is just across the sm mall which us connected to 2 other malls.
if given a choice, i would not like to go back there.


  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evie_chua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit M, General Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Evie_Chua

Thank you for your comments in reviewing your recent visit and stay at Dusit Thani.

I am sorry to read that you found the room to have some issues and our Executive Housekeeper and Engineer will personally address these as part of our improvement programme.

I would like to add that in the New Year we undertake a full and extensive programme of refurbishment which will address all these comments you have made.

I hope that will return once we have completed our new rooms and restaurant.

Yours sincerely

Alex Willats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Most of the hotels in the makati area is expensive, especially those that are well-maintained.

That said, Dusit is relatively a good value. Room was very neat and comfortable. Bathroom was clean but not impressive. Service was very good.

Breakfast was good but could be better with more variety (compared to Shangri-la and Sofitel).

Location is very good. Walking distance to the malls. There's a good japanese restaurant, Nihon baste across the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit M, General Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Echo924

Thank you for your comments following your stay with us at Dusit Thani.

We have reviewed these with my Executive Chef and Director of Food and Beverage and will see in which areas we can add further variety to the extensive breakfast buffet.

We look forward to you returning on your next visit to Manila.

Yours sincerely

Alex Willats
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#6 of 86 in Makati
2,245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 86 in Makati
1,814 reviews
1.1 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Makati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Manila

Address: | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1223, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Makati
#10 Business Hotel in Makati
#14 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#15 Spa Hotel in Makati
Price Range: $107 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit Thani Manila 4.5*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Thani Manila is located in the heart of the Philippines' premiere financial district, Makati City. The hotel is 25 minutes from the Ninoy Aquino International Airport, 15 minutes away from the country's major convention centers, right-at-the-doorstep shopping malls and entertainment centers. With 537 guest rooms and suites, 11 meeting and banqueting rooms for up to 1,000 persons, bars and restaurants - The Pantry, Benjarong Royal Thai Cuisine, Umu Japanese Restaurant, Pool Bar, Grab and Go, DFiT Fitness Center and award-winning Devarana Spa. The newly opened Celebrations Lounge, the hotel's dedicated events center is located at the Lobby Level while the 900 square meter Dusit Club Lounge, Library and Gold & Silver Private Dining Rooms are located on the 17th Floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and getaroom.com so you can book your Dusit Thani Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Manila Hotel Makati
Dusit Thani Hotel Manila
Dusit Makati
Manila Dusit Thani Hotel
Dusit Hotel Makati
Dusit Thani Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing