We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and Drink” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Chupacabra

El Chupacabra
Ranked #25 of 1,338 Restaurants in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and Drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

This Mexiacan restaurant really helped satisfy a craving I have had for nearly a year.
I had many different types of tacos and was happy when I left. That could have been
the multiple drinks was had. But I would say drop in.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marcus_m411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    105
    36
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“In Makati? Below Zero P45 Red Horse Beers? Awesome food? NEVER SKIP THIS PLACE.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

I would always look for cheap deal beers and a good conversation around Makati and I'm glad I was introduced to this place by a couple of friends. There was one month I was in there for 3 consecutive weeks on a Friday, salivating for their street tacos and below zero beers.

PROS:
1. It's all in the title. If you order a bucket of red horse, you would get it for P44 each. If you choose to buy it by the bottle, it's P50 each. Below zero beers are ALWAYS served.
2. Their amazing street tacos for around P95+ each. I swear you would get two servings of these. I always order the chicken skewers for P50/stick, but I recommend their BBQ more, for P20 each. It's VERY GOOD. Just order rice, you're good to go.
3. It's so affordable.
4. Pretty good customer service. The waiters are always happy to serve everyone. I have no idea how they could not get cranky, considering the number of people coming in droves every single night.

CONS:
1. While they have a bathroom with running water, sometimes it can get pretty dirty but it's to be expected at a place like that. However, I believe there should be another stall at least, as the lines can get pretty damn long. (And you know beer makes you pee often!)

OVERALL: Never miss out on this place. This has got to the best hole-in-the-wall place I've ever been to. There's a mix of foreigners and Filipinos, all wanting to score seats after a long day at work. Be sure to come here as early as 5PM as the place gets really full fast. Dress code is casual. You can drink while standing and waiting for seats. There are very limited tables and chairs, but it's part of the place's charm. It's also a good place to have a good conversation with just about anyone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ayra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cheap but insanely great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Came here with friends to see what the hype was all about. We came around 7pm and there was already a long line of waiting customers. The one in charge of reservation, Allan, was very accomodating and helpful. After nearly an hour, we got ourselves a seat and ordered some of from their famous line up. The asada thingy was tasty, though you might want to put sauce in it. Barbeque was okay but not outstanding. Their goat meat and nachos are to try as well. They also have combo meals which are very cheap but filling! Beer is cheap too, no wonder the place is packed to the brim. I hope they can do something to maximize the space and have a portion which is airconditioned for families with kids.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ArnieAbrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap Eats, Cheap Beers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

another really awesome MexiCali spot in Manila. Chorizo Breakfast Burrito and buckets of SanMig Super Dry all night long, you won't be disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RenatoV3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mexican street food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

El Chupacabra is definitely one of the best Mexican restaurants to be in Makati. Their pollo chicken is awesome and they serve great beer brands. They are open after midnight. It's the perfect place to hangout and dineout with friends. It's located just in front of H&J so you can party on right after. The waiters are friendly and the price is awesome.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LorreGhent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Chupacabra also viewed

Makati, Metro Manila
Makati, Metro Manila
 
Makati, Metro Manila
Makati, Metro Manila
 

Been to El Chupacabra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing