We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Food with a Touch of Class”
Review of Nam Nam

Nam Nam
Ranked #657 of 1,385 Restaurants in Makati
Cuisines: Filipino
Restaurant details
Makati City Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfort Food with a Touch of Class”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Ive been here 4x and I often go with friends. Location is very good, quite small but service is fast. My favorites are the watermelon sinigang, the kare kare, binagoongan and the pinakbet. The prices are affordable so a lot of people come here for lunch/dinner esp those who work nearby. I have tried a lot of pinakbet in this area but this one is my favorite. This is the kind of resto you will always go back to, simple, comfort food with a touch of class.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minipin1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“real filipino”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you want to enjoy filipino food without getting food poisoned ( if you white tourist, strolling around "the islands", it is going to happen to you, anyway :) Filipino food is definitely not one of the best cuisines in the world, especially if you do care and know something about food. I am not talking about fine dining cuisine, I've spent 3 weeks in the country, searching for 1 reasonably priced "BISTRO" with local food. I had to wait until today, being left with one spare afternoon in Manio-Depressive Manila. Strayed in expensive Greenbelt area in Makati, looking for some nibbles, i have passed around NAMNAM and first thing popping out was alarm ringing... Nooo, Filipino food, maan, ruun, ruuuun... but I've tried... And I am glad i did. Restaurant itself has a very charming and warm atmosphere, pork served with rice was very tasty, warm lime juice surprising. Prices are reasonable, tables nicely prepared, service is EXCELLENT - I am not afraid to say - Fine dining level of it... All the boys and girls are great waiters, with wide warm&welcoming smile on their faces, providing suberb service. Just one little, but pretty important detail. Your stereo system needs some serious TUNE-UP ! :+ )

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Forsixentu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great intro to Filipino cuisine!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Before Nam Nam, I had no idea abt Filipino food besides goldilocks polvoron. This was introduced to me by a colleague and I hv to say, I really enjoyed the sisig and the rolls quite a lot. It is also inexpensive for the location. Will go there if I am in Manila for work again,

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mileew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“wait staff with attitude”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We went here last Wednesday night since we want to try this out. What I got is Tinapa rice and Bellylicious. Well, there is nothing special about the food since it is just "Typical" Filipino dish. In addition, they forgot my order. So I've waited for additional 15-20 minutes :( Service is slow. Wait staff named "GRACE" doesn't know how to smile, to say thank you. So rude! She does not have CUSTOMER SERVICE SKILLS. So pathetic! I personally will not go back

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ERQESCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So so”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Went here this evening and I had the "crunchy salt and pepper squid rings with sweet chili sauce" and garlic rice, it was tasty but nothing special.

The waitress named grace was very rude and is in dire need of a customer service course.

On the contrary, the waiter named Joecel was courteous and apologetic when the other waiter forgot my friend's order.

The interior was classy but for some reason it was hot inside.

Overall, the experience was average. Would not recommend and would not go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AJCruz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nam Nam also viewed

Makati, Metro Manila
 
Makati, Metro Manila
Makati, Metro Manila
 

Been to Nam Nam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing