We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous business hotel in the heart of makati” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Makati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Makati
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous business hotel in the heart of makati”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights last week - my first stay with the hotel, and had an outstanding experience. Modern comfortable and luxurious rooms, great friendly service, great breakfast spread, and good wi-fi access, and one of the best locations in makati! What more can one ask for! Would strongly recommend to those travelling to makati.

The only slight disappointment was the dinner at the coffee shop. I didn't go for the buffet -the a la carte food ordered by 4 of us was mediocre at best.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinay-shwetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raffles_FairmontPH, Hotel Manager at Fairmont Makati, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Vinay,

I'm glad to learn about your outstanding overall experience at Fairmont Makati. It was our pleasure to be of service to you.

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, I'm glad that we were able to provide you a comfortable and enjoyable stay experience. I have also taken note of the particular incident that left you disappointed in our restaurant. Rest assured that this has been shared with our Culinary team so they can investigate on what happened and ensure that this will not occur again.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

James Bevans
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,079
    356
    62
    22
    16
See reviews for
308
315
123
596
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed at the Fairmont Makati hotel for 4 nights over a course of 2 separate stays. The hotel is situated across the street from the group of malls—glorietta, greenbelt and landmark. The hotel also shares a block with the Raffles Makati, which is an all-suite / part-residency hotel establishment. Below is my assessment of the Fairmont Makati:

SECURITY / DRIVEWAY
As you pull up towards the driveway, your vehicle is met by security / bomb check / security dog. This is uncommon in places where I live, but these type of checks are more prevalent and normal in Manila. From that security check, you would take a right turn towards Fairmont (going straight would take you to Raffles). As you approach the driveway, you are greeted with friendly door men and hotel staff. The doormen quickly whisper my luggage and said they would deliver it to my room. Another great thing that I would like to note is that every time you would use a cab out of the hotel, the hotel staff would note down what the license plate and name of the car is—this was great and made me feel extremely secure.

CHECK IN
Check in was alright. It seemed like it took longer than usual—with all of the passport photo copying, logistical stuff, and upsell for a better room—one of the front desk people was really trying to sell another room to me, almost aggressively, but I continued to decline since a larger room wasn't necessary for my stay in Manila.

THE ROOM
My friend and I stayed in the standard Fairmont Room with 2 double beds. The room was extremely clean and a really big size for it being a standard room. Upon entrance, the TV was on and played soft background music—that was a nice touch. Since I am a presidents club member, I got free wifi! Also, there were 3 apples on the table next to the window with a thoughtful note from the hotel manager. The bathroom was a good size too. I thought that the bathtub was actually placed oddly in the bathroom space—but I didn't use it so I can not speak to how the bathtub was. The rain shower is always a great touch to the room—in my opinion. Fairmont's toiletries (shampoo, body wash, hard soap) is always the Rose 31 brand. Since I've stayed in other Fairmont hotel properties in the past, I typically love the scent. But for some reason, this particular set of toiletries smelled a bit differently—it had that rose scent to it, but smelled a little bad (i know that's not the best description, but oh well..) The bed was nice, comfortable and large.

THE SERVICE
I was really impressed with the service here at the Fairmont Makati. Since I have family who lives in the vicinity, I had 5 family members come up with me to my room. One of the turn down service members saw us on the hallway and asked if I wanted my room to be ready for bed. I requested for a later time as I was with my family. Later that evening, I received a knock on the door and the man brought over a tray full of COMPLIMENTARY truffles! WOW. One for each of us! That was such a great touch—that he recognized that I had guests and was very thoughtful to bring up some treats for me and my guests. VERY IMPRESSED. Another nice touch is having a call in nurse in the facility. I had gotten sick towards the end of my stay and the nurse came up to assess my health and suggested medication. She sold me some medication, which wasn't that much money at all (I think 7 php per tablet).

THE POOL
The pool at the Fairmont makati is a very large size (much larger than the Raffles Makati). There are two sections, one that's more deep and another that's shallow. My friend and I stayed near the semi-covered cabana towards the end of the pool. It rained towards the end of our pool experience. I would say that the pool boys at the Fairmont's pool weren't as attentive as those from the Raffles pool.

MACAROON CAFE
Adjacent to the lobby was the macaroon cafe which had many pastries, macaroons and even truffles! The variety of macaroon were very unique! I was impressed. I even tried a doughsant (doughnut + croissant. I'm used to them being called Cronuts)—it tasted good! I was really impressed by one of the girls that was working at the Macaroon Cafe. I'm forgetting her name, but she was extremely friendly and spoke very amicably towards her guests. I had accidentally left my lens cap from my camera in the morning, and went about my day. When i arrived back at the hotel, I passed the cafe and she ran after me to send me back my lost item. WOW, so nice for her to save it for me and to remember who I was. She was such a delight to interact with.

All in all, I would say that the Fairmont Makati is a great place to stay. It is one of the newest (if not THE newest hotel alongside with Raffles). From service to experience, I would rate it a 5 star. Try this place out. It is a much more affordable hotel than the Raffles.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerome B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raffles_FairmontPH, Hotel Manager at Fairmont Makati, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Jerome,

I wish to thank you for your graciousness and generosity. You have given Raffles Makati a wonderful review and now, you are doing the same for Fairmont Makati - thank you very much!

Same as Raffles, I'm glad to know that your overall experience at Fairmont was wonderful. Thank you for sharing with us everything you loved about your stay. Your comments will help us understand the needs of our guests so we can further improve on our services, which is why it's great to receive a tip or two from our patrons.

Among the positive feedbacks that you've shared, what made me happiest is your commendation on the quality of service our hotel colleagues provide. Thank you for acknowledging their dedication and hardwork.

Thank you once again, Jerome. I look forward to welcoming you back with family and friends either at Fairmont or Raffles.

Kind regards,

James Bevans
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckerton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Fairmont Hotel in Makati for 4 great nights , the hotel staff was exceptional .. smiles all around and sincerely friendly .
The most pleasurable and relaxing evening was at the Pool bar , peace and quiet , with again a great staff , the CEO's ( Cheif entertainment officers , Pam & Haj ) kept me smiling , Joesph was also very attentive , and Kris kept the drinks coming , and finally Laura , all I can say is Laura with her bright smile , cheerful attitude and best of all she laughed at all my jokes , truly a gem ..Laura made you feel comfortable and not like you were just sitting at a bar away from home , but made you feel like you were among friends , wish I could have stayed long ..
My next trip to the Philippines I will return to the Fairmont Hotel .
Chris

Room Tip: Ask for the Gold membership , and if possible include the great breakfast in your room rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raffles_FairmontPH, Hotel Manager at Fairmont Makati, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Christopher,

The pleasure is ours! Thank you very much for choosing Fairmont Makati as your accommodation during your business trip. I'm happy to learn that you will stay with us again on your next trip. I look forward to that!

I'm glad that what you enjoyed most during your stay was the friendliness and service of our hotel colleagues. I'm delighted that Pam, Haj, Joseph, Kris and Laura made you feel taken care of. I will make sure they receive your kind words about them.

Thank you once again and see you soon!

Kind regards,

James Bevans
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Can not fault this hotel. Very new - rooms are great. Good spot for walking around - felt very save. Will stay here again. Spa was very good too - had a lovely facial. Raffles right next door and you can use the bars and charge back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liztravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raffles_FairmontPH, Hotel Manager at Fairmont Makati, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Liz,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your stay at Fairmont Makati. I'm glad that overall, it was a wonderful experience and you will consider coming back on your next visit to Manila.

I'm grateful for your positive feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

James Bevans
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
176 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights here for our first visit to Manila.
From the moment of the easy check,in the floral be decked lobby, to being taken to room 749 on the Gold Passport floor we knew we were in for a delightful time.
The room had free Wifi, water and fruit but the Concierge lounge where we had breakfast with, a view was exceptional. Service was unobtrusive and perfect. It was so very easy to have breakfast there, also pre dinner drinks.
I had a Hilot massage with banana leaves with soft music playing, a nice antidote to the traffic and pollution outside. The swimming pool was attractively designed to allow for lap swimming, and a place for young children.
The only meal we had in the hotel was at the Longbar, peanut shells on the floor and live music. The food was fine but then the food in Manila had been terrific.
The hotel opened last year and is perfectly located to explore several malls and department stores, it's a big plus to be able to walk everywhere in Manila.

Room Tip: Try the Gold Passport floor, it's excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicheleColette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raffles_FairmontPH, Hotel Manager at Fairmont Makati, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Michele,

I'm glad to learn that you and your husband had a wonderful stay with us. We're very honored to be your home away from home for your first visit to Manila. I hope the rest of your trip went well and that you enjoyed your vacation in the Philippines.

Thank you for giving positive feedback on the Fairmont Gold Lounge. I'm glad you find the service exceptional and had a wonderful time during breakfast and cocktail hours. I'm happy to know that you found relaxation in our signature massage treatment, Hilot. On your next visit, I encourage that you try our Sweet Honey Body Bliss in which the honey is made by our local bees.

I wish to thank you as well for giving wonderful comments on the Long Bar and our recreational facilities. I do hope that on your second trip to Manila, you will consider staying at Fairmont Makati once again.

Kind regards,

James Bevans
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Fairmont in Makati and had a great time. Checking-in was a breeze and was done in 5 minutes. The room we chose had a very comfortable King size bed and the room was spotless and the attention to detail was very obvious. There is a shower enclosure and a bathtub as well. The bathroom amenities were a wonderful scent of Rose, although it seems more appreciated by the women. The hallways are quite spacious and there are very visible directions to the rooms.
We went down to have Happy Hour at the Long Bar and it was great that this is within the hotel complex. The lobby is not as huge as the other older hotels around Makati, but it is quite comfortable and serves some interesting cocktails and non-alcoholic drinks. Check-out was quite fast as well.
I would definitely stay over again and recommend the Fairmont Makati to many others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raffles_FairmontPH, Hotel Manager at Fairmont Makati, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay experience at Fairmont Makati.

I'm glad to learn that you found your room comfortable and the amenities wonderful. I'm also delighted to know that you enjoyed the Happy Hour at the Long Bar. On your next visit, I invite you to try the other dining outlets and also the spa treatments at Willow Stream for an even more relaxing stay experience.

Thank you once again for your positive feedback and for holding Fairmont Makati in such high regard. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

James Bevans
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I think this is the best hotel money can get in Metro Manila. I base my opinion on a number of reasons.
1. Location : Makati is the only district with modern facilities in par with the Western world. This hotel is next to the best malls in Makati and is within walking distance to hundreds of nice restaurants and tons of shops. The neighbourhood is modern and free from the sleaziness, squalor or dirt seen in Malate or Ermita. It is close to both the NAIA and the old Manila city.
2. This hotel is 5 star facilities and is brand new.
3. There is a nice pool and also a nice gym.
4. Service is on the whole of 5 start standard. The concierge is particularly flawlessly considerate.
5. The hotel shares the use of restaurants operated by the adjacent Raffles Hotel. The Writers Room is particularly a nice bar for those insomniac nights.
There are a few flaws.
1. Housekeeping only gives me 1 set of toiletries for 3 nights of stay.
2. The Food and Beverages are not top notch, I do not find the food tasty at all both in the restaurant and in the rooms service.
3. Check in staff were not helpful. I found them quite pompous although that's not uncommon in other Filipino 5 star facilities.

Overall, I would recommend and personally return to the Fairmont Makati

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayneWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raffles_FairmontPH, Hotel Manager at Fairmont Makati, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Jayne,

I wish to thank you for taking the time to enumerate the factors that made your stay in our hotel memorable, as well as those areas that we can improve on.

Thank you for commending the services provided by our Concierge team. I will make sure to share with them your wonderful review. I'd like to thank you also for giving positive feedback on our facilities and Writers Bar.

In regards to the other experiences you find that require improvement, I have already shared your inputs with the concerned departments for their action in order to avoid such flaws to happen again.

Again, thank you for your valuable feedback. I'm glad to know that you look forward to returning to Fairmont Makati on your next visit to Manila.

Kind regards,

James Bevans
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#4 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
0.0 mi away
Raffles Makati
Raffles Makati
#1 of 82 in Makati
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
0.3 mi away
Discovery Primea
Discovery Primea
#2 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Makati Diamond Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Makati

Property: Fairmont Makati
Address: 1 Raffles Drive, Makati Avenue | Corner Arnaiz Street, Makati, Luzon, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Makati
#2 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#3 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#3 Business Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Makati 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Makati's prestigious commercial business, the luxurious Fairmont Makati is a hotel with 280 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites including Fairmont Gold - our exclusive lifestyle hotel experience. This luxury Makati City hotel features six restaurants and lounges, over 1,700 sq m of versatile meeting and function space, including a 859 square meter ballroom accommodating up to 720 diners. Relax and re-energize in hotel's Willow Stream Spa, one of the city's most luxurious retreats, or the adjacent fitness center and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Fairmont Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Makati Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing