We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mu Appetite”
Review of Mu Noodle Bar

Mu Noodle Bar
Ranked #1,079 of 1,400 Restaurants in Makati
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Makati City
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Mu Appetite”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Mu noodle bar located at Wilson St. In San Juan is where we went for a very late lunch and may I say, it was worth the wait.
The location has only about 3 to 4 parking space that is the only drawback I can say about this restaurant, a fusion of Chinese and Japanese cuisine.
We had beef fried rice, good for 4 to 5 persons, Dong Bo buns, chilled tofu with slices of century egg and pork floss, pork noodle soup and oyster cake with a twist by having melted cheese on top. For desert we had a milk tea ice cream, Mu milky cup and Cua Pao custard. I would rate all these entrees four stars except maybe for the chilled tofu not because of its taste but what I saw.
While waiting for our food, I checked out the place and they have a picture window showing the kitchen and I was taken aback seeing the cooks in sleeveless shirt, t shirts with no apron or dish towels and I saw one scratching his nose while preparing my chilled tofu. I wish they improve hygiene protocol if they want customers see how they prepare orders.
I will surely go back to try other entree but will not look at the kitchen never again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank goldie75_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    7
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Satisfying Ramen & Shrimp Omelette”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Visited Mu Noodle Bar located at 2F of the new Glorietta 2. Cozy place, they have the regular table and high table. We were seated at the high table and we ordered ramen, shrimp omelette and fried rice with chopped mustard leaves - i forgot the specific name of the rice. Anyway, the ramen was served in a medium bowl. The soup was tasty and the yellow thin noodles were cooked just right al dente if it was a spaghetti. It has also half soft boiled egg and the usual garnishings that came with ramen. The shrimp omelette was also tasty. It has mongo sprouts and shrimps were handful. It has this distinct taste of scrambled eggs. Overall, our experience was alright, Maybe we should try their other dishes.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Velardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Bacolod, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Mu noodle bar”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just opened at the new glorietta 3, second floor, this Resto has excellent ambience. Food is fusion of Japanese and Chinese. Try the beef fried rice placed in an exciting shape of rice bowl. One order serves four. Another must eat is the pork Goya..and of course, try the beef noodle using thin noodles in soy broth. Service was excellent for a soft restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ella845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Simply put, delicious!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I ate here with my husband and kids and our palates enjoyed themselves. We ordered the squid hofan noodles, oyster cake, beef noodle soup and Dong Bo buns. Everything was good! The ingredients were generous. Each bite off the oyster cake had at least one oyster in it. The black noodles with squid and seafood was very tasty with no artificial flavors. None of their food tasted like they used sauces or condiments to mask or enhance the taste. My kids liked the buns in particular. The hot noodle soup is particularly good if one is especially hungry. The service was quick enough--not fast food but it was enough just to have some conversation before eating.

The ambience is not bad either. The interiors are on the dark side and made the resto look pricey. While it is not cheap, it certainly is worth it. Because this was such a positive first experience, I will definitely go back for more.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank purplepinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mu Noodle Bar also viewed

Makati, Metro Manila
Makati, Metro Manila
 
Makati, Metro Manila
 

Been to Mu Noodle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing