We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time for an new MD at the Dusit Thani”
Review of Dusit Thani Manila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dusit Thani Manila
Ranked #20 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I have returned to the Dusit Thani Manila for a number of times.
Just now on 15 th August 2012 again.
I have send some feed back after my last stay to Mr. Kumar (Indian MD) and there are no changes at all, in fact the service in this hotel is on the down fall. This can only happen if the leader is useless and in this case it is the MD.
I was really looking forward to see positive changes.
I have returned to the lounge and I have experienced Goa be ignored as a guest, as it happened before. I really wondering how much longer it will take to see positive changes.

As hotels are my Home all over Asia (over 80% of my time I stay in Hotels) this is the worse in service but very convenient to me in terms of the location. I tried the Intercontinental, it is not better at all, the same storry. The only option would be the Shangri-la but rediculess in price.

Make up your mind and if you only stay short, take a deep berth and get over it...good luck

Room Tip: There are non - for the money you pay you get an "renovators dream" Just take a suit, tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank landueli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,558 - 1,564 of 2,217 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

Enjoyed my stay but really for a quality hotel attention to detail seems to be lacking as follows, especially considering I stayed in a junior suite:

1. I was quoted a 50% rate upon arrival for late checkout by 8pm.

When I requested this on the last day I was advised it will be 100%. Not impressed.

2. Due to late checkout last day I requested room staff to make up the room. They said no we cannot do it because you are checking out today. I asked for the manager. They replied Ok we will do it. It was not done. So they basically lied to me.

3. Finally my bed was uneven as it comprised two bases - each base was a different height!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serialtraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Spent 4 days here on business and had an enjoyable stay. Yes the hotel is a little old but the service is excellent and very friendly. Breakfast choice is huge and as I live in a muslim country it was especially great to see a whole joint of pork on the buffet! Tosca and Benjarong restaurants were fabulous - truly beautiful food. Did I mention the upgrade - that capped a great stay. Thank you Prateek and team...I will be back!

Room Tip: If on business book their business rate package - free airport transfers and wifi included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart_Birkwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danelle P, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear Khun Stuart_Birkwood,

On behalf of Mr. Prateek Kumar, thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. It gives us great joy knowing we have another guest who left Dusit Thani Manila very pleased with his stay with us. Yes, we always try to present a variety of dishes that will please the discerning tastebuds of our guests from all parts of the world. Tosca and Benjarong are indeed fabulous dining outlets. Perhaps you can check out UMU, our Japanese Restaurant next time and be mesmerized once again with the quality of its food offerings.

On your next visit, an upgrade will definitely wow you on a different level, as we launch the new Dusit Club end of this year. Indeed, another new offering from Dusit Thani Manila to all its valued guests.

Thank you once again. We couldnt wait to welcome you back.

Kap Khun Ka,

Danelle Palang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had an event at the ballroom..... Attended a wedding event- food was super great, Reggie Jamison of banquet and his team that night was also superb, chefs were all courteous. Salesperson Mary Ann caluya was very accommodating.... Had breakfast at Basix - wide array of buffet, staff were friendly (most of them are trainees), It was busy that time because it was a weekend.. Saw their manager carrying an oval tray , a female manager(whoa!)... Probably, basix needs more staff......Another manager was doing the talking and socializing to other guests,he was choosy. He did not came to our table probably because we are Filipinos.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank VertigoPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danelle P, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear VertigoPhil,

We are happy to know that Dusit Thani Manila continues to be the popular venue for couples seeking to experience their dream wedding. With a reliable team of Events Experts, impeccable banquet service and delectable menu selections, Weddings at Dusit Thani Manila guarantees a seamlessly enjoyable celebration not only for the couple but most especially for guests like you!

Thank you for your kind feedback about the dedication of our staff in servicing our guests as well as your observations. Teamwork always works. And in our case, ensuring that our assigned responsibilities are well taken care of is the first step to the team's overall success.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kap Khun Ka,

Danelle Palang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

was not a good impression after a holiday in Boracay. Staff not very helpful...only keeps greeting but no use. They advertised 30% off in the restaurant but when asked says it is old advertisement. rooms were run down and need improvement. Be careful about the taxi drivers they tend to cheat a lot in Manila.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hotfrogwindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I travel a lot. Dusit Thani was referred to be my an old pal who was a Filipina. The location is excellent as it is nearby malls and other clubs. Room seriously needs some revamp. Stains in the carpet and cracked bath tub. Everything was okay but was totally dismayed with their DFit Gym.

First attempt to visit the gym: I tried to request for assistance from their Gym manager (who was the only staff present at that time) but was asked to wait (30 mins) as he was assisting an old lady whom he seems to be flirting with. To my dismay, I walked out and tried the pool instead!

Second attempt to visit the gym: I asked for assistance, the manager approached me as I started speaking he said...: I am sorry mam but I could not understand what you said. had to repeat three times and asked me...Oh that it is why I can not understand you, you seem to be eating your words! I could not believe what I just heard...Either I was slurring or he was too idiot to understand ENGLISH!!!!!!!! He was so rude to be giving that kind of comment to me!!!!! As a claiming 5 star hotel, staff should be trained to be polite to their paying customers! The old lady whom he was flirting with came in and he left me without even assisting me!!!!

Being inquisitive and investigative as I am I later found out that the old lady he was flirting with was the Rooms Manager. What a shame using the Hotel's Gym to be their love nest!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Jesscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had so much fun during our overnight stay. Its proximity to malls
and other prime locations in Makati is an advantage when I stayed here
because I actually had two events to attend that night. It's just a
matter of walking. (I was one of the lucky winners of SM accessories
and Dusit Thani Manila's facebook contest, and again "luckily", I won
a free overnight stay at Dusit. The best things in life are free!)

I have always loved Dusit (ever since), especially the food and
service! The staff members are very accommodating and would always
bear a smile on their face. Once you give them a call, an immediate
response is right next to you. And they are helpful! Very much!

We also enjoyed the pool which is not that big, but have a private and
intimate ambience (although there are quite few staff members who
would attend to your needs in the pool area). The food served in their
buffet restaurant Basix is not compromised. The stations offer
delectable international options (well I have to credit the cold cuts,
hams, bacons and cheese station, plus the bread station and pancake
station! Actually, all!) They have sets of well-chosen breakfast
dishes but this buffet is not overwhelming, I should say. And try try
try their Thai restaurant! Benjarong! Ooooohhhh. Perfect for a dinner
with the family. You'll love it! I recommend the phad thai and the
pomelo salad.

I will surely come back! I wanna experience again the way Dusit makes
it differently. Two thumbs for their overall service!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kitchiecruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#6 of 86 in Makati
2,284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 86 in Makati
1,856 reviews
1.1 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Makati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Manila

Address: | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1223, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Makati
#10 Business Hotel in Makati
#14 Spa Hotel in Makati
#15 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range: $106 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit Thani Manila 4.5*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Thani Manila is located in the heart of the Philippines' premiere financial district, Makati City. The hotel is 25 minutes from the Ninoy Aquino International Airport, 15 minutes away from the country's major convention centers, right-at-the-doorstep shopping malls and entertainment centers. With 537 guest rooms and suites, 11 meeting and banqueting rooms for up to 1,000 persons, bars and restaurants - The Pantry, Benjarong Royal Thai Cuisine, Umu Japanese Restaurant, Pool Bar, Grab and Go, DFiT Fitness Center and award-winning Devarana Spa. The newly opened Celebrations Lounge, the hotel's dedicated events center is located at the Lobby Level while the 900 square meter Dusit Club Lounge, Library and Gold & Silver Private Dining Rooms are located on the 17th Floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dusit Thani Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Manila Hotel Makati
Dusit Thani Hotel Manila
Dusit Makati
Manila Dusit Thani Hotel
Dusit Hotel Makati
Dusit Thani Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing