We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines
Ranked #43 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed at the Berjaya Makati for 12 days and the experience was really awful. The front desk staff are very inefficient especially the lady Marichu. They promised WiFi but it was non existent on the 16th floor. They tried to attend to the problem but it constantly lost the signal. The room was without a fridge, the carpet was dirty and patched, the bathroom tiles were broken and there was no hot water or pressure in the bathroom. The room is so dimly lit and there are no plug outlets to charge any phone or computer. Asked for a weighing scale and they have just one in the whole hotel which they reluctantly lent to me for 10 minutes. I was so frustrated with my stay there, I asked to see the manager on 3 occasions but sadly he was not able to meet me as I guess he was too busy or more likely he just did not care about the guests that stay there. The front desk even charged me 15 pesos for a phone call that I did not request. Sounds like desperation on the part of the hotel to collect every centavo from guests. The rooms need overhaul, the towels were frayed and stained and so were the sheets I got. Would not stay in this hotel again as the standard has gone down from the last time i stayed in it in 2011. Mr. Manager please look into the complaints if you can spare some time from your busy schedule.

Room Tip: Complain about it and they will give you a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noelvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorazmanC, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the hotel, I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused and any upset you.

Rest assured that we take your dissatisfaction very seriously and I have personally brought your comments to the attention of all relevant Department Heads.

The lack of service you have experienced is in no way indicative of the usual standards of our hotel and I regret that we not able to meet so we would have done everything to minimize your disappointment with regard to the problems.

Thank you again, for your honest feedback, our apologies again and I personally hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in our hotel to replace the negative impression with a more positive one.

Thank you.

Sincerely yours,

Norazman Chung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 841 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Berjaya was awesome with reasonable prices .. free breakfast and the food is delicious.. pool is clean .. gym is there.. beautiful views but dont get too late coming back because traffic will hit you for an hour.. staffs were great and smiles all the way to your stay.. bath is clean and services are packaged :) very well secured place.. though tubs are there the color of it is very much used needs a little cleaning but over all everything is great

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fayblife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorazmanC, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here at tripadvisor regarding your wonderful stay here in our hotel.

I sincerely thank you for the kind words and the good comments that made your stay memorable and enjoyable. Comments like this continue to inspire us to do better in servicing our guests and clients.

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Thank you.

Sincerely yours,

Norazman Chung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The hotel room was clean enough except for the windows. all hand prints. The bathroom needed some attention décor wise as lots of mould around the ceiling above the bath. No name tea and coffee that wasn't all that good. but it was only 3 star. The breakfast seemed all Asian food. I ask for a fried egg to go with the hotdog sausage and the chef tell me that onloy boiled eggs today. A 3 tier stand labelled "muffins" none there for the duration of the 40 minutes I was there. No one serve tea or coffee so had to get it myself.

Room Tip: I was in room XXX4, the end of the corridor, Good really as out the window was a block of units th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank houghtonboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorazmanC, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a comment about our hotel here in the trip advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services.

Our apologies for the inconvenience you went through during your stay. We sincerely hope that you would reconsider and give the hotel another chance to change whatever negative impression you may have. I would also like to personally meet you and extend our apology

Once again, thank you very much for your valuable comments. We will seriously look into your concerns and take the necessary actions to correct them.

Thank you.

Sincerely yours,

Norazman Chung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

after arriving in Berjaya Makati hotel was clean friendly staff easy access to makati cbd.
very convenient location close to lots of restaurant just 1 mins walk to main rd makati ave.

Hotel Room: was clean had a few issues on the bathroom byt house keeping staff resolve the issue asap.

hotel staff: was friendly anticipate the guest needs in a timely manners
only one issue was requested an ice with the room service took about 30 mins to arrive.
no biggie tho.
overall hotel room nice & clean very attentive staff security was helpfull and porters
very convenient location .
me and my girlfriend like this hotel and definitely coming back.
stayed 4th nov 2013 for anniversay

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEEJAY0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorazmanC, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at our Hotel during your recent stay.

I sincerely thank you for the kind words and the good comments about our hotel that made your stay memorable and enjoyable.

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Thank you.

Sincerely yours,

Norazman Chung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The Hotel Berjaya located in Makati the Central Business District of Manila is a malaysian venture that means quality of service. The officers and attendents in this hotel has a way of greeting their visitors by touching their right hand on their heart to indicate that the service is direct from the Bottom of their Hearts, and they mean it. The personnel are very friendly and warm and helpful. Most of all the security and doormen and front desk officers, the waiters and the room service attendents are very efficient and yet very cordial.

Room Tip: Take the room opposite to the Millenium Tower. If you get the room facing the Millenium Tower you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMK2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorazmanC, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here at trip advisor regarding your wonderful stay here in our hotel.

I sincerely thank you for the kind words and the good comments about our staff that made your stay memorable and enjoyable.

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Thank you.

Sincerely yours,

Norazman Chung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Due to the worst Typhoon to hit the area I had an extended stay at this Hotel. I must say it was a pleasure to stay for the duration of my stay. So much so I was sad to leave such friendly, nice staff. The staff gave a warm friendly hello every time I saw them and genuine smiles as well. What a nice feeling!!
Food was always good, mixed drinks yummy and the local area tourist and business friendly.
Will definitely stay again.
Thank You

Room Tip: I stayed on the 12th floor and I had no street or construction noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rowan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorazmanC, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here at tripadvisor regarding your wonderful stay here in our hotel. I sincerely thank you for the kind words and the good comments that made your stay memorable and enjoyable.

Comments like this continue to inspire us to do better in servicing our guests and clients. Rest assured that the compliments will be extended the people who helped to creating memorable total experiences to your stay.

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.
Thank you.

Sincerely yours,

Norazman Chung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Ive been to this hotel last yr and it was good, frm fcilities to amenties. But i came back last month bec my sister arrved in the phil. So i let her stay in your hotel bec in my experience it was all good.
Its not a prblem abt internet connections, smoking room and whatsoever. Its about a staff, i thnk a 25 year old man who flirts with guests. It was my concern bec i dont like my sister to involve in ths kind of situation. I caught them texting and evrthng, but the problem is, this man is married. My sister chnged her number but this man is still textng her.

I hope u can handle your staffs attitude when it comes to handling guests. Bec its ur hotel's reputation that u have a very cheap staff who flirts with guests. My sister said its not "assisting" its "flirting" . I dnt want to tolerate ths kind of situation in anythng. As far as i know,this man is in the front office department. I just got angry bec i dont want any problems regarding my sister and to the married man.

Probably i will not reccomend your hotel again to any of my family

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank triciaacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorazmanC, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here at trip advisor regarding your wonderful stay here in our hotel last year. I sincerely thank you for the kind words and the good comments that made your last year stay memorable and enjoyable.

The problems that you mentioned have been brought to the attention of our related department. I understand your frustration, and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience it had caused you.

We are committed to you our valued guests, and are taking immediate corrective steps to regain your confidence in us.

Thank you again, for your honest feedback, our apologies again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in our hotel to replace the negative impression with a more positive one.

Thank you.

Sincerely yours,

Norazman Chung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 mi away
St Giles Makati Hotel
St Giles Makati Hotel
#29 of 86 in Makati
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
The A.Venue Hotel
The A.Venue Hotel
#40 of 86 in Makati
738 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Garden Hotel Makati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#27 of 86 in Makati
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ritz Astor Hotel
Ritz Astor Hotel
#46 of 86 in Makati
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Oxford Suites Makati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines

Address: 7835 Makati Avenue, Corner Eduque Street, Makati, Luzon 1209, Philippines (Formerly Berjaya Manila Hotel)
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Price Range: $43 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently tucked away in the verdant city of Makati, Berjaya Makati Hotel sets in the hub of urban wealth showcasing abundance of West and East culture. Setting itself apart from the others, the hotel not only gives easy accessibility to shopping malls but also to business trading in Manila. BERJAYA MAKATI HOTEL OPENS 3 NEW EXECUTIVE FLOORS. Berjaya Makati Hotel continues to offer its guests only the best hotel experience with the opening of three more floors boasting of 33 deluxe-level rooms.From having 179 rooms, the hotel will now have a total of 212 rooms with the opening of three new floors in July. Berjaya Makati Hotel, one of the recent players in Makati City’s bustling hotel industry which is currently enjoying robust growth and a steady influx of guests, now gives more options to visitors who are more discriminating with their choices.The new rooms, located on the 23rd, 24th and 25th floors of Berjaya Makati Hotel, have complete amenities at par with accommodations in pricier hotels. With the recent addition of 33 premium accommodation options, Berjaya Makati Hotel intensifies its mission of providing only the best to its guests, in line with the global hotel chain’s tradition of giving memorable experiences worth coming back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Manila
Manila Best Western
Best Western Makati
Makati Best Western
Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing