We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Herald Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Herald Suites
Ranked #44 of 80 Hotels in Makati
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at Herald Suites during one of our business trips in Manila. I would say that its location is good with it being close to a lot of establishments. There are plenty of restaurants around the area, and if you need to go to a supermarket you can easily go to a nearby mall.

From the airport you can easily take a cab going to the hotel. You can avoid the traffic and take the skyway, you'll get to the hotel in around 15-20mins.

The size of the rooms were okay. The ambiance of the whole hotel is OLD World-ish, from the floors to the walls, and its music when you go outside your room.

Breakfast is plated and I'd say overall it was good. Their fried bangus is a must-try, it was good and almost everyone eating breakfast were having it. Japanese, American, and American breakfast are available as well.

The only downside though, is that there was a construction beside the hotel and I can hear the noise. But overall it was okay. I would suggest this hotel to those on business trips who need to be in Makati, and would want to be close to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eloisagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    26
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
12
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Yes, the hotel is a bit dated and so are the rooms but they were spotless clean, everything was well maintained, the bed was comfortable and the shower had plenty of hot water at any time. TV had BBC, CNN, staff was very friendly and attentive.

Breakfast was average but sufficient to get you up and running until lunch. The location is really good, just a 10 mins walk to Greenbelt 1, plenty of restaurants around the hotel, 7/11, McD and a small park nearby for the morning run.

Usually good hotels in Makati are pricey and this one was just perfect for the rate and the services offered. The rating here is 4 (very good) but be aware that this is an older 3 star property, so don't expect luxury.

One drawback are the rooms facing the street as it get loud, they are not soundproof. But the rooms facing the back are really quite, no noise at night. Would book it again at any time.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the backyard are quite for a good night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shunima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

Been here a number of times during our visit to Makati. Service is just superb, from housekeeping, to doorman to the front desk.

Walmart about 3 minutes walk down the road.

15-20 minutes walk to Greenbelt.

They are extending behind the building - can't wait to try the new rooms!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lifelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

Herald Suites is a slightly dated hotel but does the job if you spend just for sleeping, abit of tv and breakfast.

Wifi is password-free for the entire property, is a big plus for me. Ala carte breakfast is decent with a good variety, I opted for the pancakes which was good and fluffy.

I had a room facing the main road so if you're a light sleeper the noise will definitely get to you.

To be honest, I doubt I will return but it does not mean it's a bad hotel, just that I would have preferred somewhere else.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xhrstphr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monster
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

Nice hotel, reasonably clean. Very dated: small badroom, some broken tiles etc. etc.
Small breakfast room, not too clean.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorginaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2009

a small but elegant hotel, with friendly staff. they have a japanese restaurant in the 2nd floor (Hatsu Hana Tei)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for one night at the end of a trip to the Philippines. It is clearly aimed at the Japanese traveller - they had a large selection of Japanese cable TV channels on the small TV in the room and there is a decent-enough Japanese restaurant on the 2nd floor. The breakfast downstairs had excellent pancakes and a seleciton of quality fresh fruit for breakfast, and is highly recommended (and was included in our nightly rate). The main complaint is that all rooms are smoking rooms, and the smell in noticeable (we bought some flowers to improve the smell). The bed was also only a double and not the most comfortable, and the walls were a little discoloured. It is within walking distance to two huge shopping complexes (Greenbelt and Glorietta), so is in a great location. I recommend eating the ribs at the local 'Italian/New York' restaurant called Italianni's at Greenbelt 2.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.7 mi away
Herald Suites Solana
Herald Suites Solana
#36 of 80 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.3 mi away
AIM Conference Center Manila
0.4 mi away
Crown Regency Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
VIP Suite
VIP Suite
#30 of 80 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franchise One Hotel
Franchise One Hotel
#65 of 80 in Makati
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Charter House
Charter House
#45 of 80 in Makati
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herald Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herald Suites

Property: Herald Suites
Address: 2168 Don Chino Roces Ave, Makati, Luzon 1231, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 80 Hotels in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Herald Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A businessman's hotel built along the boutique hotel concept. It has 60 well appointed, air-conditioned guestrooms and situated within walking distance to the financial, commercial and entertainment district of Makati. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Herald Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herald Hotel Makati
Herald Suites Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing