We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only 500 pesos per night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Planet Makati, Manila
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Only 500 pesos per night”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a great idea it is a wonder that no on ehad this idea before
The place was 100% occupied and every guest we spoke to was delighted with their exScoresheet for Accommodation
Date of Stay 20/10/2012
Name of Resort TUNE Hotel Makati
Location Manila Philippines
My Star Rating ***
AUD $/Night Paid $15/2 ppl
Criteria Score Comment
Friendliness 7
Cleanliness 7
Security/Safe - Y/N 9/Y
Transport to and from. 7 Taxi NAIA$5.00
Bed Quality 10
Service 8
Food Quality/Value/Variety 8 Giles Hotel Nearby
Food Value 8 “ “
Noise Factor 8 “ “
Location 8

TOTAL/100 80

perience

Room Tip: A room up high has better views and less noise but all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick s, Manager at Red Planet Makati, Manila, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,


Greetings from Tune Hotel Makati! On behalf of the whole team, we would like to thank you for the wonderful feedback you have given us. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a delightful experience for you and other guests in the future. Rest assured that we will continue to provide you with a clean, comfortable, high quality and consistent lodging experience with a highly competitive price, staffed by friendly, positive and professional people.

Again, Thank you so much and we hope to see you again soon!


Best Regards,


Derick Santos
Hotel Manager
Tune Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    342
    186
    47
    31
See reviews for
49
205
235
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's not the first time I'm staying in a Tune Hotel and I've never been disappointed so far.

Here, in Makati, the staff is really helpful and very kind !

The rooms, like all the Tune Hotels, are a bit small especially if you're not alone BUT it's not a problem for us especially that it's always clean and the bed is SO comfortable !!!

Also, there is the AC and a fan (very useful as it's currently terribly hot and humid in Manila). Obviously, like all the Tune Hotels, you get what you pay for so it's up to you to chose what you want to have in your room (AC, internet 12 hours or 24 hours, TV, towels etc.).

As there are no phones in the rooms, you can still use the phone at disposal in the corridor of your floor close to the elevators if you wish to contact the front desk.

Internet wifi is great (very important for us as we need a very good internet connection) !

With regards to the price, we kept on extending for our double room and at some point, there was only 1 room left as a twin room (on a different website than the hotel's one) but, the hotel staff were so kind that they agreed to let us keep our double room even if we booked at the price of a twin room (which was cheaper).

With regards to the situation, it's in Makati City, which is the business centre and you have plenty of restaurants around so there is no need to use taxi (unless you wish to go further obviously).

Otherwise, the bar/restaurant downstairs is very good ! International menu and prices are reasonable but you might find them expensive if you're used to eat in local restaurants very cheap.

So, as a general opinion : Tune Hotel Makati is GREAT !

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms close to the elevators as there is a telephone at disposal there (on each flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick s, Manager at Red Planet Makati, Manila, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,


Greetings from Tune Hotel Makati! We would like to thank for giving us the opportunity to serve you. Your reviews are important to us and we take your feedback to heart as we continuously improve our services for you and for all our guests. Rest assured that we will continue to delight our guests by providing high quality and consistent lodging experience with a highly competitive price, staffed by friendly, positive and professional people.

Again, thank you so much and we hope to see you again soon!


Best Regards,


Derick Santos
Hotel Manager
Tune Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

For a great Value Hotel in the heart of Manila's Makati district Tune Hotel has to be worth a look ,
This is one of the rare occasions that a westerner booking in here actually gets what he pays for and none of the normal " sorry Sir we only have deluxe rooms left " as is usually the case in Manila .
You can build your own package for your room starting from as little as 500 Php , add your T.v , Wi-Fi Towels etc etc , have as much or as little as you want !

The Hotel is very new but the staff are all well trained and very Competent and friendly taking care of your every need .

There is also a great Bar/restaurant in the building with a varied Menu , however this Hotel is located right in the middle of some very nice bars and eateries so plenty of choice locally , the area around the Hotel also has a safe feeling about it so no problems wandering around ! .

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and comfortable with a nice Elevator to all floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebroguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick s, Manager at Red Planet Makati, Manila, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Guest,


Greetings from Tune Hotel Makati! On behalf of the whole team, we would like to thank you for the wonderful feedback you have given us. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. Rest assured that we will continue to provide you with a clean, comfortable, high quality and consistent lodging experience with a highly competitive price, staffed by friendly, positive and professional people.

Again, Thank you so much and we hope to see you soon!


Best Regards,


Derick Santos
Hotel Manager
Tune Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have booked this hotel via booking.com my attention was drawn to it due to the low rate. During the booking it was mentioned that aditional cost could be charged when additional services (tv, towel, soap, internet, ac etc). I choose non of these however all cost were charged to my credit card making to total rate 60% higher than the advertised rate. Since i didn't order, wanted or used these services I asked them to be canceled. Here the reviews from the others are correct. The staff in the hotel is smiling extremely friendly. But that is all they do. Any prommises on investigating this and solving the problem were broken and not a single feedback was given by the hotel staff. The only thing they did was refer to booking.com. The rooms are reasonably clean but incredible small (approx 9 m2 ex bathroom). The entrance of the hotel is situated on a dodgy backstreet where recently some robberies have been taken place. 

For the same price the budget hotels close by offer bigger, safer rooms with less hassle and more services ( breakfast, (rooftop)pool etc)

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel and take one of the other choices in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bram W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed at the Tune Hotel from 29/10 to 1/11 and I paid for all-in-one package via Agoda. All the reviews about the hotel are true. The staff are friendly, the room is clean but small, which is fine to me. However, on the second night, I was very tired and did not realised the hotel cut-off the electricity supply to my room. I woke up at 4:00 in the morning went to the reception area and later was informed that there was "system error". I got the air-cond back almost immediately and continue my sleep. Other than that, the location is near the residential areas and "good times" areas, according to a taxi driver. There are many shops with koreans signboards. There are two middle eastern restaurant selling halal foods in less than 10 minutes walking distance towards the main road near Shakey's. For halal breakfast, I just go to the nearest 7-11 and I had myself one hot chocolate or coffee with filipino bread.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muhajirin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick s, Manager at Red Planet Makati, Manila, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,


Greetings from Tune Hotel Makati! On behalf of the whole team, I would like to thank you for staying with us and for giving us a very good feedback. Rest assured that we will continue to provide our guests with a clean, comfortable, high quality and consistent lodging experience with a highly competitive price, staffed by friendly, positive and professional people.

Again, Thank you so much and we hope to see you again soon.


Best Regards,


Derick Santos
Hotel Manager
Tune Hotels Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very new, very clean, interesting setup where you select which services you want (ac or just fan, wifi or not, etc.) so you can adjust the price using only what you want of the options available. Rooms are small'ish but very clean, very comfy and has a nice shower. Staff are helpful. Location is in the business district - great for me as the places I needed to go were all in walking distance but it is not in the "tourist" end of town.

Tip: Location is hard to find - it is a new place and taxi drivers don't know where it is so take the address of the nearest major intersection (Makati Ave & Kalayaan) vs. what they give on the booking reference - Mercado is a very small lane and most don't know where it is.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeBo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloocan
Level Contributor
169 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I booked 2 rooms during its inaugural opening sale promo on the next several months ago. I have been staying on other Tune hotels in Malaysia and I would like to compare how this hotel fares with the other branches. This hotel just opened last August 2012, I believe.

The hotel location is a little bit off-road. The small alley it is located is not well-lit. This could be a security issue for hotel guests just walking in. Beggars are proliferating along this small road so it is not a good welcome sight for guests.

The Building is brand new. Hotel receptions are very helpful. Credit card is accepted on Tune Hotels Philippines according to the receptionist, this is very good considering Tune Hotel Malaysia usually accepts cash only for add-ons.

As posted on previous reviews, the elevator design is a little bit confusing since they have separate set of button panels (on opposite side of the elevator) for the ground floor and guest rooms. You also need to use your access card to be able to use the elevator which the receptionist did not bother to mention. The key card she gave me does not have any card jackets to indicate which room you are assigned. This could be an issue for guests who have troubles remembering room numbers.

The room corridors are not air-conditioned. The room key is a little bit tricky to use. You need to listen for the click sound and pi\ush hard to open the door. One guest who I ran into the receptionist had troubled opening the door.

Rooms assigned to us are 403 and 404 with windows facing the road. Sight of beggars and squatter homes are not enticing to view. The windows are locked shut so you will not be able to open your windows even if you want to.

Bed and linens seems to be clean. Bathroom is clean when we got there. The bathroom design is not well thought of. The glass wall separating the shower room cover only half of the wall, so the water splash from the shower will spill all over the floor. Water pressure is OK.

We stayed for 2 nights only and we noticed that on the second day, the toilets are not thoroughly cleaned. There are spots of dirt on the toilet seat, sink and floor. This is not a very good sign considering that this hotel is brand new.

I also overheard one Caucasian guest talking with a hotel staff; they are trying to trace the ins and outs on his room. I believe he has some valuable items lost in his room. This is not a good sign for a new hotel considering that guards deployed at the front door at all times.

Foods are abundant along Makati Avenue so you won't get hungry. Taxis are available at any time.

Overall, I would rate this hotel as poor for the following reasons:
1.It is brand new but bathroom cleaning is an issue which is an utmost importance for a guest.
2.Security issues outside and inside the hotel.

Considering that the hotel did not meet my standards, I would still stay in this hotel in the future for the price I paid for the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick s, Manager at Red Planet Makati, Manila, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,


Greetings from Tune Hotel Makati! We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We would also like to apologize for the dissatisfaction on some aspects of the hotel operation that you have experienced during your stay. We take your feedback to heart as we focus on improving our services for you. The isolated concerns that you have raised were already addressed accordingly. Rest assured that we will continue to provide you and our guests with superior customer care.

Again, Thank you so much and we hope to see you again soon!


Best Regards,


Derick Santos
Hotel Manager
Tune Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Durban
Hotel Durban
#21 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
1.7 mi away
VIP Suite
VIP Suite
#34 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#25 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Guijo Suites Makati
Guijo Suites Makati
#22 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
2.1 mi away
Red Planet Amorsolo, Makati, Manila
0.1 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
City Garden Grand Hotel
#10 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Makati, Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Makati, Manila

Property: Red Planet Makati, Manila
Address: Kalayaan Ave | E. Mercado Cor. F. Calderon Street, Makati, Luzon 1210, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Makati)
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Makati, Manila 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An array of pubs, bistros, restaurants and tourist attractions surround the 213-room Red Planet Makati, Manila, a stylish property at this dynamic destination. It's 30 minutes from Manila International Airport and centrally located in the Makati Commercial and Business District. Major tourist attractions easily accessed include Rizal Park, the National Museum, Intramurous, Manila Cathedral and Manila Ocean Park. The property's practical and comfortable rooms include four with wheelchair access. Red Planet Makati, Manila has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Planet Makati, Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Planet Makati, Manila Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing