We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely facilities, great food, good service but so-so rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dusit Thani Manila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Dusit Thani Manila
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Makati
nyc
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely facilities, great food, good service but so-so rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Dusit for one night upon returning to Manila from north of the island. The large, soaring lobby is a very pleasant place for a drink, coffee, or a light meal (you can order off the bar menu or from the on-site Japanese or Thai restaurants - both excellent). Service is very good although might get a bit annoying for those who prefer to be left alone ... You can't step three feet in the lobby without someone asking to help you. Breakfast buffet is very nice. Gym is large and well-equipped; spa looks very nice (didnt try it); nail salon / barber is convenient and inexpensive and they did a nice job with my pedicure and my husband's haircut. Pool area is also lovely although the traffic of Manila is definitely audible. Location is also very convenient, right next to several large shopping centers that you can walk to easily.

The room, however, is decidedly average, especially the bathroom which sorely needs updating. Small to average size and comfortable but not particularly elegant.

Good place to stay if you don't plan on spending much time in your room!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Summitee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    708
    306
    124
    89
See reviews for
367
370
186
679
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our family was upgraded to a Junior Suite so the start was great. The service also was good. But the Club Lounge, the interior of the rooms, the ballrooms (as we were there for a conference) was old and tired...
The service was good, however there seems to be an abundance of people at the check-in counter with nothing to do, except to say to greet people "Sawadee" and do the thai "wai" - and being a foreigner living in Thailand for 13 years, it feels so fake - but then I can see it as I live in Thailand...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJTEBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Rooms needed some face-lift but bathroom for sure. The soap and other consumables were not so good. The biggest plus was the nice breakfast , I like the variety of items those were there to choose from. Lobby is moderately big but mostly remains crowded. The quality of welcome(a Thai welcome) at the check-in doesn't remain impressive when it comes to the quality of room. Not very far from here you can get Indian restaurant also. It is conveniently located in big shopping area. I would say, if you are getting good deal, then it is advisable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kumar-Suman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamuning, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed in a Dusit Club Room, having done so at other luxury hotels and finding the club a good value, we expected the same here. Not quite. The "club lounge" was located on the mezzanine, in full view of anyone walking by, so much for exclusivity and privacy. The Club room did not offer breakfast, instead you were able to eat in the main dining room or Tosca, the Italian resturant, both of which were very good and well-served, but again there is that expectation of exclusivity for the "club" which was not there. Happy hour was a very limited selection of spirits, a red wine and a white wine, and a few sparse, but well-prepared and presented appetizers. The lounge provided excellent coffee, espresso, and tea throughout the day. The staff were very gracious and accommodating.

The worst part of the stay was the aparrent institutional tolerance of smokers. There are two smoking floors, 7&8. We were staying on 14 and should not have been impacted, however the second night our room reeked of smoke on our return from dinner, as did parts of the hallway outside a couple of doors. Complaints to management resulted in the offer of an air freshener. Inviting a manager to the floor, escorting her to areas where the smell of smoke was very strong and asking her to enforce the non-smoking policy resulted in the offer of another room on the same floor. She said it would be impolite and an intrusion to knock on the guests door and ask if they were smoking. If housekeeping reports evidence of smoking tomorrow, the guest will be sent a note reminding them not to smoke. With no other recourse, we moved to the offered room and all was well for the night, however the next afternoon, same thing, our room smelled like smoke, coming from the vent in the bathroom. So did the area outside the door of the room next door. Invited the guest relations manager once again to investigate (different manager in daytime) and she also refused to confront or question the guest about smoking in the room on the non-smoking floor. When I mentioned that I had paid extra for a "Club room" to be on this floor, she said so had all the other guests and she could not disturb them. She also said they would send a note and could even levy a 5000 peso cleaning fee but only if they find "evidence" but they will not look for it. I was again offered to move. This series of events convinced me that the management climate was tolerant of any misbehavior by a paying guest and that only those who complained would be inconvenienced or punished by having to move. On checkout, another manager came to talk with me, saying she was aware there were some problems during our stay and hoping everything was resolved to our satisfaction, which I assured her it was not. She said to give them another chance, I replied that I gave them two chances to fix the problem and their only solution was to further inconvenience me by moving. The attention of management was good, however the action of management was absent. She said they had investigated and the problem now was one of ventilation, perhaps from the construction site or from the smoking floors. I said if your ventilation system is such that smoke is transported seven floors and introduced into a guest room with no filtration, you have a larger engineering problem than a management problem. I will vote with my feet and not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you smoke, choose any room you want, they don't care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed4102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

The room is outdated, small bathroom, the bathtub is looks filty they just basically painted in white and the paint is coming off. Upon checked in the room, there was a strand of hair on one of the pillow. The hotel room is just need real deep clean or better off refurbish.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMB05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

PROS:
- spacious, clean, elegant lobby with very courteous staff who bows and greets you everytime you pass by them.
- room's very clean
- refill the complimentary bottled water everyday even if you still have unopened bottle from previous day.
- refill the toiletries everyday
- Has huge selection of food for breakfast
- bed and pillows are very comfortable
- location - just across Glorietta & SM (malls)
- security - security guards get the plate number of each taxi that comes in and out with the guests.

CONS:
- Room (at least my room) wasn't that big. But just right for 2 people.

Can't think of other cons for this hotel.

It's quite expensive though but it's worth it! You'll get the service you're looking for from a 5 star hotel. I'll definitely recommend this to all my friends. Over the top service!

OVERALL EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwannaseedworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danelle P, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Khun Hanna-Bandana,

We really appreciate you taking the time to identify the PROs and CONs of staying at Dusit Thani Manila based on your recent visit with us. It gives us great joy knowing that every little detail of our commitment to serve you better has pleasantly caught your attention. We look forward to welcoming you again especially with the launch of the new Dusit Club Lounge this year.

Thank you and all the very best from you Dusit Thani Manila family.

Kap Khun Ka,

Danelle Palang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

the staff is what makes this hotel awesome. I have never been treated with more respect and kindness anywhere else on this planet. I stayed for 4 days and left the hotel one time there was no need to leave I had everything I needed there. Good food and awesome people around me all the time. It felt like I have known the staff all my life. i would like to thank Cora, Cathy, both the Diana's, Trixie, Gerard and Patrick, as i spent most my time where they worked. The entire staff was extremely professional, and very helpful.and it was actually hard to leave, as they became friends in that short time. Im in a hotel in Hong Kong now and I dont have a smiling face greeting me at the elevator every morning. If you dont stay at this hotel you will be missing out! Thank you to the entire staff you are the best!!!

David Thompson
New orleans La USA

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave9849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#5 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
1.1 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
City Garden Grand Hotel
#10 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#2 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Makati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Manila

Property: Dusit Thani Manila
Address: | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1223, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Makati
#10 Business Hotel in Makati
#12 Spa Hotel in Makati
#12 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit Thani Manila 4.5*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Thani Manila is located in the heart of the Philippines' premiere financial district, Makati City. The hotel is 25 minutes from the Ninoy Aquino International Airport, 15 minutes away from the country's major convention centers, right-at-the-doorstep shopping malls and entertainment centers. With 537 guest rooms and suites, 11 meeting and banqueting rooms for up to 1,000 persons, bars and restaurants - The Pantry, Benjarong Royal Thai Cuisine, Umu Japanese Restaurant, Pool Bar, Grab and Go, DFiT Fitness Center and award-winning Devarana Spa. The newly opened Celebrations Lounge, the hotel's dedicated events center is located at the Lobby Level while the 900 square meter Dusit Club Lounge, Library and Gold & Silver Private Dining Rooms are located on the 17th Floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Dusit Thani Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Manila Hotel Makati
Dusit Thani Hotel Manila
Dusit Makati
Manila Dusit Thani Hotel
Dusit Hotel Makati
Dusit Thani Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing