We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cute caring comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Palm Rock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Rock
Ranked #48 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Kaiapoi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“cute caring comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Room safe did not work, so changed room. Breakfast was included, but that was short of normal - I think they know now what they need to do to fix it. I can still recommend this place as the staff really tried their best to cover the system shortcomings. Taxis struggle to find the location, so download the area map on your smartphone GPS so you can direct the taxi to the location at ease. Not far from (easy walking distance) of the (in)famous Burgos Street (night clubs). Several good home laundry services just in walking distance within this quiet friendly quiet clean residential neighbourhood. I stayed here now several times.

Room Tip: all rooms good, but probably higher floor better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmRockPH, Public Relations Manager at Palm Rock, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hi! Thank you for choosing to stay with us after several times! We do hope, too, that taxi drivers can find our hotel more easily, but maybe it's also nice to be a "hidden gem" in the city. Indeed, we are happy to be located in a quiet neighborhood, and most of our guests seem to appreciate that fact too. As for the minor inconveniences you experienced during your last stay, we'll ensure that they won't happen again on your next visit. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
15
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed here again after a year & half. Place is still excellent. Rooms & beddings in excellent condition!. Palm Rock Residences is truly a gem for a fairly new boutique hotel nestled in midst of bustling Makati. Located in Rockwell vicinity ... Palma St(coming from Rockwell/Power Plant) or Osias St(front entrance of hotel)

The staff were fantastic! & ever ready to assist in whatever needs that require their attention.

Just wanted to add directory location to this place for those who are not too sure once the main entrance to Palma St. is closed for security at midnight. They shud take the taxi straight up the road, make a right turn(restaurants on yr right hand side) & head straight till they arrive at the traffic light junction. From here, make a right turn(JP Rizal road) & move ahead till u see a 7-11 on your right. Make a right turn & head straight till u come to the 'Market'. Move straight on & you'll be able to see the hotel.

Hope the above is clear. To those planning to stay @ Palm Rock Residence ... wish u a happy & enjoyable stay!.



Cheers! - virgopq

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virgopq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmRockPH, Public Relations Manager at Palm Rock, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hi! We were happy that you stayed with us again. Expect the same kind of service from us on your next visit! Also, we're sure that other people who want to stay with us will find your review helpful. We appreciate it. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

I actually stayed two times in July '14 in this hotel.
The first time upon my arrival in Manila, and the second time before leaving the Philippines.
In total, I stayed 7 nights there
The hotel is located in Makati, an upscale part of Manila, close to Rockell Drive. It is good to mention that all taxi know Rockwell drive, making it easy to reach the hotel.
The airport is 30 to 45 minutes away. Of course, it really depends on traffic, since Manila can have terrible traffic jams.
Just mention Makati, Rockwell Drive with Palma Street, and taxi drivers will know.
There is a very nice mall nearby, PowerPlant mall. There is a nice selection of restaurants there. Otherwise, there are some more restaurants in Kalayaan avenue (10 minutes walk). It is therefore very easy to find a place to eat nearby. No need to take a taxi. The neighborhood is safe enough to have a walk, even at night time.
The street is private, with very little traffic (only the residents), making the place very quiet.

I booked a Premier room both times. The room is spacious with a modern deco, but the bathroom is rather small. It's sufficient though. The room goes with a long list of amenities, including bathrobes and slippers, kettle, complimentary bottles of water... .
Both rooms were overall in good shape, if I want to be picky, I would say that in the first room, there was a bulb missing on my bedside lamp, and the bathroom faucet was a bit shaky.
On my second stay, we faced a typhoon that let the city in chaos for a few days. I have to say that I was so happy to be in Palm rock Residences at that time. They used their generator to maintain electricity. Everything remained functional, including the elevator. And the generator was so quiet. I hardly could notice it during a quiet night. Actually, I only realized how severe the typhoon was when I left the hotel.

The staff have been super nice and serviceable and even caring. What a great team! It was so enjoyable staying there. Thanks to Palm Rock staff for making my stay in manila so enjoyable!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephane501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmRockPH, Public Relations Manager at Palm Rock, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hi! It's nice to know that you chose to stay with us not only once but twice during your stay here in our country. You seem to be very happy with our location and the service that our staff offered you during your stay. We'll do something about the minor problems you mentioned. We sure hope that you visit us again! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Nicely furnished and appointed. Safe area which is also reasonably quiet and clean. Good air con, TV and modern bathroom fittings.(shower excellent!!) Small room but there is a computer writing desk and wifi works in the room. Only letdown is the atrocious breakfast prepared by the receptionist and guard. Multitasking is not working here :( chefs should prepare food and receptionists should do their job (which she did very well) good value through and in a safe area but get a map for the taxi driver as ours drove around the block a couple of times looking for the place because the st signs aren't great. Maybe the hotel could place one on the main street

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maacs09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmRockPH, Public Relations Manager at Palm Rock, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hi! We're happy to know that you find our room nice and our location safe. We wish you had a more positive experience about your breakfast though. We'll see what we can do to improve the items on our menu. We hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cebu
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here for almost a week, and I can say that I was able to rest properly amidst the craziness that is Makati. The rooms are quite small but well arranged and clean. The staff are really friendly and helpful. This is a good place if you're only after a nice place to stay, minus all those frills fancy hotels offer. It is within a residential area so no traffic noise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmRockPH, Public Relations Manager at Palm Rock, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi, Ivana! We're happy to know that you find our hotel quiet and cozy. We'll let our staff know what you think of them. We hope you stay with us again when you visit the Metro! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver,Washington
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

The receptionist is very pleasant and patient and her name is Jaza. The guard outside Manong Edgar was very helpful. I love the area nice and quiet. I enjoyed my stay. There are two things that bugs me a little, 1. It's hard to find the place. 2. I wish you have a breakfast buffet. Other than that if I'm around the area I would want to stay here again..

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmRockPH, Public Relations Manager at Palm Rock, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for this review! We'll let our staff know what you think of them. We'll find ways to improve our breakfast. We'll be waiting for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

After two weeks in rustic accommodations in the rural Philippines, this was just what the doctor ordered. The room was small but stylish, well-appointed and clean. We liked being in a residential neighborhood within walking distance of the Power Plant mall, which had all sorts of options for eating and shopping. (As a side note, we're not really into Shopping with a capital S, so we skipped all of the high fashion shops, but the National Book Store in the mall has a hilarious and quirky selection of postcards, books and stationery, which was fantastic.) The staff were incredibly friendly, welcoming and helpful. My only suggestion for improvement was breakfast; the breakfast and breakfast room were both somewhat bleak, and when we went downstairs at the agreed-upon time of 7, they were still working on getting things set up and asked us if we could wait for a while. Luckily, we had some wiggle room with respect to when we needed to leave for the airport, and they brought our breakfast (a plate of toast with scrambled eggs) to the room around 20 minutes later. It was really not a major problem, but it seems like the quality of the breakfast doesn't match the level of the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baryongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmRockPH, Public Relations Manager at Palm Rock, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for this review! Your comments about the breakfast are noted. We'll definitely do something about it. We hope you visit us again! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.5 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#25 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.5 mi away
Guijo Suites Makati
Guijo Suites Makati
#20 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.0 mi away
VIP Suite
VIP Suite
#34 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
AurumOne Makati
AurumOne Makati
#27 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.5 mi away
Solace Hotel
Solace Hotel
#47 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Durban
Hotel Durban
#14 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Rock

Property: Palm Rock
Address: 6060 Palma corner Osias Sts | Poblacion, Makati, Luzon 1210, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Rock 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of both of worlds. Days will never be dull in Palm Rock. Surrounded by the liveliness of the city, Palm Rock gives guests the convenience of living in the city while providing the comforts of home. Guests will enjoy the quiet neighborhood and can take advantage of its proximity to the fashionable shopping mall. Palm Rock is also 15 minutes away from the Makati's Central Business District and from three major shopping centers: Glorietta Center, Greenbelt and Bonifacio Global City. Guests who enjoy the night life will enjoy different boutiques and stores near Palm Rock like spas, bars, cinemas, karaoke/videoke bars, parks, and concert venues. Restaurants near Palm Rock can give guests a full range of choices to satisfy their cravings. Food options vary from Filipino, American, Asian, to European dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, ACCOR, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Palm Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Rock Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing