We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen the rest, book the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Garden Hotel Makati
Ranked #15 of 85 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2008

12 yrs of trraveling to Manila and I don't even think of booking elsewhere. Friendly staff, great rate for the room. Mind you the rooms are not big , but comfortable enough and clean. Wall safes are in ever room, air con always worked and great location. If you want big rooms book the Dusit ( my second chioce if CG is booked up) If you need travel via taxi to hotel make sure you SPECIFY City Garden in MAKATI, there are 2 city garden hotels in Manila. One negative comment is the pool for some idiotic reason closes at 6pm....but then I still jump in and ignore the staff ! Skip the hotel food ( i never eat at anyhotel) and go to Tainamien square or North Park (same side of street 2 buildings down towards greenbelt...good places to eat.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bk555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
There are newer reviews for City Garden Hotel Makati
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 745 of 842 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2008

Makati is one of the nicer, upscale districts of Manila and the City Garden Hotel, without a doubt, reflects this atmosphere. I stayed in a single occupancy room with a queen size bed, beautifully appointed with contemporary wood furnishings, hardwood flooring, and granite bathroom amenities.

Even more impressive were the features of the hotel outside the room itself. The fitness facilities were first class (with the exception of the bench press, which needs to be updated) and offered a full circuit of strength training machines, free weights and aerobic treadmills and stair-climbers. The men's locker room (probably the women's also) was amazing- private wood sauna, showers, massage baths, and massage rooms. All of this with a view of the city through floor to ceiling windows from the 15th(?) floor!

The pool? It's on the top roof of the hotel, along with a full bar and outside restaurant! The view of the city is almost 360 degrees around!

The staff was always accommodating- even when I had trouble connecting to the wireless internet, they set an appointment for me to meet with the hotel's computer technician, who was both knowledgeable and helpful.

I couldn't have asked for more, even from a 5 star resort hotel! Anyone who rates this hotel less than 3 stars are themselves a problem, not the hotel! I plan to return to the Philippines next year and will not hesitate to stay here again! It would be difficult to convince me otherwise...

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Shobusun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

The staff is very well meaning but disorganized. Unfortunately, while this appears like a quality hotel, it does not deliver on that promise. I had to wait for 3 hours to get my room -- evidently, it had some "maintenance issues." The staff later admitted to overbooking. The room was hardly worth waiting for. The room was cramped, dark, noisy, and dank. The air-conditioner would sputter water on me while in bed. You hear the constant ringing of the elevator as well as the noise from other rooms (and they are noisy) all night long --- making it impossible to sleep.

Not worth it even with the seemingly "reasonable" cost.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NycSpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

the hotel elevator is cramped and slow, the hotel has no noise proof walling, u can hear people coming and going. we stayed on the 12th floor. online booking not advisable. they would not give u complimentary breakfast.front desk arent smiling either!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Hi_cebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

City Garden does offer a clean room, comfortable bed, pool, gym and free breakfast at a bargain. I think it would be fine for a short stay and if you need to be in Makati. But if you plan on staying longer than four or five days and the sole purpose of your trip is not to check out Makati, if you are visiting family or also visiting areas outside Makati in Metro Manila, I highly recommend staying someplace else.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the Red Light District is right behind the hotel. It is not necessarily unsafe, but... If you stay long enough at the City Garden, you will start to notice certain people coming and going, in the hotel lobby, elevators, even in the pool and hot tub. And especially outside after dark. Just a warning to families with children (email me if you need more details).

I would not recommend trying to walk in this area, and definitely not to Greenbelt or Glorietta. There is the given Red Light element at night, but even during the day, traffic is way too hectic and when I visited, it was too hot. There are a few fast food and pizza restaurants, a gas station, bookstore, and drug store within walking distance, if you can brave the crazy streets! It is only a dollar or two cab ride to any restaurant, shopping mall, or other entertainment you desire. Good, like I said, for exploring Makati for a few days, or having access to things after work if on a business trip.

Things that annoyed me after staying here for almost two weeks:

Constant traffic noise and honking day and night. We had a room on the 15th floor the first week we stayed, then on the 7th floor the second week, and it was significantly louder on the 7th floor. However, the elevators are extremely slow, and the hallways are not air-conditioned, so if you do ask for a room higher up, you'll have to contend with that.

Small room with an even more awkward and small bathroom. For a couple sharing a room with a queen bed, for more than two nights, get an "upgraded" room rather than the "regular" room (anything ending in 21, like 721). We originally had one of the upgraded rooms but the A/C was broken, so we were moved into one of these smaller ones.

Having to take a cab everywhere, even to get a decent meal. Aside from the free breakfst buffett which was good, the room service and restaurant options in the hotel are just okay, and you pay more than if you were to go out.

In comparison to City Garden Makati, our last two nights in the Philippines we stayed at the Crowne Plaza Galleria in the Ortigas area. I can't tell you how much I wished we'd reversed our stays at the two hotels! The Crowne Plaza had huge rooms, king-sized beds, and a much better free breakfast buffet. And it is connected to the Robinson's mall with anything you could possibly want, no need for a cab or even to go outside in the heat. It seemed so much less hectic and traffic clogged, definitely not seedy, and a much safer walk to the other nearby malls Podium and MegaMall if interested. It was just more comfortable all-around.

City Garden is cheaper than the Renaissance or Shangri-La, and it may seem just fine at first, but over time, you'll see why.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Traye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2008

We walked around the Makati area and walked in different hotels to compare room quality. City Garden Hotel was the best choice for value, cleanliness, and service in the area. We paid $77 for an executive room. It included a large breakfast/brunch every morning, complimentary water bottles daily, gym access, rooftop pool access, and clean towels daily. The rooms, hallways, spa, gym, and lobby were well maintained and clean. The beds were better than other hotels in area. We were very satisfied with our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank seymour_Sas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2008

I stayed at this hotel a few times now, it used to be a very good hotel, however; the treatment started to become worse especially the mistakes that is done by the staff of the front disk and when you want to complain by e-mail, the address they will give you is answered by guess who? The same staff and they trick you by not telling or give the complain to the management.
The rooms are good and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Dj-AT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.0 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
The A.Venue Hotel
The A.Venue Hotel
#35 of 85 in Makati
728 reviews
1.0 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#18 of 85 in Makati
2,069 reviews
1.1 mi away
Astoria Greenbelt
Astoria Greenbelt
#19 of 85 in Makati
331 reviews
0.0 mi away
St Giles Makati Hotel
St Giles Makati Hotel
#29 of 85 in Makati
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Garden Hotel Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Hotel Makati

Address: Makati Avenue | corner Durban Street, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Makati
Price Range: $57 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Garden Hotel Makati 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for expats, short or long term stay.Facilities includes swimming pool & gym plus full security surveillance camera. Nearby establishments: BDO bank, Century Mall, Mercury drug, 7-11, Gasoline station, Powerplant and Ayala Malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your City Garden Hotel Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Makati
Makati City Garden Hotel
City Garden Hotel Makati Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing