We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ditz_8
Luzon, Philippines

Excellent location for a shopping spree

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 3, 2012
Dusit Thani was formerly Dusti Hotel Niko. Old hotel but good enough. You can get more bang for your buck here than the other big hotels in Makati. Hubby attended a convention here for 4 days. We were booked in a deluxe twin room. The room size is standard. The rooms are said to be refurbished already but the only refurbishment I see is the flat screen TV. Everything else still looks old. (Not complaining here. Just stating the facts.) The bathroom fixtures and tub are old. Tub looks like it has been painted over to look new. No more L'occitane bath set as previously mentioned in the other posts. Everything was clean. Beds are very comfortable. Room had excellent insulation. I did not hear anything from next door or from the hallway. (A big plus for a light sleeper like me.) Room had complete amenities - stocked minibar, slippers, robes, bath necessities, in room safe, blow drier, extra pillow, iron and board. It also had a weighing scale in case you want to check how much you've gained after pigging out. (something you won't usually find in all hotels). The free wifi access was actually pretty fast (contrary to previous reviews. Maybe they upgraded their system...). Fast enough for the kids to have a downloading frenzy! Housekeeping is superb. They provide more bottled water for us than the usual 2 bottles after probably seeing that we had to buy a big bottle of water for our consumption. They provided extra towels without our asking. They came in to check with us from time to time to ask if we needed anything else for our room. Hospitality here beats the top notch hotels in Makati, actually.

The hotel had a lovely small pool area in the 2nd level. By early afternoon, the facade of the hotel will block the hot afternoon sun making the pool area shaded. Perfect for swimming sans the scorching sun at this time. The pool area gets the morning sun so good for those intending to bake in the morning sun. The hotel has a nice gym. Did not get to try it out but I see a lot of guests using the facility - probably a good indication.

Breakfast was.... not what I expected. I read good reviews about the breakfast here and probably expected too much. For me it was nothing to rave about. It was almost exactly the same for our entire 4 day stay. It came with the bread and pasty selection, cereals, congee and noodles, pancakes, french toast, salad, fruits, cold cuts and cheeses. For the heavy eaters, they always had ham (too salty for my liking), hash browns, sausages, bacon (tough as leather!) and the egg station. There were also other viands served that you don't usually have for breakfast but for lunch or dinner. If you are getting a room package with breakfast then it will be fine. If you don't and pay an additional P1,000++ for breakfast, I think that it's not worth it given the selection. One setback is that the staff didn't seem to have a clear idea of how they are going to charge children. We came with our 6 year old and during check in, we were told that she would not incur extra charges for breakfast (our room came with breakfast for 2). During breakfast the following day, we were told that they would be charging us half rate for her (P600+ with tax). So we actually paid P600+ for one pancake, one sausage, two crackers, one slice of cheese and a glass of water (exactly what my daughter had). The next day, we crossed over and bought breakfast from Wendy's for her.

For me the best selling point of the hotel would be its location. Glorietta and SM - just a minute or two away. Glorietta, SM and Landmark are all interconnected with walkways. For more upscale shopping you can head to Greenbelt. Maybe a 10 to 15 minute walk? You can drive or get a cab to go there if you're doing it on a Sunday but on weekdays and maybe on a Saturday, you are better off walking there unless you want to try to see what it is like to get stuck in Philippine's famous traffic jam. Glorietta 2 just opened the day we arrived. I completed my Christmas gift list during our stay. Wendy's, Yoshinoya and Pizza hut are right across the hotel. Sanry's money changer (reputable money changer that provides competitive rates) is right across but I think they will be moving out soon. Czarina money changer inside Glorietta also offers good rates. (Sorry I can't remember the exact location but it's not too far away from where you enter in Glorietta 2. Up one or two floors (?) then to the left.)

We did not get to try out the restaurants within the hotel but I've heard that they (Thai and Japanese) are pretty good. The Japanese restaurant even has a beautiful garden with a koi pond right beside it.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel. As long as you are aware that you didn't pay for a Shangri la and do not expect a Shangri la :-), this hotel will work for you.
Date of stay: December 2012
Trip type: Traveled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Danelle P, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review
Responded Dec 17, 2012
Dear Khun ditz_8,

We truly appreciate your taking time to share your experience with us in your recent stay with your family at Dusit Thani Manila. We look forward to welcome you back especially in January 2013 when we launch the new Dusit Club Lounge - exclusive for Dusit Club guests. Also, L'Occitane remains to be offered to our guests billeted at the Club floors of Dusit Thani Manila.

We have definitely taken note of your observations and your kind words about our service. It always brings us joy knowing our guests were pleased with our service and had an overall comfortable stay with us.

Thank you once again and here's wishing you and your family a blessed 2013!

kap Khun Ka,

Danelle Palang
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
NWMNL Lobby
$94
  • Expedia.com
    $95
  • Vio.com
    $87
  • Official Site
0.4 miles from Dusit Thani Manila
Free Wifi
Free parking
$68
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $65
  • Algotels
1.1 miles from Dusit Thani Manila
Free Wifi
Free parking
$78
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $75
  • Expedia.com
    $92
1.1 miles from Dusit Thani Manila
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Twin Room at the Red Planet Makati, Manila
$27
  • Priceline
    $28
  • Vio.com
    $25
  • StayForLong
1.1 miles from Dusit Thani Manila
Free Wifi
Free parking
$91
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    $72
  • Expedia.com
    $93
1.1 miles from Dusit Thani Manila
Free Wifi
Free parking
$32
$26
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $28
1.2 miles from Dusit Thani Manila
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $31
  • Expedia.com
    $40
1.0 miles from Dusit Thani Manila
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $27
  • Official Site
    $31
1.1 miles from Dusit Thani Manila
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Priceline
    $31
  • StayForLong
    $39
  • Trip.com
    $35
1.0 miles from Dusit Thani Manila
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    $42
  • Priceline
    $44
1.1 miles from Dusit Thani Manila
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Makati
Reviews (4,938)
Filter reviews
4,939 results
Traveler rating
2,858
1,255
454
199
173
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,858
1,255
454
199
173
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the club lounge sm mall executive suite five star hotel breakfast buffet housekeeping staff upon check makati area pantry umu manila lobby benjarong taho shopping mon glorietta
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4,144 - 4,149 of 4,939 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Very western ammenities, to include 110V electrical outlets in the rooms! The staff has been so friendly and the breakfast buffet was overwhelming. Next to a large mall and only a few miles from the Mall of Asia. Very clean, modern, but classical in theme.

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Danelle P, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Khun Patrick G,

Dusit Thani Manila aims to provide a touch of culture and history whilst being updated with the trends of time. We are happy that you appreciate both of thieseinitiatives.

Thank you for your kind feedback. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at Dusit Thani Manila! We have an amazing new offering for our Club guests with the opening of the new Dusit Club Lounge in 2013 and we hope that you will be able to experience it on your next stay with us.

Happy Holidays!

Kap Khun Ka,

Danelle Palang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here after our trip to Singapore and sad to say, this might be the last time I stay in this hotel if they will not renovate their property. For the money they ask, I say it is not worth it. You are better off to look at other hotels in the area like New World. Too bad, the location of this property is excellent in terms of proximity to shopping, airport and restaurants. Yes the service is very good, but you are staying there for their room, right....4 nights of Dusit is enough, we moved to New World for the rest of our stay in Makati.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank EDO100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

It is a very good hotel, clean and with an optimum service. The furnitre is quite old and some restyling could help to refresh the impression once you have the first contact with your room.
It is possible to buy through the hotel some guided tour (from one up to three days): there are several choices, but my impression is that they are very expensive... If you have a bit more time you can find something cheeper elsewhere.
In general I can give, however, a positive feedback.

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tibdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a deluxe room with Club access for 3 nights. Check in was fast and intimate as we were whisked to the Dusit Club check in. We arrived quite early and the hotel were happy to accommodate us straight away with a room without extra charge. There was food available in the club room so we just had our breakfast there! With free coffee as well. The staff helped us to make it in the machines which was ace. A lot of the reviews mention the rooms are outdated and they are a little, but they are very clean and have all you need for a comfortable stay. The hotel was not built last year so I'm not sure what these people are thinking.
No complaints at all about the room the bed is comfy and everything was in working order. The shower had great water pressure and towels were fluffy. The room was quiet and AC was great ( we were in the 8th floor). The free wifi was excellent although a little slow but it's always slow in the Philippines. We enjoyed the Club benefits, especially the free drinks and food in the evening for 3hrs! We tried their Thai restaurant which was absolutely fantastic. It's pricey no doubt especially the beer at 200+ php but it was expected. The breakfast in Tosca was even better with their buffet and cooked to order menu. Highly recommended. The staff are so wonderful! They run to open doors for you and always greet and welcome you. Nothing is too much trouble. The security of the hotel is fantastic as well - they check everyone coming in so you feel quite safe. A minutes walk out if the hotel and you're surrounded by mall upon mall! When we come back to Manila I will not think twice about booking this hotel again. It was probably my best 5 star hotel experience and I've travelled a lot for work and pleasure staying in a huge range of accommodations. This place is by far the most accommodating and best display of customer service I've experienced. We really felt like royalty here! Highly recommended! Splash out the few extra dollars and get the Club Access - its totally worth it.

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank camak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Danelle P, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Khun Camak,

For a jetsetter such as you, your feedback is highly valuable to us. Thank you for your kind appreciation of our small gestures such as running to open doors for you. If there is one thing that we take pleasure in providing -- that is service from the heart, knowing that our kindness and hospitality has left our guests comfortable and happy during their stay at Dusit Thani Manila.

Please visit us again especially when we launch an entire floor of the new Dusit Club in January 2013. And should you be in Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Maldives and in any city in, Thailand, we also have Dusit Thani properties there. Without a doubt, you'll also have a great time.

Thank you once again. Cheers to a truly blessed 2013 for you and your family!

Kap Khun Ka,
Danelle Palang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Very warm welcome and the staff are very friendly. The rooms are average size, air conditioning is load and beds very hard. The bathroom is tiny and the fittings old. This hotel needs an update of its rooms. The public areas are large and the foyer glittering with Christmas trees decorated. I can recommend the Japanese restaurant. Breakfast is very busy but great selection of food.

Date of stay: November 2012
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank Foodgirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews