We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is always room for improvement”
Review of Dusit Thani Manila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dusit Thani Manila
Ranked #20 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The main lobby of the hotel is quite impressive. However the bedrooms we stayed in somehow smelt mouldy, also the bathroom is not really up to a 4 or 5 star category. Buffet breakfast at this hotel is quite good with so much variety of food to choose from. Prior to our arrival I enquired about a shuttle service from the airport and was quoted a certain price which almost doubled up when we finally paid the bill.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the south side as there was a building construction going on directly opposite our wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovenorfolk102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danelle P, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Khun Lovenorfolk102,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay in Dusit Thani Manila and for taking the time to rate us here. Your feedback is certainly appreciated.

This year is very promising to us, with new projects, including room renovations and new dining concepts, in the pipeline. Trust that we are always on the lookout for development that can help us serve you and all our guests better and grander every step of the way.

We're happy to know that you have enjoyed our buffet breakfast offerings at Basix. We are renowned for our specialty restaurants. They are a must-try in your next visit.

Thank you once again. We look forward to welcome you back here at Dusit Thani Manila.

Kap Khun Ka,

Danelle Palang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,428 - 1,434 of 2,218 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

After holiday in Boracay we always stay for one night in Dusit Manila because it is very near to SM Shopping and it is good to relax before flying home. I love Dusit Thani Hotel because the staff is so nice and helpful, the breakfast is fantastic and they have a nice Swimmingpool aerea. I am always very happy to stay there. The only thing this time we book with Agoda and our room we got was a little old, normaly I book to Dusit directly.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in a good position
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Satisfiedlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danelle P, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Khun Boracayvilla,

It always brings us great joy knowing that our guests leave with fond memories of their stay at Dusit Thani Manila. Thank you for always supporting us. We continue to improve our product and service to ensure our guests are given a pleasant stay at all times. We hope you also got to experience the new Dusit club Lounge located at the 17th floor of the hotel in your last stay with us. It is our most recent pride. And yes, Best Available Rates are available in our website for great deals and offerings.

Thank you once again. We anticipate your return in the near future and we look forward to be of service to you again.

Kap Khun Ka,

Danelle Palang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I only stayed here for a few nights, but the experience overall was great. The location was perfect - the heart of Makati, around Glorietta/Greenbelt. The service was fantastic, and the staff were very friendly. The lobby was very up-market. However the corridors are quite dated, and the rooms are also. The room was "okay", but left a little desired. Overall however, it's a good hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacksonCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danelle P, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Khun JacksonCooper,

We appreciate your kind words about your recent stay with us here at Dusit Thani Manila. We take great pride in our location, the warmth and excellent service delivered by the men and women of Dusit International's flagship property in the Philippines. And it brings us inspiration knowing you had a pleasant experience with us.

After the launch of the Dusit Club Lounge at the top floor of the hotel, first phase of the Club Room renovation is now underway. We are excited about the developments taking place in the next months. This is of course part of our initiatives to serve you and our guests better.

Thank you once again. We look forward to welcome you back at Dusit Thani Manila.

Kap Khun Ka,

Danelle Palang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I had high expectations of this hotel being a Dusit Thani and having stayed in 5* Thai hotels in Bangkok before. Unfortunately the hotel didn't live up to them and I hope it's not representative of the brand.

The lobby is nice but the rooms are well overdue for renovation. The bed is huge but in common with many Asian hotels, quite firm by western standards. The dressing gowns were well past their prime and more like well used gym towels. I had to use my universal sink plug as the basin would not hold water with the built in one. Unfortunately it wouldn't fit the bath properly but managed to slow down the rate of water loss enough for me to have a wash, provided I kept the taps running all the time. The wife had a shower before me and managed to cut her toe on something. These sort of things shouldn't be occurring in a 3* hotel, let alone a 5* one.

Wifi was okay, only needed to log on once and could use multiple devices at the same time, unlike some hotels. Speed was quite acceptable for the Philippines.

Breakfast was nice with a decent variety of western and Asian dishes, it would take quite a while before you got bored with all the combinations you could come up with. Lack of spoons has been mentioned in a previous review, none were on my table and when I asked a waiter for one he simply took it from an unoccupied table.

Prices for add ons are definitely at 5* level, one way airport transfer P1990, metered airport taxi less than P400. 1.5 liter bottle of Evian water in the room P500, I bought 5 liters of water in the supermarket across the road for P60. Two small bottles of water are provided free.

Location is good with the huge SM mall across the road with plenty of taxis, shops and places to eat.

I would stay here again, especially if it was renovated but at the moment I'd be more inclined to try out a few other hotels around this price point then to come straight back on my next visit.

Basically if you want top standards or you can't get a good discount on the rack rate, look else where. Provided you can get a good deal, preferably with Internet and breakfast included, and you are willing to overlook a few points, go for it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brisman333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danelle P, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Khun brisman333,

Your inputs are most appreciated. Thank you for taking time to share with us your feedback about your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We feel very sorry for the incident about your wife. Please do let us know how we can contact you or whenever you have plans to visit Manila again. Rest assured that the points you have raised will be brought to the attention of the Management most specifically our Engineering and Food and Beverage Departments with immediate action required. On the other hand, It is with joy to also share with you that after we have opened the new Dusit Club Lounge on March 2013, the renovation of the rooms phase by phase will soon take place. We hope to be of service to you and your wife again. Looking forward to your return.

Kap Khun Ka,

Danelle Palang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed at the Dusit Thani in September for a week on business. The staff was very friendly and the entry way was just grand. My check in and out process went very smooth without any flaws or long lines. The room was clean very spacious and the bed was comfortable. The location is just great and safe. You are close to everything you want within walking distance. There is a huge mall with a grocery store and all kinds of shops just across the street. If you are planning a trip to Makati I would recommend this hotel to my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuwarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danelle P, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Khun Zuwarah,

We are renowned for our outstanding service and we are highly grateful to our guests who appreciate how we look after them. Thank you very much for your kind words and good feedback about Dusit Thani Manila.

We have recently opened the new Dusit Club Lounge and thereafter the renovation of the Club Rooms. It excites us greatly knowing that something new is once again on its way to help serve our guests better.

To welcome you back would be our great pleasure.

Kap Khun Ka,

Danelle Palang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

the hotel has good location near shopping center but room a little bit old and breakfast not so good and very busy. Hotel looks like it is in Bangkok, a little bit strange for me when I come to the Philippines. But staff very friendly service

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danelle P, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Khun Choi L,

Here at Dusit Thani Manila, we take pride in the unique combination of Thai hospitality and Filipino geniality greatly evident in how we service our guests. We are pleased to know of your appreciation of our staff's friendliness.

We appreciate your valuable feedback about your recent stay with us. After the recent launch of our Dusit Club Lounge last month, room renovation is up next. Trust that your concerns are definitely being addressed to, with our untiring desire to provide an ultimate guest experience at all times.

We hope that we will have the privilege of welcoming you back here at Dusit Thani Manila, where you can always count on our genuine desire to be at service.

Kap Khun Ka,

Danelle Palang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I can't fault this hotel.
Great location for Greenbelt and Glorietta. Lots of shops and restuarants.
Rooms are big and clean.
Staff are attentive and friendly.
Maybe food and alchohol prices are a bit high but atmoshere is good which helps.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markboyd60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.4 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
0.4 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#6 of 86 in Makati
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 86 in Makati
1,858 reviews
1.1 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Makati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Manila

Address: | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1223, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Makati
#10 Business Hotel in Makati
#14 Spa Hotel in Makati
#15 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range: $107 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit Thani Manila 4.5*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Thani Manila is located in the heart of the Philippines' premiere financial district, Makati City. The hotel is 25 minutes from the Ninoy Aquino International Airport, 15 minutes away from the country's major convention centers, right-at-the-doorstep shopping malls and entertainment centers. With 537 guest rooms and suites, 11 meeting and banqueting rooms for up to 1,000 persons, bars and restaurants - The Pantry, Benjarong Royal Thai Cuisine, Umu Japanese Restaurant, Pool Bar, Grab and Go, DFiT Fitness Center and award-winning Devarana Spa. The newly opened Celebrations Lounge, the hotel's dedicated events center is located at the Lobby Level while the 900 square meter Dusit Club Lounge, Library and Gold & Silver Private Dining Rooms are located on the 17th Floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Dusit Thani Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Manila Hotel Makati
Dusit Thani Hotel Manila
Dusit Makati
Manila Dusit Thani Hotel
Dusit Hotel Makati
Dusit Thani Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing