We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Stay at the Tune Hotel Makati”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Planet Makati, Manila
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My Stay at the Tune Hotel Makati”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

LIked the place. Downside was that the rooms were cramped and small, but this is a budget hotel in Makati where you pay only 2000 Peso NET range with the add ons such as AC, internet, and toilet kit. This not the type of place that you would want to hang out all day long because there is no health club or pool, and in the room there is only the bed & NO chairs. There is a board that you can put your computers.

However, if you are looking for a safe and clean hotel at a good price this is it. It has a very comfortable bed, excellent shower, and a good safe to place your valuables. The bar resturant down stairs is really a very good value and nice place to hang out. Security is excellent and the hotel is in a good location, although it is built around small old houses. Neighborhood is safe, but it is lower to middle class end.

Would recommend this place for those budget travellers who need a good safe place to rest at a decent price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick s, Manager at Red Planet Makati, Manila, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Mr. Ronald N,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. Rest assured that we will continue to provide you with a clean, comfortable, high quality and consistent lodging experience with a highly competitive price, staffed by friendly, positive and professional people.


We hope you will come back and see us again soon.


Sincerely,


Derick Santos
Hotel Manager
Tune Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    345
    188
    47
    31
See reviews for
49
207
237
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Booked a room via agoda and get a 1,000 php a night stay togeter with towel, tv, aircon and wifi. Just like all my recent stays in Tune hotel, rooms are clean, Nice bathroon and towel. And most of all their 5 star bed!
Location is ok. Near to everything. Just at the end of makati avenue and along kalayaan avenue. Will definitely stay here on my next visit in Makati area. But will book in Agoda for that good package promo price.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wcmlumix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick s, Manager at Red Planet Makati, Manila, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,


Derick Santos
Hotel Manager
Tune Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a budget hotel so just expect the basic. Basic meaning a bed to sleep in, and a restroom to take a shower. But, mind you, their beds are very comfortable to sleep on and restroom 's quite neat. if you need wifi and AC, that's an additional charge, but i think it's ok. will definitely go back here and i recommend this to those staying in the city for a couple of days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThrowbackTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick s, Manager at Red Planet Makati, Manila, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Tune Hotel Makati! We would like to thank you for giving us a very good feedback. We appreciate your effort of taking the time to provide us with honest and sincere comments that would help us achieve value connection with economy minded travelers, by combining a clean, comfortable, high quality and consistent lodging experience with a highly competitive price, staffed by friendly, positive and professional people.

Again, Thank You so Much and We Hope to See You Soon! More Power!

Best Regards,

Derick Santos
Hotel Manager
Tune Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This is by far the best deal in town. Right in Burgos Makati. A few minutes away from Geenbelt by cab, this hotel is new. Rooms are small as expected for a budget hotel but very decent for one person or a couple. Bed was very comfy. Amenities are minimalistic. Channels on TV are excellent. No phone though. You'd better off getting your reservation through Agoda or Booking.com as the package will include all features (towels, TV, internet) or else you will have to pay for these on top of room rate. WiFi is excellent. Rooms were acceptably clean. Certain parts of the hotel can be super noisy as no double glazed windows. Overall, that will be your best option if you want to stay in Makati. The Sports pub downstairs is also a very good value with a nice ambiance if you're a sports fan.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captainolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick s, Manager at Red Planet Makati, Manila, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Tune Hotel Makati! We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and for providing us with a very good feedback. We appreciate your effort of taking the time to review your experiences in the hotel. We bring this to heart as we continue to improve our services for you.

Again, thank you so much and we hope to see you again!


Best Regards,

Derick Santos
Hotel Manager
Tune Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

aircon, taxi call - basics travelers need. Take taxi to Power Plant Mall to eat and shop and avoid seedy neighborhood, traffic noise & fumes. Adjoining bar sells drinks. We could wish for fruits and some wholesome late night early morning snacks when we fly in late fly out early. Walking out isn't a pleasure in most parts of Manila.

Room Tip: All are standard rooms I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubberunethical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick s, Manager at Red Planet Makati, Manila, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Rubberunethical,


Greetings from Tune Hotel Makati! We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us a very good feedback. Your honesty and sincerity has motivated us to continuously improve our services for you.

Thank you so much and we hope to see you again. More Power!


Best Regards,

Frederick Santos
Hotel Manager
Tune Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have written about other new tune hotels and how much i enjoyed them, but this time i had a few hiccups in another new Manila hotel. It is in the Makati avenue red light area, all the new ones in Philippines are, by design, of course.
i booked 2 nights for 600 pesos in a sale a few months ago, if you are a walk in guest, it is far more than that, of course. The first surprise is that there is no 7/11 attached, nor any convenience store, only an expensive restaurant open 24 hours. Around the hotel there is the full gamut of filipino fast food outlets and a supermarket mall within 5 minute walk.
The checkin was rapid, the young receptionists were disarmingly friendly, it was a surprise for me just having arrived from Japan. I was very happy with their approacability and indeed all the staff.
ANother strange thing was the lack of a push/pull signs on the large glass doors, when the doorman didnt open the door for guests, this was bad, i thought.
The lift was confusing, the first time i used it, you had to exit through the back door, but there were separate buttons on other side.
The room was the normal immaculate Tune standard, fantastic bed and shower, with hot water.
I then had a few mishaps, the door handle outside was extremely loose, at first i thought there was an attempted breakin, but no. The toilet CR became blocked and i had to move room, then later the same receptionist who handled my room knocked on the door at 1 am confused about wrong room.
But i am just unlucky i think, but the lift buttons, glass door signage and door handle problems are just poor fittings and design.
There is a 199 peso breakfast available in the restaurant or the receptionists can order takeaway food for you. Despite the teething problems, i will return but i have never had any such problems at any other new Tune hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackyPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick s, Manager at Red Planet Makati, Manila, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear BackyPacker,


Greetings from Tune Hotel Makati! I would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us to serve you and take this opportunity to apologize for the dissatisfaction you have experienced during your stay. We take this feedback to heart as we continue to improve our facilities and amenities to serve you better.

Again, thank you so much for the honesty and we hope to see you again soon. More Power!


Best Regards,


Frederick Santos
Hotel Manager
Tune Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay, Philippines
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I like Tune Hotels; the best thing is that you pay for your room only and anything else you want you pay to add on e.g. 12 hours Air-con, TV, Internet Access, Additional Towels. This means that you can keep the price of your stay low.
Check-in is a nice smooth process and the lobby is bright and clean, with a brilliant interactive screen which allows you to take a photo of yourself and post it to all your friends or on to your Facebook Page.
The rooms are not enormous but for a brief stay, they're ideal. Clean, modern and bright with really nice shower rooms.
The bedroom door handles are a bit of a chore and should be rethought as they don't work well with the keycard; many of the fittings were hanging off or fell off whilst trying to open the door. Also, the staff put a sticker with your room number on the Key Card ... which defeats the object of key cards; should they be found/stolen the person won't know the room number and your other possessions remain safe - so that should be addressed.
On the day we checked in we struggled to do so online because the system wasn't working. The reception team were great and still allowed us to have the online offer, once we had shown them that their online system wasn't working. My suggestion, again, should be that one member of reception should check that the online system is working each morning and liaise with their tech team to address any problems.
Otherwise, a great, easy place to stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trudy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Durban
Hotel Durban
#19 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.7 mi away
VIP Suite
VIP Suite
#33 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#25 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Guijo Suites Makati
Guijo Suites Makati
#22 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
2.1 mi away
Red Planet Amorsolo, Makati, Manila
0.1 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Makati, Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Makati, Manila

Property: Red Planet Makati, Manila
Address: Kalayaan Ave | E. Mercado Cor. F. Calderon Street, Makati, Luzon 1210, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Makati)
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Makati, Manila 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An array of pubs, bistros, restaurants and tourist attractions surround the 213-room Red Planet Makati, Manila, a stylish property at this dynamic destination. It's 30 minutes from Manila International Airport and centrally located in the Makati Commercial and Business District. Major tourist attractions easily accessed include Rizal Park, the National Museum, Intramurous, Manila Cathedral and Manila Ocean Park. The property's practical and comfortable rooms include four with wheelchair access. Red Planet Makati, Manila has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Red Planet Makati, Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Planet Makati, Manila Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing