We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some things you need to know before booking here...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Planet Makati, Manila
Ranked #17 of 83 Hotels in Makati
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Some things you need to know before booking here...”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

First of all, this hotel is in the middle of the red light district. No matter which way you go, you will walk by lady boys and working girls on way in or out of the hotel. There are strip clubs and 24 hour massage parlors right across the street, and the infamous P. Burgos street is only one block away. If you are going to Manila for this, then stay here. If you are on a family vacation, I'd think twice before booking.

Also, the rooms lack basic amenities: there are no telephones, refrigerators, or chairs in the room. If you want to sit, you have to sit on the bed. If you want to make a call or order room service, you better have a local phone or be willing to walk to the elevator. Also, free wifi is not included for all rooms, so make sure you ask when you book. Mine was included, but their wifi passwords are only good for 48 hours... so every 2 days you have to put in a new password, which is annoying for longer stays. There is also no central air conditioning in the hotel- so the elevators and hallways are like steam rooms. There is AC in the room and a fan, but it's really noisy. The rooms are small too, so it's hard to drown out noises. Oh, AND the pillows here suck. They're flatter than pancakes. I left with so many cricks in my neck.

The positives: the staff is very helpful and attentive, and the housekeeping is efficient. New towels and soap every day. I did have an issue with the cleanliness of the linens though... I thought that they were putting the same sheets back on every day, but apparently they were actually changing the sheets and putting new ones on, it's just that the new ones all just had stains on them because whatever bleach they were using (or not using) for their laundry just left stains on the sheets. There is a TV in the room with lots of channels. They have 24 hour room service, which is nice- but again, you have to have a phone to be able to call them. They offer a safe in the rooms for you valuables, but I never had any problems at all with leaving my stuff out. There are also doormen working at all hours, so you feel safe going in and out of the hotel. They also have a sports bar next to the lobby. Decent food, but overpriced.

I'm not sure if I'd pick this place again, but it's definitely cheaper than some of the other places in Makati. I think most people pay $50 a night for this place, but I booked online and somehow managed to pay just over $30 a night.

Room Tip: Ask about free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheWhoTravels23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    369
    195
    53
    31
See reviews for
54
230
249
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in a small but clean room. Their Standard Double room is 14 sq.m but I kinda expect that already. Has free Wifi but no breakfast, pretty much a budget hotel in Makati CBD. Hotel is near malls,restaurants, bars and busy nightlife of Makati.Easy to get a cab if needed. There's a sports bar open 24/7 on ground floor if wants to chill out and have some drinks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prettyliltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linton, North Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Small very clean rooms friendly staff The staff are accomodating and quick to address guest's concerns good food close to the nightlife and restaurants money exchange on every corner will stay there agian

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikecheryl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The rooms are small, but according to Tune standards. The hotel and the rooms are clean, the beds comfortable. The hotel is located just around the corner from busy Burgos Street where one can easily find food, drinks, massage and company! Close to Ayala shopping malls.

Room Tip: Best thing to do is probably to book an "all-in" package through Agoda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waterzooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

I mean this in a good way. The staff are accomodating and quick to address guest's concerns. Luckily there's a restobar at the ground floor.

Some people expect too much but should be fair enough in telling about their stay. Don't expect golden furniture when what you pay for is worth just a cabbage.

I'm happy with this cabbage! I'm glad I helped my friends stay here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Spike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel twice during my month long vacation around SE Asia. Once at the beginning of my trip and at the very end before returning home to Guam.

My first experience at this hotel was not so bad. The room was very small but clean and cozy. The only thing that I did not like was the smell of the room. Since I was already throwing up from something I ate, the smell of the room only made my stomach worse and I couldn't stop throwing up. It was sort of an old, maybe stale sewer water smell? Eventually my nose got used to it and I was ok. Oh, and the cab driver ripped us off when he took us to the airport.

Our second experience at the end of our trip was not so pleasant. We landed in Manila early in the morning but the hotel would not let us check in until 2PM. We had to pay a fee to check in an hour or two early (after waiting 4 hours or so.) The location is quite sketchy and not some place I ventured out at night in. There were a lot of bars and perverted looking foreigners who came there just for sex. It was quite obvious. The room was more outdated than our first room with old paint and a stale smell. Oh, and the restaurant downstairs is actually really good. The only thing I did not like was that service was really slow. It seemed as if they were quick to attend to the male customers but if you were a female, it took long and the service left you feeling awkward.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashlee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed here eight months ago. No problems. I also stayed in the Tune Hotel in Cebu... even fewer problems. However, my current stay here has been miserable.

If you want to stay in Makati and only have $50 a night, stay here. You don't have much of a choice, as the other hotels in the $50 range are mostly worn-down dumps. At least this hotel is new.

The good: beds aren't too uncomfortable (although sleeping in your own sweat after they don't clean your room is) and the small size of the room doesn't bother me.

However, I find it a bit insulting that the 5-star New World hotel across from the Greenbelt mall is going for $110 the same night I'm paying $55 to stay here. Tune Hotel is not half as good as a 5-star hotel.

I realize I've probably outgrown budget hotels - even new ones - but here's how my stay took a turn for the worst:

Wifi - I'm a stickler for wifi. I need it to work. And I believe if you advertise something, you should deliver it. Especially when you charge for it every day. Yet the wifi was down for FOUR DAYS. Four days I had to pay other hotels to do conference calls and spend half my day at Starbucks. The staff said it was a Makati-wide issue; funny then how my meeting at another hotel had blazing fast wifi, every cafe at the mall had working wifi, and my friend's legal office had wifi. Lying, perhaps? Of course, the hotel said they'd refund what I paid for wifi... until they later said they were "incapable" of processing refunds. What happens if they overcharge someone? Or charge the wrong amount? They can't refund ANYTHING? They couldn't just hand me cash? More lies, of course.

Staff - Filipinos are pretty nice, but this hotel must have gone out of its way to hire the worst ones since I last stayed here. After three days of 1 hr of sleep a night, I arrived at 6am and asked to check in. They said they had no rooms until someone checked out. I returned at 11am and they said they had to charge me 300 pesos to check in. No exceptions for spending 30+ nights a year in their hotels. The staff is a bunch of robots. I paid the fee and, despite being told I'd be "given priority" for the first room, they gave me my choice of available rooms. Apparently "not having any rooms available" was a lie, too. I would have been happier to pay their extortion fee at 6am in order to sleep at a normal hour. Instead, the robotic jerks at the front desk wasted my whole day.

Housekeeping - Missed service half the time I was here.

Online booking - I selected one "Cozy package" (wifi/AC/TV/etc) on their website. When I arrived, the front desk girl chastised me for not selecting one per night (eight in total). Um, I'm sorry that your website is confusing.

Location - I don't mind being surrounded by transgendered prostitutes, strip clubs, run-down flophouses, and an array of low-end establishments. To me, it adds character. If you don't like stepping over a homeless person and being grabbed at by a ladyboy on your walk home, you might disagree with me. The hotel is indeed in Makati, but in the ghetto part of Makati. Just saying. If you plan to spend your time near the nice part of Makati and prefer not to walk, taxis will add $5-10 a day to your room cost.

Other fees - They never stop charging you here. Lose a key card? 150 pesos. I've purchased keycards for a business project and they cost about ten cents. But Tune Hotels, run by the penny-pinching squad at Air Asia, will find any way to gouge you.

I realize some of these issues are simply my issue with cheap, charge-you-for-everything budget hotels. I'll take the heat for that. Combine their cheapness with a grouchy staff (after all, a nice staff would just let you check in to one of eight available rooms for free) and you've got a hotel I won't stay at a third time.

I travel almost every day of the year, so I'm open to saving a bit of money. However, if you're here for a short trip, do yourself a favor and spend the extra money and stay in a better hotel. I was a fan of Tune Hotels for awhile as a budget alternative, but like Air Asia, they are going downhill.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#28 of 83 in Makati
317 reviews
8.8 mi away
Red Planet Amorsolo, Makati, Manila
0.1 mi away
Hotel Durban
Hotel Durban
#23 of 83 in Makati
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
VIP Suite
VIP Suite
#32 of 83 in Makati
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Garden Hotel Makati
0.1 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Makati, Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Makati, Manila

Property: Red Planet Makati, Manila
Address: Kalayaan Ave | E. Mercado Cor. F. Calderon Street, Makati, Luzon 1210, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Makati)
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Makati, Manila 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An array of pubs, bistros, restaurants and tourist attractions surround the 213-room Red Planet Makati, Manila, a stylish property at this dynamic destination. It's 30 minutes from Manila International Airport and centrally located in the Makati Commercial and Business District. Major tourist attractions easily accessed include Rizal Park, the National Museum, Intramurous, Manila Cathedral and Manila Ocean Park. The property's practical and comfortable rooms include four with wheelchair access. Red Planet Makati, Manila has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Red Planet Makati, Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Planet Makati, Manila Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing