We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Planet Makati, Manila
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I recently stayed here with a friend for 2 nights and am very happy with the hotel. Tune hotels are a big company that manage multiple hotels in many locations, so you would expect professional service and a proper hotel. This is exactly what we received.
The rooms are clean, modern and a good size with a window view over the city. Yes, you do have to pay extra for wifi, tv and other things but for the price you pay for 1 night, it's worth it.
The staff are extremely helpful and assisted us with any issues we had.
The only con is that many taxi drivers don't know where it is located, so make sure you know your way around or a place nearby you can mention to them. Also it is located close to some gentlemen clubs, but we didn't really have any issues with them.
Overall, great value for the price paid. Would stay here again and recommend it to budget travelers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick s, Manager at Red Planet Makati, Manila, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Hila K,

Greetings from Tune Hotel Makati! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our community. It is Great to hear that you have truly enjoyed your experience with us and that we created a refreshing and relaxing stay for you. Your business is important to us and by telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

Excited to hear that you shall return to our Brand when you come back to the Philippines .
Thank you for your loyalty.


Best Regards,


Derick Santos
Hotel Manager
Tune Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    345
    188
    47
    31
See reviews for
49
207
237
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

My partner and i have stayed here a few times. It is a clean hotel. The rooms are spotless and cleaned daily. If you book with agoda you get everything included like air con room safe and wifi..
It is in a good location and i just can't fault it. You easily get what you pay for at this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andymalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick s, Manager at Red Planet Makati, Manila, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear andymalou,


Greetings from Tune Hotel Makati! On behalf of the whole team, we would like to thank you for giving us a very good review. Your business is important to us and we greatly value your feedback. Rest assured that we will continuously improve our services for you and for all our guests in the future.

Again, thank you so much and we hope to see you again soon.


Best Regards,


Derick Santos
Hotel Manager
Tune Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed at Tune Makati for almost two weeks during my last stay in Manila. I've stayed at quite a few hotels in the area over the past few years, and this one definitely had the most bang for the buck. The hotel is new, showers are steaming hot, has LCD TVs with cable/satellite channels, nice AC, and the bed was as advertised (similar to the beds in the 5 star hotels). The room is quite small, and there are definitely nicer areas in makati, but again for the money it is probably the best around.

Previously I had stayed at two five stars hotels in Manila, at 5-10 times the cost, and while this is definitely not a 5 star hotel, I was quite satisfied and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick s, Manager at Red Planet Makati, Manila, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Richard M,


Greetings from Tune Hotel Makati!

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments particularly on the quality of our guest rooms, the friendliness of the staff, and the concept in general. It is Great to hear that you have truly enjoyed your experience with us.

The Team and I feel strongly rewarded when we hear that we have created a refreshing, memorable experience from people like you . Hope you will return to us soon.

If we can be of any further assistance at the moment please just let us know.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Best Regards,


Derick Santos
Hotel Manager
Tune Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
151 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The location for many travelers may not be good, as the area is a red light zone There are many street people and prostitutes. For us, it was okay. The rooms are small, as noted before by otheres. So small, that we can not pass each other around the bed without climbing on the bed or sitting.

The rooms are very clean and the TV is nice and big on the wall, but maybe it seems big as the room is so small. The room has a safety-box.

The cost for this room, from what we paid months ago when we booked is much less than the new rates. Staff at the front desk were very helpful and pleasant. The hotel, new as it is, is starting to show wear and tear.

The resto bar downstairs is very nice and has good food, but a bit pricey. Getting a meter taxi out of there was a problem, all wanted a high no meter flat rate, so we walked up to the main street.
Its a good place for what you get, but if you plan to be in Makati for more than one night or even two, find a place with a bigger room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leftovertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick s, Manager at Red Planet Makati, Manila, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear leftovertoo,


Greetings from Tune Hotel Makati!

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments particularly on the quality of our guest rooms, the friendliness of the staff, and the concept in general. It is Great to hear that you have truly enjoyed your experience with us. I would also like to thank you for expressing your thoughts particularly on the size of the room and the community around the hotel. We take your feedback to heart as we focus on continuously improving our services for you and for all our guests in the future.

The Team and I feel strongly rewarded when we hear that we have created a refreshing, memorable experience from people like you . Hope you will return to us soon.

If we can be of any further assistance at the moment please just let us know.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Best Regards,

Derick Santos
Hotel Manager
Tune Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
337 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 524 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Honestly, I found the location of Tune Makati is not that good. It’s surroundings is quite dark at night. There are only two small roads that leads to the hotel. One is a very quiet street with residential and the other is to one of a better lit road.

The hotel is as their usual standard. Room is small but sufficient. The bed is good and comfortable and there is a safe box.

The downside is the room that I have, the shower area flood when I shower and it takes a bit of time to drain out the water.

Other than that, it is still a good hotel to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mousehunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick s, Manager at Red Planet Makati, Manila, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear mousehunt,

Greetings from Tune Hotel Makati! On behalf of the whole team, we would like to thank you for giving us a very good review of our services and of the hotel in general. Your business is important to us and we value your feedback as we continuously improve our services for you and for all our guests in the future.

We would also like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you have experienced with our bathroom. This is a rare and an isolated incident as proven by the reviews we have received and we assure you that this would never happen again. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and the quality of its product. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas particularly our service.

Again, our apologies and we hope that this experience will not deter you from choosing to stay with us again. We wish you a pleasant week ahead.


Best Regards,


Derick Santos
Hotel Manager
Tune Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The world
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

There are beggars out the front of the hotel which the security appear to just allow to hassle guests and do nothing.

Reception staff are friendly but there is an extra charge for everything.

The room is not big enough to swing a cat and the bathroom has no curtain and resembles something from a prison movie.

Not worth the couple of hundred pesos you might save by getting a REAL hotel.

Room Tip: Get a real hotel instead of this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Private222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The bathroom smells like sewer and floods, no hot water. Very noisy from the prostitutes and the drunks at night, unable to walk around the area at night without being harassed by the prostitutes. The room was tiny, no closet, no fridge, NO PHONE, no space for luggages. Horrible experience. DO NOT be fooled by the pictures or the ratings, save your money. It is not located near any shopping area. Stayed one night left the next day. i lost money because I payed for 9 days and the room was non refundable, but I could not stay another night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honestreviewer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick s, Manager at Red Planet Makati, Manila, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear honestreviewer79,


Greetings from Tune Hotel Makati!

Thank you for taking the time of giving us a feedback and for expressing your thoughts particularly on the size of the room and the non-availability of a mini-ref, and other amenities inside the room. Your business is important to us and we take your feedback to heart. Tune Hotels are operating on a limited service concept which was launched just recently in the Philippines and is rapidly building scale and becoming the largest budget hotel chain in Asia. We focus on the immediate needs of the economy minded traveler.

If we can be of any further assistance at the moment please just let us know.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Durban
Hotel Durban
#19 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.7 mi away
VIP Suite
VIP Suite
#33 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#25 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Guijo Suites Makati
Guijo Suites Makati
#22 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
2.1 mi away
Red Planet Amorsolo, Makati, Manila
0.1 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Makati, Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Makati, Manila

Property: Red Planet Makati, Manila
Address: Kalayaan Ave | E. Mercado Cor. F. Calderon Street, Makati, Luzon 1210, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Makati)
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Makati, Manila 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An array of pubs, bistros, restaurants and tourist attractions surround the 213-room Red Planet Makati, Manila, a stylish property at this dynamic destination. It's 30 minutes from Manila International Airport and centrally located in the Makati Commercial and Business District. Major tourist attractions easily accessed include Rizal Park, the National Museum, Intramurous, Manila Cathedral and Manila Ocean Park. The property's practical and comfortable rooms include four with wheelchair access. Red Planet Makati, Manila has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Planet Makati, Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Planet Makati, Manila Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing