We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dusit Thani Manila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dusit Thani Manila
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Italy
Level Contributor
207 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Dusit Thani, the staff were all very friendly, especially the girl at the concierge desk who gave us details on the best way to visit the city in a day. The location is great especially if you like shopping as there's one shopping mall after the other across the street from the hotel. The room was very nice overlooking the pool, not very big but you're never in the room anyway and it was well furnished. I posted a seperate review of the restaurant but we had a very nice dinner there at a very reasonable rate. The only negative thing I would say is the bar in the lobby, it lacks atmosphere and the live music is very old fashioned (there was an older guy with his son playing a sax and singing Frank sinatra songs) and stops at 10.30pm the hotel was really busy as we saw at breakfast but we were the only ones at the bar, the cocktails were also not that great, it was a shame that the pool bar closes at 10pm because it was much nicer and the cocktails were superior. Anyway, we wouldn't hesitate to return to the Dusit thani as we really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    698
    296
    119
    89
See reviews for
359
362
182
665
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for four nights this month, after staying there last year. I booked the hotel based on my enjoyable experience last year.
The service here is outstanding, the location is perfect - close to all the major shopping centres and restaurants - you can cross the street and walk straight through to Greenbelt via a number of stores. The pool and gym are great, as are the breakfast buffet and selection of restaurants within the hotel.
Whilst I am a huge fan of the hotel, there is one major problem which has me questioning whether or not i will stay there again. The issue here is the rooms themselves and the smell of cigarette smoke throughout the rooms.
I specifically booked a non smoking room because I disliked the smell of my room last year, which was a smoking room. Even with the non smoking room, the smell of cigarette was still very obvious. For a non smoker there is nothing worse then waking up to the smell of cigarette in the air. Other reviews seem to note this as an issue.
Basically all aspects of the hotel, excluding the rooms ,are perfect but the rooms are a let down. They need to ban smoking in rooms all together here and give the rooms a new touch of paint and carpet - I think the cigarette smoke has stuck itself to the walls, carpet and into the air con as well. With a lot of other hotels around I think Dusit needs to lift its game here and get its rooms to match its outstanding staff and facilities.

Be aware there is a major construction project going on directly across the road - this looks to be a long term project and work begins early and finishes late 7 days a week. The sound of excavation machines is very loud. This is not a problem if you don`t plan to spend some time in your room but if you do this will impact on your rest time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Louche1864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We have stayed in Manila on at least 6 previous occasions.1st time at the Dusit Thani, first impression when getting out of the taxi was quite impressive, lobby is beautiful and the staff helpfull. I had booked a junior suite but when checking in i asked if we had access to the 17th floor, the club lounge, i was told i could upgrade for an extra cost per night for me and my wife, i agreed to this. When we got to our room, that is what it was, simply a small room with large bed. It took lot of time to get the staff to understand that i booked a suite and not a room. Apparently because i booked a suite i did'nt have access to the club lounge, i insisted upon changing room to the suite i booked, on entering our "Suite" we found that also was just a single room with a sofa, this they said was their interpretation of a "Suite", sadly it is not mine.
The room was very tired, the windows very dirty, dont open, the bathroom was very small and again showing its age, the sink had been painted white.
Carpets in the room and throughout the floor we were on were very dirty. This hotel looked good but once out of reception/lobby it was quite poor. The breakfast was good, lots of choice and there was a very nice garden at the back of the lobby.
I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Better rooms in cheaper hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scuba365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The main lobby of the hotel is quite impressive. However the bedrooms i stayed in somehow smelt mouldy, also the bathroom is not really up to a 4 or 5 star category. Buffet breakfast at this hotel is quite good with so much variety of food to choose from.

Great welcome in THAI style and nice in house PIZZA

Room Tip: Dont Choose room on south side due to ongoing construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jainking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danelle P, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Khun jainking,

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We take great pride in our food and beverage offerings and we are happy to know that you enjoyed dining in Basix, our All-Day Dining Restaurant for your breakfast buffet as well as Tosca's pizza.

After the launch of the new Dusit Club Lounge last April, the renovation of our Club Rooms is underway. This is in line with our thrust to continue to provide our valued guests with a better product to match the excellent service we are known for. To welcome you back and usher you into this new and exciting offering would be our great pleasure.

Kap Khun Ka,

Danelle Palang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
126 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Indeed, a great experience though I only stay 2 nights. Excellent service at the Front Desk; Friendly Housekeepers; and very comfortable yet cozy Room (except the bathroom which is a bit small). But, need to improve their varities for breakfast though the service is very prompt. Well, simply love its location if you are a shopaholic. Also. you would be spoiled for a vast variety of cuisines as well as night entertainments nearby. Of course, a stone throw away from my all-time favourite - Hard Rock Cafe Makati at Ayala Centre. Awesome local bands they have lined up each day! A must visit.

Helpful?
2 Thank BB2015LWT
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Danelle P, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Khun Johnnylinwt,

Truly a joy to know that you had a great experience during your 2-night stay with us. It would definitely be a pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit.

Wishing you all good things for now.

Kap Khun Ka,

Danelle Palang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
219 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Correct location, great staff, great room and service makes this one of the best in Makati. I reached early much before check in time (which was informed to them well in advance) ) but they could not allot the room for 2 hours. Nevertheless, staff was extremely helpful but could have been more hospitable. Its at times like this- after a night flight when you arrive and have to sit in lobby for over 2 hours that the real test for any hotel and its staff. Sadly, they don't score high on this count,Anyways, it was made up by the service in rest of the stay. In fact, id made up for the small discomfort on arrival.

Location - perfect. The most happening area and all stores etc walking distance.
Rooms are good. What one expects. Nothing exceptionable but adequate.
Food- excellent layout for breakfast.Restaurant- Italian closed by 9 pm.. just not done. Hotel guest do eat late...

Nice lawns, great swimming pool, a restaurant overlooking the pool- a plus point.
Spa looked promising although did not use the same.

Very helpful concierge. Must thank them.

Its worth staying here for sure.

Room Tip: Select one on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhruvdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danelle P, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Khun dhruvdp,

It is our great pleasure knowing that you find Dusit Thani Manila as a perfect hotel and one of the best in Makati. We continuously strive hard every single day to make our guests feel exactly what you have felt during your stay with us.

Allow us to apologize as well for the early check-in request which has not been accorded to you upon arrival. We understand how tired our guests can be from their long flights. And it is always our aim to provide them with comfort the moment they step in at the hotel. In fact even from the airport for guests who arranged for airport transportation. Unfortunately, April was a pretty busy month for us having had almost full occupancy in most nights. This could have been the reason why we have failed to give you an available room two hours earlier than regular check-in. Please trust that should there have been rooms available, we would have definitely given it to you immediately. Management has strict instructions to always ensure our guests' convenience at all times. We sincerely apologize that you have felt otherwise on that regard.

Once again, thank you very much for sharing your experience with us here in TripAdvisor. We cannot wait to welcome you back at Dusit Thani Manila.

Kap Khun Ka,

Danelle Palang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Dusit in Manila for a week in April and were disappointed. We have stayed at the hotel at least five or six times in the last ten years, each time for a week, and certainly for the first few times were delighted with it and its welcoming staff. This time no acknowledgement was made of our previous visits (eg 'welcome back') and the room was looking decidedly dingy. Whilst it is relatively good value for the type of hotel it is, there seems to have been a decision to opt for high volume and never mind the quality. It could really do with being freshened up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KitSuffolk_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danelle P, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Khun KitSuffolk_UK,

Thank you for rating us here in TripAdvisor. Dusit Thani Manila is renowned for its excellent service and genuine warmth especially to our loyal and returning guests and it saddens us to know that you have felt otherwise during your recent stay with us.

We have launched the new Dusit Club Lounge that sits atop the hotel and now, renovation of our Club Rooms is underway. We really hope that we may be given another chance to service you once again especially with the current sprawling innovations and new offerings that the hotel has lined up for all its valued guests such as you.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, Khun KitSuffolk_UK. The privilege of welcoming you back on your 7th or 8th visit at Dusit Thani Manila would be our great pleasure.

Kap Khun Ka,

Danelle Palang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#4 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
1.1 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
City Garden Grand Hotel
#10 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Makati Diamond Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Manila

Property: Dusit Thani Manila
Address: | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1223, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Makati
#10 Business Hotel in Makati
#12 Spa Hotel in Makati
#12 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit Thani Manila 4.5*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Thani Manila is located in the heart of the Philippines' premiere financial district, Makati City. The hotel is 25 minutes from the Ninoy Aquino International Airport, 15 minutes away from the country's major convention centers, right-at-the-doorstep shopping malls and entertainment centers. With 537 guest rooms and suites, 11 meeting and banqueting rooms for up to 1,000 persons, bars and restaurants - The Pantry, Benjarong Royal Thai Cuisine, Umu Japanese Restaurant, Pool Bar, Grab and Go, DFiT Fitness Center and award-winning Devarana Spa. The newly opened Celebrations Lounge, the hotel's dedicated events center is located at the Lobby Level while the 900 square meter Dusit Club Lounge, Library and Gold & Silver Private Dining Rooms are located on the 17th Floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Dusit Thani Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Manila Hotel Makati
Dusit Thani Hotel Manila
Dusit Makati
Manila Dusit Thani Hotel
Dusit Hotel Makati
Dusit Thani Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing