We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Planet Manila Makati
Nearby Hotels
$213
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New World Makati Hotel(Makati)
$108
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$82
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Garden Hotel Makati(Makati)(Great Value!)
$51
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (987)
Filter reviews
987 results
Traveler rating
252
421
218
61
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
421
218
61
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hotelteam insiderrooms are smallthe red light districtclean hotelwater pressureair conditioningtaxi drivershort staycable tvhot showernight lifewifi connectionroom ratebars and restaurantstowelsapp
Filter
Updating list...
679 - 684 of 987 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was my second time staying in a Tune Hotel having previously stayed in the Angeles Tune Hotel. This chain of hotels are pretty similar in that the rooms are all very small and all operate a policy of charging for “extras” which are normally free in other hotels. I stayed here for two nights in July 2013 on the final leg of my trip in the Philippines.

The hotel is located near P. Burgos Street which is pretty infamous as it is a red-light area; there are many scams here so you need to be careful. Most of the massage outlets are a euphemism for something else. The hotel staff were able to direct me to a nice little massage shop 50 metres away which was a legitimate service and I got a nice foot massage there.

As I was only in Manila for two days so I did not bother to learn the Jeepney routes which criss-cross greater Manila so instead I took taxis. The hotel itself was about a 20mins journey from Manila Ninoy-Aquino Airport and the Taxi driver had to be shown the address as he was not familiar with this hotel. Taxi drivers in this area were very untrustworthy and many did not want to use their meters. I visited the SM Mall of Asia and the taxi driver who collected me here charged me 2.5 times more than the honest taxi driver who later returned me from the Mall of Asia.

The room like many Tune hotels is very small and my room I would estimate was around 6.5 - 7 sq. metres. There is no closet or anywhere to store your luggage. There is a small clothes rack for hanging up clothes. The room was equipped with Wi-Fi, Air-Con, a 32” TV with dozens of channels. All of which are charged separately as “extras” or else as a 24hr bundle. There is also a large safe which could hold up to a 15.6” laptop or iPad, there was no extra charges to use the safe. There is a nice shower in the hotel with good water pressure and the bathroom size while not very big was acceptable for one person. There is a small writing desk which folds down from the wall.

The security in the hotel is quite good and there were usually one or two security guards and a door man near the entrance to the reception. The hotel operates a key-card system which controls the extras in your room such as Air-Con, the key-card also gives you access to the lift and it makes access to the rooms difficult if you are not a guest of the hotel.

The hotel staff were not the most friendly and while it was quite busy they just seemed to lack some of the charisma I had seen in other hotels in the Philippines. The room was kept spotlessly clean during my stay and I must commend the Housekeeping who did a very good job during my brief stay there.

The hotel was okay in that I was just on a very short stay at two nights and the price was acceptable at €35/night. This hotel is ok for a short stay, anything longer however and the small size of the room would be just too annoying. Two nights was enough for me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomthepost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for three nights. There are good things and bad things. Let us start with what's good:

Hotel is new and clean.
The bed is very comfy
The front office people are very polite and helpful as well as the security people.

Now the bad things: The room is so small that apart from the bed and transparent plastic bed tables, the only item of furniture is a retractable table about 60x40 cm. As mentioned in a previous post, if the guest wants to sit, he will have to sit on the bed ! There is absolutely no place to store one's luggage.

I like to drink herbal tea before sleep and jokingly I asked one of the girls if the hotel could rent me a kettle. She replied that hot water was available at 10 pesos per plastic cup !! I was surprised and shocked as that sounded very cheap from their part. Even on Air Asia, I do not think they would charge for a cup of hot water.
My flight was due at 9 pm. They informed me that I could check out at 2 pm instead of 11 am but that the charges would be 300 pesos. They were adamant, I will have to check out at 2 pm, not 2:05 pm. After paying the 300 pesos , I asked them if they could keep my luggage up to about 6 pm, time for me to go around the area for an early meal. The girl replied: Of course, Sir, the fee is 60 pesos. To be honest, I have not travelled enough to give an objective opinion, so I will leave it to fellow travelers to have their own opinion.

I paid about 2000 pesos per night excluding a fee of 420 pesos per 24 hr of WiFi and air-cond. I have enquired from the neighboring hotels and I think you can get more value for your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris889216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Exactly what you need from a city hotel, clean, modern and with good wifi. Bonus here is that it's also in a really good location to the bars and restaurants of manila's better area, although the infamous borgus street is also close by.

Would Defo stay here again, bar down stairs had all the sports on too, so watching the epl was easy enough on the other side if the world!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank Duncg03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The room, albite on the smaller side, provided a nice rest after roughing it in northern Luzon. We booked through agoda so the room automatically came with towels, cable tv and wifi. The shower was good, but did not drain well. The staff were friendly.

The location is in a red light district. As soon is I stepped outside without my wife I was offered viagra. The taxi drivers that crowded street in front kept trying to offer to take me to other red light districts. There were middle-aged men with teenage girls, in and out of the hotel. It was gross. My wife, who is local, was afraid to go out alone.

While we were checking out I had a conversation about this with another guest out front, who also did not like the location. An older man, maybe mid-50s and presumably Aussie like many of the older, male, english speaking guest was over listening. When I stepped back into the lobby this man shoved past me, almost knocking me over. This was done right in front of hotel security, who did nothing.

We were there for just a night of rest, which we got. I could only recommend this place as such.

Room Tip: Careful of the creepy old men.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

After spending a few days at the Tune hotel in Cebu City, I came to the Tune hotel in Makati the night before my flight out of MNL. All Tune hotels looked pretty much the same, small, nice bed, big TV and a nice shower. The room at this property had a really bad smelland looked less clean compared to the Tune hotel in Cebu.

Taxi's are a little harder to find because the hotel is not on a main street and the taxi drivers have a problem with wanting to use their meter (This is a Manila area problem, not the hotels). They wanted 150 pesos to Greenbelt which would normally be a 70-90 pesos ride. I ended up walking the 20-25 minutes to get to Greenbelt instead. The neighborhood is a bit seedy with many bars. You see ladyboy's passing by the property on a frequent basis.

The sports bar on the main level is best to be avoided, the breakfast I had their was terrible and they did not get my order right.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcoastcyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews