We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't like my room and breakfast. But staff service made up for it..”
Review of Dusit Thani Manila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Dusit Thani Manila
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Manila Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
724 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Don't like my room and breakfast. But staff service made up for it..”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

It has been 4 years since I last stayed in this hotel . It has been a pleasant one although i wasn't able to provide a review for it . The hotel was on a decent location , a 3-5 minute walk to SM and Glorietta , and a 10-15 minute leisurely walk to Landmark and Greenbelt mall. i heard of the massive refurbishment it has undergone, the exterior part had been well redesigned and repainted. My disappointment would be the rooms which are so basic and doesn't seem to be properly renovated/refurbished . Beds are also small , rooms are not sound proof, uncomfortable. Airconditioning took time to provide cooler air. I like the toiletries/amenities though offered in the bathroom. The lcd tv is quite small , and it has a dusit logo with it. The huge lobby was adorned by many christmas tree displays made by schools in what sort of a competition. It has become crowded somewhat taking away the simple elegance the lobby is known for. ,making me somewhat disappointed. The breakfast area (Basix ) , serves many good food choices although after many dining experiences in other deluxe hotels and resorts make the taste and selection rather average. the ambiance and concept of the coffeeshop remain the same, rarely noticed the changes. The only good asset of this hotel is the very friendly attitude and attentive service of the staff. The management should take good care or give recognition always to the better performing staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctorfoxtrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danelle P, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Doctorfoxtrot,

Thank you for letting us know of your thoughts about your recent stay with Dusit Thani Manila. It is always a pleasure to know how happy our guests have been as well as to know how else we can serve them better.

Last year was the 3rd time that Dusit Thani Manila has conducted its famed Christmas Tree Contest. Not only did it showcase the creativity of the grade school children of the participating schools, but more so, the top three wining trees also won cash prize to be donated to their chosen charity. This competition is indeed for a worthy charitable cause. We are blessed to be able to facilitate such an activity allowing us to share our blessings to our less fortunate brethren.

Refurbishments are underway, starting off with the new Dusit Club Lounge. We look forward to have you back especially once it opens, giving our guests a new dimension of luxury and pampering.

Aside from the prime location of the hotel, Dusit Thani Manila takes so much pride in the quality of its service. We are happy to know that you felt the difference in the kind of service we provide.

Thank you once again and we look forward to having you back at Dusit Thani Manila!

Kap Khun Ka,

Danelle Palang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    747
    320
    128
    95
See reviews for
401
389
191
708
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Considering the location and the prices of the hotels in the same area, you can't beat Dusit. They also have the best restaurants compared to the other hotels. The only reason I gave service a 3 and not a 5 is due to our check in. If you stay in an upgraded room they send you upupstairs for "special check in". It is totally unnecessary and actually takes longer. After we finally got checked in and escorted to the room we figured we were finally going to be able to relax. However over the next 15 minutes we had 3 phone calls from the check in desk (that we just came from) and 3 visitors bringing water once, then fruit and then a receipt of payment. It was annoying. Also, of the two rooms only one was ready when we arrived at 5pm. Check in is 2pm. That was also annoying.
Nothing major, and by no means a reason not to stay here. I still love this hotel and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkk_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I feel cheated by this hotel. I was charged one additional night. After several calls to them by Orbitz, whom I complained because I made my reservation through Orbitz, this hotel promised to reverse the additional one-night charge. They never did as verified by my credit card company. And after four months of waiting I have come to realization that this hotel has just given me a run around treatment. I hope other travelers learned from my experience with this hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank 63advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehiwela, null, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We were here for 5 days and it was wonderful. Caring, courteous and helpful staff everywhere, lobby, restaurants, room service, security, etc. The sight seeing was made easy by it's central location and the shopping malls were plenty within walking distance. Always remember the professionalism of the Banquet Service during the meeting sessions and the extra advise provided by the front office whenever we needed it. Clean and nice rooms with all the facilities and the comfortable beds awaited our tired bodies after hours of sight seeing and shopping. Very nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AjithBopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

It was a pleasure to stay at the Dusit Thani hotel in Makati. The staff greets every customer with a Thai style wai and are most polite and courteous. For PHP9072 per night, its a real bargain for the quality you get. The room I had was non-smoking and was rather spacious and clean. I had a comfortable night's sleep in time for the next morning's business affairs. Breakfast was of a nice spread of variety and there were sufficient tables to cater for the large number of guests who were staying in the Dusi Thani at the same time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romuluz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We rented a function room for 2 days.

The food was good.

The servers were friendly and willing to help.

BUT they seem like "DORY" the fish in finding Nemo- they have to be constantly reminded what the instructions were. We had 4 different sets of meeting with different groups of people. THe instructions are the same each time, but they keep forgetting.

The drinks always came in late - about 10 minutes after the food has been served. We need to constantly ask them to bring in the drinks.

I had a separate table for my clients, which I told the staff, may order anything from the menu; but they keep forgetting asking them what they want. And at one time, even when they already ordered, the food never came.

They need to re-train the staff. Their training is not even acceptable even if they were manning Shakey's or Pizza Hut, more so a restaurant in a hotel.

Room Tip: Do the orientation with the staff yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

After a friend/ travel agent told me that Dusit is one of her favourite hotels in Manila, I booked 2 nights here.
Good points:
Excellent service everywhere, when I say everywhere I mean EVERYWHERE from reception staff, business centre, restaurants, concierge etc etc
Really nice comfortable beds, pillows, sheets, room.
Excellent location
Awesome food at Basix and Benjarong.
Competitve price compared to other hotels in the area.
Malls at your doorstep.
Awesome accesibility from airport.

Not so good points:
Not much except for the fact that it's a 30 + year old building. Looks a bit dated in some places like bathroom fittings.

Overall, I will book here again when I am in Manila.

Room Tip: Higher floors have good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyFNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danelle P, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Khun TonyFNewZealand,

To receive an "excellent service everywhere" feedback from a well-traveled individual such as yourself is one of the highest form of compliment we can get. From all of us here at Dusit Thani Manila, thank you very much. Your generous kind words and high praises motivate us even more to continue to provide you and all our guests the level of service we are known for, nothing but the best.

To welcome you back again would be our pleasure, especially with the opening of our new Dusit Club Lounge in January 2013.

All the very best for you and your family. Trust that we will continue to unfold a beautiful world of Dusit for you to discover all year through.

Kap Khun Ka,
Danelle Palang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#4 of 82 in Makati
2,122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Makati
0.4 mi away
Astoria Greenbelt
Astoria Greenbelt
#19 of 82 in Makati
324 reviews
1.1 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Manila

Property: Dusit Thani Manila
Address: | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1223, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Makati
#10 Business Hotel in Makati
#13 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#14 Spa Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit Thani Manila 4.5*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Thani Manila is located in the heart of the Philippines' premiere financial district, Makati City. The hotel is 25 minutes from the Ninoy Aquino International Airport, 15 minutes away from the country's major convention centers, right-at-the-doorstep shopping malls and entertainment centers. With 537 guest rooms and suites, 11 meeting and banqueting rooms for up to 1,000 persons, bars and restaurants - The Pantry, Benjarong Royal Thai Cuisine, Umu Japanese Restaurant, Pool Bar, Grab and Go, DFiT Fitness Center and award-winning Devarana Spa. The newly opened Celebrations Lounge, the hotel's dedicated events center is located at the Lobby Level while the 900 square meter Dusit Club Lounge, Library and Gold & Silver Private Dining Rooms are located on the 17th Floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Dusit Thani Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Manila Hotel Makati
Dusit Thani Hotel Manila
Dusit Makati
Manila Dusit Thani Hotel
Dusit Hotel Makati
Dusit Thani Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing