We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value for Economy Traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copa Businessman's Hotel
Ranked #62 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Value for Economy Traveler”
Reviewed January 23, 2010

This is a hotel that is often missed in hotel searches. The hotel name probably does not help. From the name you would think it is a men's only hotel. Going back to the mid 1990's we have stayed at both this hotel and the El Cielito. The hotels are about the same in quality and used to be equally priced. The El Cielito increased it's price and now runs about $20 more expensive. For $40+, the Copa is good value considering you are accross the street from a 5 star hotel (New World Hotel). The Copa is the Asian version of a Super8, Motel 6, etc. The typical mentality persists that can be frustrating if you are not used it. Example, they unplug the water heaters between customers to save electricity, run air conditioners way beyond the useful life, clean out the mini fridge if you say you won't use it, halls are not air conditioned. The negatives are: restaurant is about 14 ft x 14 ft and can seat 13 people. Service varies according to who shows up for work. One of the days, the cook was off sick so there was no food, but they made it up by giving us extra food coupons for free meals. Positives: Friendly staff, close to shopping, underground parking. Keep in mind P300 is a typical days pay (about $6), if you tip like you would in the US, the staff will be more responsive. Don't forget the guard out front that helps you back out onto the street and/or writes down the taxi license plate number for security-safety reasons. This is not a Marriott or a Fairfield Inn, it you make allowance for the cultural differences, you will have an enjoyable and economical stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FungKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
12
18
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

Initially I was to book some other hotel, however my partner from Manila booked me this one - two JUNIOR SUITEs. After our arrival, the air condition in my room was not working, they changed me the room, however only provisionally, bcs "the roof is leaking and if the rain comes"... The air condition had not been to repair and they finally moved me in to STANDARD ROOM. The air condition was working however so loudly, that despite my generally good sleeping I woke midnight and had to switch the cooling off.
At morning I met a cockroach in my bathroom once, in the so called breakfast room they were seen regularly. Breakfast room as well as other areas were without air condition.
The hotel is placed 30min from the airport on very frequently road, close to nice areas like Green Belt. Most of personal was obliging.
For the price (85USD) I would rather search another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fero967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Makati hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2008

I've been here twice with my partner. The first time that we were here was is March 2008. We planned an overnight stay to be able to go around Makati (since this is just across Hotel Renaissance and Greenbelt). So, upon payment, (PLUS the 2K security deposit, mind you) the first room that we got was #305. It was really nice. It had a big dresser and mirror, the bed and pillows were comfortable, 3 reading lamps (which we needed to ask the staff to plug after we noticed it was not working) and when you look in the closet, there is an extra pillow. However, the first problem that I had was with the A/C. Although it was already at it's highest setting, it was very, VERY HOT. The TV was tiny and the remote of the TV only controlled the volume and the channel (could not put it in sleep mode nor change channels quickly because you had to scroll). The bathroom was clean and spacious. There is hot and cold water and the pressure was sufficient (but beware of the hot water running out in the middle of your bath). All-in-all I would say it was an OK stay. The staff was friendly, but security seemed a little lax.

Since it was an OK stay (and most of the other hotels were booked), I called to make a reservation again earlier this month (April 2008). I was greeted by the same clerk (Persian) who made my reservation before. She is very nice and friendly and even remembered me from my last stay. I requested a similar room but with a better TV or at least a better remote and a hair-dryer AND a room with a better A/C. She was more than happy to oblige and she even apologized that we encountered problems with the last room. So, the weekend came and we arrived there, went to the front desk and told them of my reservation. This is where the nightmare began. There were 2 clerks that day and they couldn't find my reservation. They even mentioned a different name in which I said: "Ha?" One of the clerks asked me for my Credit Card. I thought it was like an ID verification thing, so I gave it to her. She then swiped it and told me that it was declined. I wasn't going to use my credit card, I was going to pay cash. But I guess she should've asked the mode of payment first, before asking for a CC. After about 15 minutes, they were able to sort it out and we were escorted to room #407. When we entered the room, we saw that it had 2 single beds instead of the queen sized one. I immediately went down to the front desk to complain about it. They told me that there were no available queen beds but would transfer us as soon as there was an available one. They told us we had to wait until about 4PM. It was already 2PM, so I said it would be OK. We had to go to a function at 3PM that day, so I asked the front desk on how to proceed with the transfer and they told me that they would have the room ready by the time that we got back. We got back at around 8PM and I asked Persian (who was on duty at that time) about the transfer. She said we couldn't transfer because the room was reserved for an internet reservation. I WAS PISSED. They told me that if the person did not arrive at 10PM, they would immediately transfer us. 10PM came and went and I had to call at 10:30. They would not really transfer us anymore. I asked to speak with the manager, but there was NO manager present (no wonder things like these happen). They told me they tried to TEXT him/her, but no reply. I insisted, but to no avail. Instead of having a relaxing evening, I was so mad that I couldn't sleep. I'm never going back there... EVER!

*sorry guys no pics... I'll make sure to put some on my next review

  • Liked — Clean rooms, Comfortable bed and beddings, Proximity to Shopping malls
  • Disliked — Dishonest and untrained front desk staff, Cheap TV, Poor customer service, Hot A/C
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DrHouseMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
1.2 mi away
Jinjiang Inn Makati
Jinjiang Inn Makati
#34 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.3 mi away
Charter House
Charter House
#44 of 82 in Makati
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.5 mi away
Asian Mansion II
Asian Mansion II
#61 of 82 in Makati
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
AIM Conference Center Manila
0.9 mi away
Crown Regency Hotels & Resorts
1.1 mi away
Hotel Celeste
Hotel Celeste
#24 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copa Businessman's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copa Businessman's Hotel

Property: Copa Businessman's Hotel
Address: 912 Pasay Road, Makati, Luzon 1229, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copa Businessman's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copa Businessman's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copa Businessman's Hotel Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing